Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

Hospital Road

Llandudno

Conwy

LL30 1HU

01492 876 450

Green fee:

Average rating

8.1

Course

8.1

Greens

7.9

Facilities

7.5

Value

8.8

Hospitality

8.2

    Welcome to Llandudno Maesdu Golf Club

    You may have heard about our wonderful golf course, our friendly staff, our relaxing bar, and the quality of the food in our James Braid Restaurant but these are just a few of the reasons why you should visit Maesdu Golf Club.
    At Maesdu we do everything we can to make your day a success. We welcome small groups and large societies, everybody is important to us and we will work with you to ensure everything goes smoothly. By delivering a memorable experience we hope you will want to return again and again.

    If you want excellent service, competitive prices and to play on a challenging course with breathtaking views then you have to choose Maesdu Golf Club.

    Show more

    Special Offers

    There are no Special Offers available for this club.

    Membership

    There are no Membership options available for this club.

    Open Competitions

    There are no Open Competitions available for this club.

    The Teeuplo review hub

    Course

    9

    Greens

    10

    Facilities

    8

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    8

    Average

    9

    March, 16th 2015

    Having taken the society to Maesdu Golf Club in 2014, we had an idea of what to expect from this superb little club on the Northern coast of Wales. However, in the 12 months since we were last there, the club appears to have gone from strength to strength.
    We visited Maesdu on a dour and overcast Monday morning in March 2015 yet the club provided a bright spark to lighten up the day.

    From the outset it was clear that the course was in fabulous condition. The fairways looked a lovely emerald green and were cut and striped impressively and the greens where ta similar deep and rich colour and appeared carpet like. It was unfortunate on the day of our visit that the club had begun renovation work within the clubhouse which meant that our pre-booked food had to be cancelled. Although understandable this does not allow me to provide a full review of the hospitality and services within the club. I can only call on last years visit to say that the staff were welcoming and the prices within the bar area are were very reasonable.

    Maesdu is located a stones throw from North Wales Golf Club and throughout various parts of the course is only separated by a railway line. Although not immediately on the coastline there are some stunning views from various points on the course as it looks out towards the Irish Sea.

    Despite it being mid-March there were no temporary greens or tee boxes in play. The tees were flat and well maintained and navigation around the course was easy. The fairways were perfect and springy underfoot and were an absolute joy to play from. The rough was exactly how we would prefer to find it in that it was not too punishing that you lost balls regularly, but it was just long enough and scattered with enough bushes and gorse that the odd shot was heavily punished and it was a slight penalty to end up in there. The bunkers were all well maintained and stocked with sand and the general condition of the course and its appearance were superb.

    However, the absolute highlight of this course has to be the magnificent greens. I would consider that my local course has some of the finest greens around between May and September - but considering this was March, these greens at Maesdu were stunning and were comparable to those I play on weekly in the summer. They were lush in colour with no bare patches and were cut like it was peak season. The roll of the ball was true and quick and players could putt with confidence knowing that their ball would follow the path it had been set on. All the greens were the same speed with no inconsistency at all and they were a real joy to play on and the ground staff should be commended for their superb work and the club should be rightfully proud of what they have achieved.

    At 6231 yards from the yellow tees the course is a fair test of golf that begins with the unusual sight of a 140 yard par three. The first two holes are played on the side of the road closest to the clubhouse before crossing to play the next 14 after which we returned to play the final two holes taking you back towards the club. There are several standout holes on the course and very few that could be classed as straightforward “up and downs”.

    The 8th hole sees a blind tee shot which meanders down to a well protected green and although not terribly difficult requires accuracy and correct club choice. The 9th hole that follows this runs directly alongside the railway track and the risk of any sliced tee shots going out of bounds is enough to make anyones knees tremble. From this point the course moves from at Parkland design and opens up into a semi links/heathland course.

