>

Ganton Golf Club

Course

8.5

Greens

9

Facilities

7.5

Value

6.5

Hospitality

5.5

Average rating

7.4

Club offers
Contact
Society
Book a tee
Membership

Play a weekday round

between now and 29th Feb

for £55 per person

Ganton Golf Club

Ganton

Ganton

North Yorkshire

YO12 4PA

01944 710 329

There are currently no Societies for this club.

There are no Membership options available for this club.

Leave a review

Fantastic course in the dark ages

Average rating

8.2

24th September, 2016, by Davethegolfer

This is a very special golf club steeped in history but you get the feeling it needs to move with the times a little.

I saw more people over 75 years than in an old peoples home, all dressed in collar and tie!

Cannot know the course as it was in amazing condition and I absolutely loved every minute of it.

Course

9

Greens

10

Facilities

8

Value

7

Hospitality

7

A response from Ganton Golf Club

I am glad you enjoyed the challenge that the course set you & the condition of it. The tradition & standards set at Ganton, along with its history, are part of what makes it the special place you mention & why it differentiates itself from the majority. That being said the Club has recognised that whilst the members like to wear jacket & tie, a lot of our visitors don't which is why we have both formal & casual lounges.

Overrated

Average rating

6.6

19th June, 2015, by Eddie R

Visited this iconic course as the first day of a golf tour and we were all disappointed. The overall welcome and hospitality we received was one of being tolerated rather than made welcome. Ganton clearly doesn't need nor want visitors. The course was too penal. I play off 9 and consider course management to be a strong point, but with 100 bunkers, most of them extremely deep, meant I spent too much time in them which detracted from the overall experience. I also think the course lacks visual appeal (compared to many many other top UK rated courses). My playing partners concurred.

Course

8

Greens

8

Facilities

7

Value

6

Hospitality

4

A response from Ganton Golf Club

Communication with this group elicited that the reality was that the welcome from staff & members, with one exception, had been excellent. That one exception had coloured the writers view of the Club even though no words were exchange. The course is a difficult golf course because of its design & the positioning of the hazards. However, it is very possible to play the course using handicap & club selection to take the hazards out of play.