>

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

8

Rainford,

24th July, 2020

Pleasant round!

9.2

Preston, Lancashire

24th July, 2020

This was a return visit with friends from Bunkers Golf Society to one of our favourite venues. Once again we were delighted with the warm welcome we received.
The course was in great condition with beautifully mown fairways, smooth, fast greens and tidy, level tee boxes.
The undulating parkland layout is a real test of shotmaking and with several steep climbs to green or from greens to tees it can present quite a challenge to a golfer's fitness at times!
Covid-safe arrangements and procedures were fully in place to out on the course as well as in the clubhouse bar afterwards to reassure us all in these strange times and with the best bacon rolls I can remember having to enjoy with a coffee at the half way house we were treated to a superb day out!

7

Rainford,

10th June, 2020

I made a return visit to Berrington Hall Golf and Country Club on 9th June 2020 - Although there has been a great deal of improvement work done since my last visit the greens are still in need of much more. The unusually dry month of May has taken its toll and now that we have had some rainfall, the grass is growing in irregular patches which makes putting a virtual lottery.
It is fair to say though that all fairways were mown attractively with several increasing levels of rough.
As no rakes were provided (I assume to to Covid-19regulations) the bunkers were not well maintained.
The course offers decent value for money though with 18 holes on a Thursday costing visitors only £20.
There are things still to be done at the club and the owners and their staff are working hard to further implement their ambitious development plan.
David Ashley

3

Liverpool, Merseyside

8th June, 2020

Course was in poor condition due to lock down.
This is a very strict traditional club which is being held back by some self important members.
Hen pecked by a group of lady members, who seem to enjoy letting you know the rules on a number of occasions.
Played this course many years ago and left with the same bitter taste.
Sorry Woolton won’t be coming back.

8.8

Bickerstaffe, Lancashire

9th March, 2020

Had little knock on Saturday 07/03/20 with a couple of our members from swingers golf society just to dust off the cobwebs before our season kicks off. With all the horrible weather of late this course was in great condition all greens open, a couple of winter tees but was expected. Have to say we are coming back in May and this course will be in full potential, great little local course and the staff are great. Winter wheels only at present but can hire there which is great.

7.4

Rainford,

9th February, 2020

Visited last week or our first society meet up, great value and hospitality. Course was in good condition considering the time of year and recent weather and a lot better than some other supposed prestigious courses played recently. Fairways and Greens were in brilliant condition through the summer period, tee boxes could do with a bit of tlc. Very good test when the tees are pulled back

7.4

Rainford,

8th February, 2020

Much improved golf course. Still requires some investment to make the most of its full potential. Members get a full 12 months golf with the course playing particularly well during the winter months when other local courses are shut.

9.6

Enville, Staffordshire

4th February, 2020

Brilliant golf courses great condition and with potential to get even better. Heathland by nature, a little to many trees for my liking but got to be one of the best in midlands.

8.4

Bickerstaffe, Lancashire

30th January, 2020

This review is based on winter conditions. I am a member at Mossock GC, the course offers great summer and winter golf. We have only had golf cancelled once this winter, which is marvelous, considering we have had such a wet summer and winter. Only once, have we been on temporary greens due to frost. Only two Tees are on mats, although some Tees are starting to show some wear and tear, which is only to be expected with the exceptionally wet weather. The Greens are in good condition and are improving with each passing month.The fairways are good for this time of year. The members and staff will always offer you a warm and friendly welcome. The clubhouse has recently been refurbished and the club also has a well stocked Golf Shop. Come and give it a try anytime of the year, you will not be disappointed.

8.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

28th January, 2020

What an amazing place to come and whack a ball around. It would be too easy to judge it purely on the landscape that you see on the adverts but there are another twenty odd holes with superb views, lovely fairways and elevated greens.
If you are in North Wales you will probably come here to play anyway and you won’t regret it. Don’t get hung up on playing the peninsula. Each loop is well worth the green fee.

8.6

Formby, Merseyside

28th January, 2020

Beautiful course superbly maintained

7.6

Formby, Merseyside

28th January, 2020

Played here a number of times over the winter. They keep it well looked after with plenty of roped off areas and some
Fairways having mats (but decent) for approach shots.

The greens are full when they can be. Still amazes me how many obvious pitch marks go unrepaired (not the clubs fault).

It’s a good layout and there are plenty of strong holes.

The facilities are good but atmosphere a bit cold like many hote resort courses.

Overall it’s a decent winter track but you pay a premium to play.

7.8

Murcia, Spain, Spain

25th January, 2020

A beautiful 18 hole Jack Nicklaus designed course on the La Torre golf resort. The course is long and requires a solid game in all aspects to score well.
There is plenty of water and bunkers about to keep you on your toes.
Greens are always usually very good and the general upkeep of the course is great.
There is a nice driving range and warm up area and the clubhouse and restaurant are very good value and overlook the course providing a nice backdrop.
A course to visit if you are in the Murcia area.

6.4

Murcia, Spain, Murcia

25th January, 2020

This is a desert style course and is clearly different to a everything we have in the UK and this provides a completely different challenge as well as catches the eye. Stay away from the desert shale and the small bushes that just gobble up your golf ball!!!
Fairways were lush and lovely but the greens were behind where I would expect them to be.
The course is on an old Polaris [Nike Golf] resort and it looks partially completed in places and is a bit of a ghost town. The clubhouse is large and unique but rarely sees anyone in it.
At €52 for a round with a buggy there are better courses for value in the area but just for the layout and style alone it is worth a visit.