    The par-3 12th hole plays at 150 to 160 yards uphill and is at the most exposed point of the course. This makes club selection paramount as anything short Is gobbled up by the steep sided bunkers and anything long will find the steep bank at the rear that is laden with thick grass and gorse.

    The 13th and 14th holes both have blind tee shots where you hit up the hill and hope for a decent position before coming back down the other side. In windy conditions these holes can be card wreckers and certainly separates the men from the boys.

    By this point we are now on the return leg to the clubhouse yet the course still has plenty to offer. A tough tee shot on 16 is a nightmare for anyone with a fade/slice as the water hazards on the right hand side of fairway wait ominously for any misdirected balls and the approach shot to the green is very tricky due to the natural contours of the land around it.

    The 17th hole sees another uphill par-3, this time measuring 170 yards plus. Although no obvious danger from the Tee it is clearly a hole that could destroy a good round.
    The 18th hole is a superb design with a highly elevated Tee and out of bounds all the way down the right-hand side of the fairway meaning that most players will naturally aim towards the left. However in doing so you run the risk of leaving yourself in tricky rough or a huge distance from the green. This is near 500 yard Monster can be an absolute nightmare in even semi-windy conditions and has certainly provided our group with unexpected results on both of our visits.

    The price of the golf here is extremely competitive - especially for a group of people coming from Liverpool and being used to paying the prices that are relative to coming from more built up areas. Therefore, Maesdu offers phenomenal value for money and is ideal for groups wanting to go on a trip as it is located near to several other very pleasant courses.

    It is certainly a course we will continue to visit in future and we have absolutely no reservations in recommending it as one of our favourites on our annual calendar. When you consider we play some of the finest courses in the North West [which is renowned as England’s Golfing Coast] that is a great accolade we are happy to provide.

    Leave your own review here

    Your reviews

    Society visit

    Average rating

    8.2

    22nd July, 2018, by src1981

    Day 1 of our 3 day trip and a great course in great weather.
    The course was in great condition given the lack of rain. The only slight on the course being many of the bunkers didnt have much sand in them.
    Facilities also great and well worth a visit

    Course

    8

    Greens

    8

    Facilities

    9

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    8

    Great course

    Average rating

    8.2

    9th May, 2017, by Kmurphy87

    Played here as part of the Bunkers/Grimshaw wales trip for the first time.
    I thought the layout of the golf course was fantastic some lovely shaped holes and a good mix of tricky par 4's as well as risk and reward holes. Being my first visit i had no pre concept idea of how the course was and on this occasion the greens werent the best, the were abit bobbly and putts from inside 3 foot was extremely difficult(hardly any putts were conceeded with it being matchplay!). The weather that had hit prior to us playing obviously had impacted what the greenkeepers could do as i would guess they couldnt get the machines out to sort the greens. The rest of the course i found to be in good condition with the odd bit of water in the ruff. The other funny one was the amount of bunkers that was G.U.R. Which was quite alot of them except for the one i found!.
    I would 100% play this course again as what i have heard and been told i caught it not in its best light and for the time of year we played(end of March) its usually one of the best in the area.
    Food was lovely after the round and the whole club was very welcoming.

    Course

    8

    Greens

    6

    Facilities

    7

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    10

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Maesdu.

    Great course but iin Winter conditions.

    Average rating

    7.4

    28th March, 2017, by Kevblue

    I played this as a member of Bunkers Golf Society.

    I have played this course several times previously and always came away very impressed. An interesting layout and the greens have always been excellent in the past. Unfortunately this was not the case this time. The greens were bobbly and were not pleasant to putt on. This was undoubtedly due to the horrendous weather the course had experienced in the preceding weeks and the green staff were clearly protecting the course to ensure it was pristine in the prime summer months. Still, i have to review the course as i found it.

    Unfortunately, the nets were out of use so there was nowhere we would hit a few balls pre round to warm up.

    This is still a course i would recommend even if i was bit disappointed on this occasion.

