>

Haydock Park Golf Club

Course

7.7

Greens

8.1

Facilities

7.9

Value

7.8

Hospitality

8.6

Average rating

8

Club offers
Contact
Society
Book a tee
Membership

There are no Special Offers available for this club.

Haydock Park Golf Club

Newton Ln

Golborne Park

Newton-le-Willows

WA12 0HZ

01925 228 525

There are currently no Societies for this club.

There are no Membership options available for this club.

Leave a review

Society visit

Average rating

7.8

28th April, 2018, by src1981

Visited here on a rainy april day for 27 holes. Weve played here before and know it to be a very good course and a decent test.
The course was in excellent condition and the greens amongst the best weve seen. True and fast even with the constant rain we had throughout the day.
The evening meal was good as was the hospitality. The only slight on the day was the prices behind the bar £4-5 a pint is way over the top. Im sure the club would sell more to visitors if prices werent so high.

Course

8

Greens

10

Facilities

7

Value

7

Hospitality

7

Good local course

Average rating

7.6

26th September, 2016, by Roper1592

Visited Haydock Park GC as part of Bunkers Golf Society on 21st Sept 2016.

Despite this course being close to home, I had never actually played it. It was a pleasant surprise to find a really mature and well established parkland track. It is the 3rd oldest course in the county, so I guess I should have been prepared.

The course was lush, with emerald green grass and deep mature tree lined fairways. It had been quite wet in the build up to our visit, but the course played superbly and there was no standing water. What it did do was make the thick rough even stickier and more penal - which was absolutely no problem and just made accuracy even more important.

The course isn't long, but the layout keeps you on your toes with dog legs, blind shots and tight fairways. The course condition was decent without being outstanding and was a little bit scruffy in parts - but that is probably more down to the fat it was Autumn and the trees were starting to spill their leaves, and also the days of poor weather prior to our visit must have hindered course upkeep somewhat.

The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the club house was traditional and fairly priced and we enjoyed a nice plate of gammon, egg and chips afterwards that was plentiful and devoured by the group.

For a midweek tee slot I would have preferred the price to be a touch less and in comparison to deals the course offer for late bookings, and on tee booking sites, I found £35 a tad expensive and for me, that would be more in keeping with a weekend tee slot at a course of this standing.

However, it was an enjoyable day and is definitely a course that is worth a visit.

Course

8

Greens

7

Facilities

8

Value

6

Hospitality

9

A response from Haydock Park Golf Club

Hi Thank you for your review. We always welcome feedback from members and visitors alike as this helps us to improve our facilities. Our summer weekday green fee is £30 and we occasionally run special offers, as the current Ryder Cup 2 for 1. We don't offer deals for late bookings as our pricing is set but as I say we do occasionally have special offers. The £35 you paid was a society package which included food. As you say, we have not had the best of weather this summer (if only we could control that!), but our green keepers are dedicated and hard working and do their best to ensure the course is in the best condition it can be. Hopefully you will try us again in the future. Kind regards, Vicki O'Brien Secretary Manager

Good course

Average rating

8.2

24th September, 2016, by Kmurphy87

Played here as part of Bunkers Golf Society. This was my first time playing here and i had only heard good things about it. Its definitely a course that you would benefit from playing here previously or with somebody who has played it as there are a few blind tee shots and it is quite hard to gauge how wide the fairways are round dog legs. Its not a very long course but not a short one with position off the tee a premium as the ruff is very penal, it litterally goes from fairway to straight rough which you will find your ball in but it is tough to hit the correct club out of. All in all i would happily visit here again as it is a really good set up and the greens were very consistant on the course(alot faster then the practice green!). Im more then sure it will be on our roster next year.

Course

8

Greens

8

Facilities

8

Value

8

Hospitality

9

A response from Haydock Park Golf Club

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased you had a good day and hope we do see you again in the future. Kind regards Vicki O'Brien Secretary Manager

Bunkers Member Great course PLAY!!

Average rating

7.4

22nd September, 2016, by Brad67

Course

7

Greens

8

Facilities

8

Value

6

Hospitality

8

Super Day!

Average rating

8.6

21st September, 2016, by d1ashley

I visited this well established club on 21st September with a party of friends from Bunkers Gold Society.
Initial impressions were very favourable....Attractive, nicely kept grounds, welcoming friendly members and a spacious, elegant clubhouse.
I visited the catering staff who were very happy to prepare a bacon and egg toastie for me to take out too!
The course was interesting with fairways nicely defined by two cuts of differing lengths. Greens were receptive but tricky to read and the wet rough severely punished any errant drives.
Our society day's competition was won with 36 points which was a good reflection of the level of difficulty the course presented.
Our post round meal of gammon, egg, chips and peas was both very welcome and quite delicious.
This is a course which offers good value for money and one which I am sure we will return to in the future.

Course

8

Greens

9

Facilities

8

Value

9

Hospitality

9

A response from Haydock Park Golf Club

Hi Thank you for your review! I'm pleased you enjoyed your day here at Haydock Park and look forward to you returning to us in the future. Kind regards Vicki O'Brien Secretary Manager

Good value decent course

Average rating

8.2

21st September, 2016, by phil196

i have only heard good things about Haydock Park so was really looking forward to this one. The clubhouse is large and traditional, the pro shop is large and well stocked and we were welcomed by friendly members.
The course is fairly short but fairways are tight and tree lined with several holes playing longer than the yardage.
The course is well presented with well defined rough. The tee boxes aren't that big and this has lead to them looking a bit battered from the summers play. The course tries to do what it can to keep it in order with divot bags and designated repair holes of the week and quite rightly pointing out a members wrong doing practicing on the course on the club notice board.
I found the greens to be good. Not quick but good.
The round finished with a decent plate of food and overall it was an enjoyable day, not wow, but enjoyable and good value.

Course

7

Greens

8

Facilities

8

Value

9

Hospitality

9

A response from Haydock Park Golf Club

Hi Phil Thank you for your review. What could we have done to make your day a 'wow' day?

Played 22/3/16 course superb

Average rating

8.4

24th March, 2016, by Brad67

Course

8

Greens

8

Facilities

8

Value

9

Hospitality

9

tight flat course

Average rating

8

28th July, 2015, by st helens man 54

good flat course to walk

Course

8

Greens

7

Facilities

8

Value

8

Hospitality

9

First Time Played

Average rating

7.8

11th April, 2015, by Monty66

The course was very heavy under foot but to be expected mid Feb. A lot of work was being done to both the course and surrounding areas which was expected during the winter months. Did not spoil the overall experience

Course

7

Greens

8

Facilities

8

Value

8

Hospitality

8