6.2

Murcia, Spain,

25th January, 2020

Nice course - greens OK

8.6

Murcia, Murcia

25th January, 2020

Tremendous course in the hills overlooking Murcia.
Plenty of water and this is the courses main defence.
Greens are always immaculate.
€45 for a round with a buggy is good value.
Driving range on site and practice area is very good.

8.6

Macclesfield, Cheshire

2nd January, 2020

Played here Monday 30/12/19 I defiantly recommend playing here it's in good nick for the time year a couple of temp tee's no problem full greens that were quite fast in the summer this course is a must visit. Thanks Tim & staff , we really enjoyed your hospitality.
Steve Turner Oak Tree Ince G.S

9

Conwy, Conwy

22nd December, 2019

Played 22nd December as own course closed due to water logged and although some surface water and in bunkers the course and greens are largely bone dry! Wore white shoes and no mud to clean at the end. Greens still running well and very friendly staff in pro shop and bar.

3

Merseyside, Merseyside

18th November, 2019

Played here with Oak Tree Ince what a let down. I know it's winter golf but when I first enquired back in March I asked did they play of full Tees & greens yes came the reply having looked at their website it looked great I was not told that in winter they shorten the course using temp Tee,s.
The clubhouse shut at 4.00pm with some of the lads still out on the course having to get changed in the car park.
Poor Prenton
Steve ( Wigan)

3

Merseyside, Merseyside

18th November, 2019

Played here with Oak Tree Ince what a let down. I know it's winter golf but when I first enquired back in March I asked did they play of full Tees & greens yes came the reply having looked at their website it looked great I was not told that in winter they shorten the course using temp Tee,s.
The clubhouse shut at 4.00pm with some of the lads still out on the course having to get changed in the car park.
Poor Prenton
Steve ( Wigan)

7.4

Hustpierpoint, West Sussex

4th November, 2019

Great Course!

7.8

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Visited as day 2 of a weekend of golf. Unfortunately too late in the year to play the peninsula 9,so we were on the yellow and red 9. These however did not disappoint when it comes to stunning links golf views. From the very first hole, the course is a treat on the eyes. We played on dry but windy day, which made club selection and shot choice a challenge,but an enjoyable one.

Have to say I was disappointed by the greens, which had been hollotined and were very long and slow. Appreciate that all clubs have to do green work such hollowtining, but with the hollowtines not yet back filled and the grass very long on the greens, putting was a bit of a lottery at times. The course we'd played the day before in heavy showers had greens that were far more playable. The other disappointment was having 2 holes being on temporary greens with no mention of this from the pro shop.

The disappointment of the greens aside, the course was amazing and one I would definitely travel to visit, even without the peninsula 9,but most definitely with the peninsula 9 open if the pics are anything like reality.

The staff in the club house were very welcoming and the food we had afterwards was nice and hearty. Just what you need after a day of being blown about on the cliff tops.

7.8

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Considering the massive amount of rain we've had, this course held up amazingly well. First couple of holes are fairly bland but then rest of the front 9 are a great combination of testing holes with a great island green Par 3 in there. The back 9 is definitely more links like in the look and feel, with punishing gorse if you go offline, blind tees shots, some dunes and some stunning views (even on a bleek grey day like we had). Greens whilst soft in a few places cannot really be faulted considering the weather we've had and other courses already playing temporary greens. Would play again if I was in the area.

9.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played on 20th October as part of Bunkers Golf Society end of season trip. Upon driving up to this course I couldn't wait to get out and play. It is visually stunning and quite possibly the best looked after course I have ever played. Although two holes had temporary greens on the front nine it didn't stop this course being thoroughly enjoyable to play. It is a must visit for anybody who loves links golf. I will definitely be returning in the future.

9.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played this stunning course for the first time on our weekend away. The moment you arrive, you help but be taken in by the stunning views and being stood in the car park, you can not wait to unpack your clubs. The fairways were in fabulous condition for this time of the year, the bunkers had take the recent rains well. The greens were in good condition, but had been prep for the winter. there is 3 x 9 hole courses. we played the yellow and red, as the blue course gets closed from the beginning of October. The staff and members were very welcoming. I look forward to playing this course again next year, hopefully in the summer.

8.6

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played this lovely course for the first time, its a good course, mix of parkland,heath land and links. We played it on a dull rainy day and despite the recent rains and rain on the day the course took it well. the facilities are good and the hospitality from the staff and members was excellent. The back 9 I think is better than the front 9, playing links golf and some excellent holes. I look forward to playing this golf course again and hopefully on a nice sunny day. Thank you porthmadog for having us.

9.6

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Best course iv ever played

9.4

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

21st October, 2019

Highly recommend

7.6

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

21st October, 2019

Fantastic Course

7.8

, Malaga

20th October, 2019

I have played La Cala a number of times now just an hours drive for me and this time was the Europa course. I booked tee off time no problems and was put in a group of course but the rest of the group did not turn up.

This was not a problem as I was first tee so I could go round at a fair pace.

Upon arrival your buggy is brought to you a bottle of water handed out and there is a call service for refreshments anytime.

The course itself is a great test of golf, narrow fairways, tough rough and cliff edge gorges mean you may need more than one ball.

You need to think and plan your way around this beautiful course, but as you are going take in the breathtaking beauty which surrounds you.