    Course

    8

    Greens

    6

    Facilities

    6

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    9

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good afternoon Kevblue, Thank you for your review, we're sorry that you were disappointed on your recent visit. We have been hit by very wet and windy conditions over the past few weeks and the greens staff are working hard to get the course back to its usual excellent condition. Storm Doris damaged our practice nets a few weeks ago and it was not safe to repair them until the winds had died down, they have been re-erected this week but unfortunately this was too late for your visit. We look forward to welcoming Bunkers Golf Society back soon.

    Bunkers Member Great course PLAY!!

    Average rating

    8.2

    27th March, 2017, by Brad67

    Course

    7

    Greens

    7

    Facilities

    8

    Value

    9

    Hospitality

    10

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Thanks for your review! It's always a pleasure to welcome Bunkers G.S. to Maesdu.

    Not it's usual standard but still great

    Average rating

    8.4

    27th March, 2017, by Roper1592

    I visited Maesdu GC as part of Bunkers Golf Society and their annual invitational competition at the end of March 2017.

    I have visited the club for the last 4 years as part of this competition and have always been impressed with it. The layout is interesting and there is something for everyone with a mix of parkland, links and healthland golf at various stages.

    Playing golf in March, you have to be accepting of the conditions and that you are not seeing courses in their finest light. However, Maesdu in previous visits has always been the standout course on our visit with often slick and smooth greens and a very lush appearance throughout.

    This time around, the weather had been horrendous in the build up to our visit [with many clubs at home in Liverpool being closed] and even Maesdu themselves having the odd closed day. I know this means that the mowers can't get out on the course and therefore the effects are felt for days afterwards.

    The course itself was mostly dry and playable with the odd patch of staying water in the rough areas but certainly nothing to be upset about. The condition was well maintained and easy on the eye.
    However, 80-90% of bunkers were G.U.R and a lot of them several inches deep with water - not much the club can do about this but considering the other courses nearby that we visited did not have this high level of G.U.R, it was surprising and for the final day of our competition too a bit of the shine off it as played could take relief on nearly all occassions rather than being punished and in the hazard.

    The greens were slow and bobbly and could be felt moving under foot. Again, theres not a great deal the club can do about mother nature, but I have to be honest and point it out. In previous visits, despite poor weather, the greens were much better and I am sure in several weeks will be back to their normal slick selves.

    As always, a warm welcome and a very competitively priced visit. The experiences of this one certainly wouldn't put me [or the rest of our group] from going back in future, as we know just how good this course can be with kinder weather.

    Course

    8

    Greens

    6

    Facilities

    8

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    10

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good afternoon Andy, Many thanks for another positive review. I will pass your comments regarding the bunkers being G.U.R. on to our Head Greenkeeper. We look forward to welcoming Bunkers Golf Society back to Maesdu in 2018.

    A little wet underfoot

    Average rating

    7.2

    26th March, 2017, by averagegolfer

    Wet weather had clearly affected the condition of the course which had impacted heavily on greens, fairways and bunkers.

    It is difficult to make a fair assessment as the rain had made most bunkers GUR and greens were very uneven. Very pleasant in the club and pro shop. Would prefer to judge this course in the summer months when clearly will be in far better condition

    Course

    7

    Greens

    6

    Facilities

    7

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    8

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our course. We have had a lot of rain in the last few weeks and our greens staff have been working hard to keep the course playable. We would love to see you back here in the summer to experience our wonderful course!

    Nice parkland course

    Average rating

    7.4

    20th May, 2016, by Nelldec

    Nice course but not overly challenging. Mixture of parkland and links holes.

    Easy to get to and worth playing if you are in the area.

    Facilities and welcome were fine.

    Course

    7

    Greens

    7

    Facilities

    7

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    8

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your day with us here at Maesdu.

    Superb for a golf day

    Average rating

    7.4

    24th March, 2016, by Brad67

    Course

    7

    Greens

    7

    Facilities

    7

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    8

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    We are so please that you enjoyed your day and hope to see you again.

    Another delightful visit

    Average rating

    9.2

    23rd March, 2016, by Roper1592

    As Chairman of Bunkers Golf Society I have been booking for us to visit Maesdu over the last 4 years as part of our Annual Invitational competition each March.

    Each year, the course and the hospitality of the club impresses me more and more.

    On arrival this year, I was greeted by the Captain in the car park who welcome me and our members to the club and said 'there's a prize for you in the clubhouse for your most polished performer of the day and one of our centenary booklets for each of your members' - what a wonderfully warm welcome and that reception was much appreciated.

    Other representatives of the club introduced themselves to me and our committee members and we were extended the warmest of welcomes and 'seen off' at the first tee to wish us luck for the day.

    On top of this, every single member we saw at the club and on the course took the time to say hello and most of them engaged in full conversations - and all seemed genuinely proud to be part of a special club.

    The course itself was in great condition considering the appalling winter we have suffered, and it was dry pretty much throughout. Considering neighbouring courses were in poor condition, it was amazing to see just how much better Maesdu was.

    The layout is interesting and is a mix of parkland and links and it meanders wonderfully through the landscape. Its a very lush and green course and is always immaculately presented. Credit must go to a hard working ground/green staff who take great pride in producing such a wonderful track.

    Greens were a touch long, but understandably so given the winter conditions and cold morning frosts but they were true and all evenly paced - so you could putt with consistency when you got used to the speed of them. The bunkers were all raked and well presented and were a pleasure to play winter golf out of - which in comparison to other courses at this time of year deserves a notable mention.
    Tee boxes were all well presented and flat and no sign of a single matt.

    The bar afterwards was well priced [as was the days golf] and we enjoyed a lovely pint whilst mingling with the members.

    A lovely course that is a MUST VISIT. We will 100% be back in 2017 and the intention is to hold the important final day of our competition at the course and make use of their impending terrace overlooking the 18th green. Hope to see you all next year. Thank you once again.

    Course

    9

    Greens

    8

    Facilities

    9

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    10

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Afternoon Andy Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We pride ourselves on being a friendly club and it's great to hear that our members are creating such a welcoming atmosphere for visitors. As you know our Course Manager and his team work tirelessly to keep our course in great condition. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2017 (I believe you have already booked!) for your final day of competition. Kind regards. Janet

    Great Course Great Captain

    Average rating

    9

    21st March, 2016, by The Housewife

    Played the course 18th March 2016. I play off 19.
    Day 2 of 3 of Bunkers Invitational. Club captain was waiting in club shop to welcome us all in. Very nice touch as he presented us with 24 centenary booklets and a shoe cleaning kit for the most polished performance of the day ! Very nice touch. Phil continued the reception showing us around the newly refurbished clubhouse and future developments. All tees and greens in play.
    Large practise putting area nets and chipping area all more than adequate.
    Course was in good conditon and greens very good some great holes on this course and some wonderful views. Great finishing hole. Would make this a must play course if your visiting this area.

    Course

    9

    Greens

    8

    Facilities

    8

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    10

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Thank you for your kind comments. Our "Meet and Greet" Team do a great job and it is always lovely to hear positive comments. We are proud of our re-furbished Clubhouse and the ongoing improvements to the front of the Clubhouse will add an outside seating area for everybody to enjoy. I will pass on your lovely comments to our hardworking Course Manager and his team. We look forward to seeing you again at Maesdu.

    greens need cutting

    Average rating

    7.4

    20th March, 2016, by jonnymorro

    Course

    7

    Greens

    5

    Facilities

    8

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    9

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Morning Jonny. I will pass your comment onto our Course Manager. I have spoken to our Course Manager and he tells me that we are still on winter greens and with the hard frosts that we have had over the last couple of weeks his priority is to preserve the quality of our greens.

    Top class!

    Average rating

    8.6

    20th March, 2016, by d1ashley

    Our day at this lovely venue got off to a very impressive start with a personal welcome to the club from the 2016 Captain. Mr. Captain (who owns a local shoe shop) generously donated a special prize - of a de-luxe shoe shining kit - to be awarded to the player who gave "the most polished performance of the day". A very nice touch which was greatly appreciated by all. Equally impressive was the welcome which our party received in the clubhouse later, with several locals enthusiastically engaging in conversation with members of our party. I personally had a most pleasant conversation with the club President, Mr. Jim Mochan - a lovely gentleman.
    This is a first class club and certainly one we will re-visit next year!

    Course

    9

    Greens

    8

    Facilities

    9

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    9

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We want everybody who visits Maesdu to feel welcome and it is great to know that our members made you feel at home. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

    enjoyed the back nine

    Average rating

    6.6

    14th October, 2015, by Dave123

    a tough start with a par 3 first hole. out of bounds down the right with nets and the rd if to far right. apart from one hole on the front nine it was a little disappointing and a bit up and down with the lay out of the holes. the back nine improves and becomes more heathland in appearance and is closer to surrounding coastal area. the views are exceptional and this part of the course was much more enjoyable. holes 11-16 were the pick and hole 6 on the front nine. club house was good,staff and members friendly.

    Course

    6

    Greens

    7

    Facilities

    6

    Value

    7

    Hospitality

    7

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Morning Dave123 Many thanks for your review. Pleased to read that you enjoyed the back nine and our wonderful views. We like to think of ourselves as a friendly club and it's good to hear that you agree.

    Delightful course

    Average rating

    9.4

    6th May, 2015, by wavers

    Lovely estuary side James Braid course - with splendid views of the Orme and Conwy. If you are playing here be sure to take advantage of the excellent food in the clubhouse - especially if it is lemon meringue pie day ! The staff and members were all very friendly and welcoming too. Plus a well stocked pro shop to top it off. Definitely worth a visit.

    Course

    9

    Greens

    9

    Facilities

    10

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    9

    Very pleasant

    Average rating

    7.8

    29th April, 2015, by Lexo

    The jury was out over the first 6 or 7 holes as it all seems a little bit crammed in and almost dangerous! However once you reach the bottom corner and play the Par 5 along the railway line the course changes and it has a links feel (don’t get confused with North Wales GC just over the road), this is where the better holes are and the views towards Anglesey and the Orme provide a nice backdrop. The greens were true and fast. The staff were most helpful. Also nice to have lunch in the spacious clubhouse.

    Course

    7

    Greens

    8

    Facilities

    8

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    8

    Maesdu 2015

    Average rating

    8.4

    26th March, 2015, by Chrisjdw

    On arrival the clubhouse was being redone, this doesn't bother me but might for some.
    We didn't have any food at maesdu purely for that reason as they couldn't cater for us.
    The course was amazing, the condition for the time of year was truly excellent and a credit to the staff that work the course.
    Full tees, very true and smooth greens and I loved the layout of the course.
    The 18th is a fantastic finishing hole a par5 from an elevated tee with o.b down the right. Bunkered fairways and a long second shot make it brilliant.
    This is a course I would come back to with great alacrity. Hats off to you maesdu.

    Course

    9

    Greens

    10

    Facilities

    7

    Value

    9

    Hospitality

    7

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Many thanks for your kind comments. We are all working hard at Maesdu to ensure that visitors have the best day possible. Our course is getting rave reviews and the work we are doing to the Clubhouse will only add to the experience.

    A gem of a course

    Average rating

    8.4

    25th March, 2015, by Roper1592

    I visited Maesdu GC on 16th March as part of Bunkers Golf Society's Annual Invitational [video on Teeuplo]

    I have played the course before in 2014 and was hugely impressed then, but its fair to say that its not stood still since I was last there.

    Firstly, the greens were as good as anything I have played or seen in a March. They were genuinely carpet-like and I am told that the club has a new head greenskeepers who is responsible for these lush dance floors over the last couple of years. I would like to meet them and shake their hand for the superb work they have done. Receptive, true and with sufficient pace to make them interesting, they really are something the club should be immensely proud of and use as a major selling point to visiting guests and members alike.

    Some of the holes enjoy break taking views out over the Irish sea and Conwy Bay as you look out over towards Anglesea and the course is a fair walk with some subtle undulations.

    The tee boxes were all flat and well kept and the fairways were maintained wonderfully and allowed for confident ball striking into the wonderful greens.

    The course has definate James Braid signatures to it and the use of hazards and natural land contours make it a challenge for any golfer.

    The first and last couple of holes are played on the side of the A546 that hosts the clubhouse, with the remainder being over the road and bordering with neighbouring North Wales Golf Club - and separated in parts by the width of railway line. This makes Maesdu a superb destination for groups who are wanting to play a couple of great courses that are close to each other - and you won't get two much closer.

    The course could be described as half links half parkland and there is enough difference to make this a really pleasing course on the eye, with lush fairways and tree enclosed greens coming in between wide open and bare links style holes that are peppered with fern bushes and whispy grass that will gladly gobble up any stray golf balls.

    All in all, I cannot speak highly enough of Maesdu and would recommend it to any fellow golfer as a course they should visit and play in North Wales.

    I have marked the hospitality down on this occasion - not because of the actions of any staff or lack of service, but because the club was being refurbished and therefore our food was cancelled and we were unable to use the bar during our visit. We were only told of this a few days prior to the trip and although its great to see clubs making improvements, its only fair that I am honest that I was disappointed it was unlucky enough to be pencilled in when we visited.
    However, it in no way spoiled a great day at the club.

    Course

    9

    Greens

    9

    Facilities

    6

    Value

    9

    Hospitality

    9

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Morning Roper1592 Thanks for your wonderful comments. We always enjoy welcoming Bunkers GS. It was unfortunate that your visit this year coincided with the refurbishment of our clubhouse but we are glad to hear that it didn't spoil your day with us. We look forward to seeing you all again. Kind regards. Janet

    Lovely

    Average rating

    8.4

    23rd March, 2015, by Scottallun7

    Absolute beautiful course recently visited.
    Greens was absolutely outstanding.
    A real little gem of course this is and one I hope to play for many yrs

    Course

    8

    Greens

    10

    Facilities

    7

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    7

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Morning Scotallun7 Thanks for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards. Janet

    Fantastic course

    Average rating

    9

    20th March, 2015, by Kevblue

    This is a fabulous Golf course. I have played here twice, both times with Bunkers Golf Society in our annual match against the Grimshaw Golf Society. Both times I have walked off the 18th green hugely impressed with the course.
    The fairways are well defined and superbly kept and the greens are better in the winter than some courses have in the summer.
    The layout of the course is both challenging and fair. There is a variation in the holes you play, so you're not playing hole after hole of similar golf.
    When we visited, the clubhouse was being redecorated and whilst it's not really fair to mark down a club for improving its facilities, they could maybe have provided some kind of area for 24 weary golfers to refresh themselves.

    All in all, if you are in this area, this should be your first port of call.

    Course

    10

    Greens

    9

    Facilities

    8

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    8

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Morning Kevblue We are so pleased you were impressed. The course manager and his team work hard to keep improving the greens and fairways. As you say, we are also in the process of doing alterations and decorating the Clubhouse. The restaurant area was made available to you so that you could all get tea or coffee after your round. I know that it is not as comfortable as the lounge but it was somewhere to get out of the cold. Next time you come back we will have a Clubhouse as impressive as the course. Kind regards. Janet

    Nice Course and a real varied challenge

    Average rating

    7

    20th March, 2015, by sseddon8

    This is one of my favourite course in the area. The course offers a real challenge for all golfers and i dont think any two holes are the same. The greens are quick and true and the fairways were in excellent condition given the time of year.
    The only drawback was that the clubhouse was having renovation work but you cant really mark a club down for updating their facilities. I just think someone behind the bar could have caterered for our needs (there wasnt a person to be seen).
    The changing rooms are excellent with showers and plenty of lockers.
    Its a must play course if your around and about the place.

    Course

    8

    Greens

    8

    Facilities

    7

    Value

    7

    Hospitality

    5

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Afternoon sseddon8 It's great to hear that Maesdu is your favourite course in this area. We have had a lot of positive comments about the excellent condition of the fairways for this time of year. The course manager and his team do a wonderful job. With regard to the catering. We did think about opening the bar and doing sandwiches for your party. We decided against it because of the builders and their dust, and the painters and the smell of paint. It wouldn't have been very a relaxing atmosphere for you to have lunch. We hope you come back and visit us to see our renovated Clubhouse. Kind regards. Janet

    Maesdu tests even the best!

    Average rating

    7

    19th March, 2015, by d1ashley

    This was my second visit to Maesdu with a large group of friends from Bunkers Golf Society and The Grimshaw Golf Society. Once again I was highly impressed with the condition of the course and the quality of the greens.
    Unfortunately the club house was being redecorated on the day of our visit so we were unable to have any food or alcohol pre or post round (although a tea/coffee machine was available and accessible within the clubhouse).
    It was a very cold day and having to wait outside to welcome in the groups was very uncomfortable.
    Our pre-booked post round soup and sandwiches were cancelled only a day or two before our visit and although we were given a refund for this as well as a complementary 4 ball, this was a disappointment to many.
    Never the less I look forward to a return visit next year.

    Course

    9

    Greens

    9

    Facilities

    5

    Value

    8

    Hospitality

    4

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Afternoon d1ashley It was lovely to welcome you all back to Maesdu. We are so pleased that you were impressed with the condition of the course and the quality of the greens. Our course manager and his team work hard to keep improving the golf course. I apologise for having to cancel your catering at such short notice. Initially, we were just going to have the Clubhouse decorated but then decided that we would also have a wall taken down between the lounge and the snooker room. On the day of your visit we had both decorators and builders in the Clubhouse. We thought about opening the bar and doing soup and sandwiches but decided against it because the smell of paint and brick dust wouldn't have made for a relaxing atmosphere for you to have lunch. As soon as we made this decision (Thursday 12 March) I telephoned Teeofftimes and gave them the names of a two alternatives places where you could get soup and sandwiches. On your return visit our Clubhouse will be as impressive as the course. Kind regards. Janet

    In really good condition for the time of year

    Average rating

    8

    19th March, 2015, by Brad67

    Course

    7

    Greens

    8

    Facilities

    8

    Value

    9

    Hospitality

    8

    Wish I lived in Llandudno

    Average rating

    8.8

    18th March, 2015, by phil196

    When visiting North Wales on a golfing holiday or tour if you don't play at Maesdu then you have made a mistake.

    The club was very welcoming but undergoing some renovation at the time of our visit but from what I saw with the events they put on and the facilities available they are doing their best to ensure future prosperity.

    The layout is good with the back nine feeling like the hillier and the final few holes walking back to the clubhouse are a test of any trolleys battery!!

    There are plenty of trees about for a links course and come the summer they will definitely shrink some fairways and make it more of a challenge. That said, it is very fair with rough kept short and no real blind shots to cause concern.

    So once you have plotted your way down the fairway and find yourself on the green what can you expect? Unbelievable soft, receptive, true and fast greens. They are amazing and can only get better as the year progresses. Total credit to the green keepers for producing such quality.

    Overall it is a superb course, probably overlooked in some cases by people wishing to play North Wales GC next door. Play it and be impressed.

    Course

    9

    Greens

    10

    Facilities

    7

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    8

    A response from Llandudno (Maesdu) Golf Club

    Good Afternoon phil196 Thank you for your wonderful review. Our course manager and his team work hard to keep improving the greens and fairways. As you say, we are also in the process of renovating our Clubhouse. Next time you come back we will have a Clubhouse as impressive as the course. Kind regards. Janet

    Great greens

    Average rating

    7

    7th May, 2014, by AndyBT

    Enjoyed a great days golf at Maesdu Golf Club which has some excellent views and great greens, traditional clubhouse with great food and warm welcome. The course layout is sometimes a bit straight forward and the practise facilities are basic, but all in all a good golf club to play if in North Wales

    Course

    7

    Greens

    8

    Facilities

    5

    Value

    7

    Hospitality

    8

    A gem in amongst some beauties

    Average rating

    9.6

    27th March, 2014, by Bunkers Golf Society

    Our golf society, www.bunkersgolfsociety.com visited Llandudno in March for a 3 day golfing tour of the area. Maesdu aka Llandudno Golf Club was where our competition would end [in dramatic style I might add] on day 3.

    We had been playing a Ryder Cup style format for 3 days and the singles event was to finish on Maesdu with the teams only 1 point apart.

    We left our hotel in Llandudno early and so arrived at Maesdu 2 hours before the first tee time. We made our way into the lovely clubhouse and settled down in the bar which overlooked the 18th green and 1st tee and enjoyed some hot drinks. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and we were instantly made to feel at home. As we were so early, a few of the group made use of the snooker table and dart board and the competitive nature of the day was under way early.

    45 minutes before play we made our way out to the large putting/chipping area and a few of the lads made their way for a hit in the nets and practice ground. The course looked lush and green and in superb condition given the storms only several weeks earlier that had blitzed the local area. The starter and pro were very pleasant and helpful and we began to make our way to the 1st tee to start the days play.

    Unusually, a 150 yard par 3 hole to begin with that needed players to be tuned in with their irons immediately. The course then opens out as you cross the road after a couple of holes and the majority are played on the opposite side of the road to the clubhouse and overlooking The Irish Sea. The club borders with North Wales Golf Club in points and we could see some of their holes that we had played earlier on our trip.

    Maesdu is a links course with a parkland twist and feel. Its very green and lush in places with open rough and fairways that meander down to tightly protected greens. But it maintains a links feel with gorse bushes cleverly positioned at distances where most golfers will find them from the tee if their shots are wayward. Its a clever mix of the two styles and is a typical James Braid golf course.

    The greens were in superb condition despite having only had a topping of sand the day before [we saw the work being done via Twitter] and they were smooth and true and allowed players to strike putts confidently.

    Our whole event came down to the last group and ultimately the last shot of our trip away. In the region of 6000 shots had been played over 3 days and Bunkers Golf Society had a chance to win the event with a 15 footer that had 3 foot of break in it on the 18th. The last shot of the day and it was a case of putt to win, 2 putt to draw or 3 putt to lose. Due to the confidence the greens gave players with their consistency, it was hit confidently and started to roll toward the cup and as it passed th ehalf way point a shout of "GET IN" went up from the playing partner - it had a chance.

    With the final roll of the ball it dropped into the cup and the game was won. A fabulous end to a superb trip and Maesdu had suprisingly come from nowhere to be the best course of the three we played [North Wales and Conwy being the others].

    Having played here a year earlier, it had been sodden in parts and wasn`t up to the standard we had come to expect from courses in the area. Admittedly, some harsh weather had caused the problems with late snow in 2013 causing havoc. But on speaking with the starter this time around we were told new groundstaff and a new head greenskeeper had transformed the club in 12 months and that it was now back to its best - and it absolutely was. If you are in the area and want a superb course to play, then look no further.

    Afterwards, we held a small awards ceremony and the staff kindly allowed us to use the stage area in the clubhouse. All in all, a superb club that we will definately be going back to.

    Course

    10

    Greens

    10

    Facilities

    10

    Value

    10

    Hospitality

    8