Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

7.4

Hustpierpoint, West Sussex

4th November, 2019

Great Course!

7.8

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Visited as day 2 of a weekend of golf. Unfortunately too late in the year to play the peninsula 9,so we were on the yellow and red 9. These however did not disappoint when it comes to stunning links golf views. From the very first hole, the course is a treat on the eyes. We played on dry but windy day, which made club selection and shot choice a challenge,but an enjoyable one.

Have to say I was disappointed by the greens, which had been hollotined and were very long and slow. Appreciate that all clubs have to do green work such hollowtining, but with the hollowtines not yet back filled and the grass very long on the greens, putting was a bit of a lottery at times. The course we'd played the day before in heavy showers had greens that were far more playable. The other disappointment was having 2 holes being on temporary greens with no mention of this from the pro shop.

The disappointment of the greens aside, the course was amazing and one I would definitely travel to visit, even without the peninsula 9,but most definitely with the peninsula 9 open if the pics are anything like reality.

The staff in the club house were very welcoming and the food we had afterwards was nice and hearty. Just what you need after a day of being blown about on the cliff tops.

7.8

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Considering the massive amount of rain we've had, this course held up amazingly well. First couple of holes are fairly bland but then rest of the front 9 are a great combination of testing holes with a great island green Par 3 in there. The back 9 is definitely more links like in the look and feel, with punishing gorse if you go offline, blind tees shots, some dunes and some stunning views (even on a bleek grey day like we had). Greens whilst soft in a few places cannot really be faulted considering the weather we've had and other courses already playing temporary greens. Would play again if I was in the area.

9.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played on 20th October as part of Bunkers Golf Society end of season trip. Upon driving up to this course I couldn't wait to get out and play. It is visually stunning and quite possibly the best looked after course I have ever played. Although two holes had temporary greens on the front nine it didn't stop this course being thoroughly enjoyable to play. It is a must visit for anybody who loves links golf. I will definitely be returning in the future.

9.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played this stunning course for the first time on our weekend away. The moment you arrive, you help but be taken in by the stunning views and being stood in the car park, you can not wait to unpack your clubs. The fairways were in fabulous condition for this time of the year, the bunkers had take the recent rains well. The greens were in good condition, but had been prep for the winter. there is 3 x 9 hole courses. we played the yellow and red, as the blue course gets closed from the beginning of October. The staff and members were very welcoming. I look forward to playing this course again next year, hopefully in the summer.

8.6

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played this lovely course for the first time, its a good course, mix of parkland,heath land and links. We played it on a dull rainy day and despite the recent rains and rain on the day the course took it well. the facilities are good and the hospitality from the staff and members was excellent. The back 9 I think is better than the front 9, playing links golf and some excellent holes. I look forward to playing this golf course again and hopefully on a nice sunny day. Thank you porthmadog for having us.

9.6

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Best course iv ever played

9.4

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

21st October, 2019

Highly recommend

7.6

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

21st October, 2019

Fantastic Course

7.8

, Malaga

20th October, 2019

I have played La Cala a number of times now just an hours drive for me and this time was the Europa course. I booked tee off time no problems and was put in a group of course but the rest of the group did not turn up.

This was not a problem as I was first tee so I could go round at a fair pace.

Upon arrival your buggy is brought to you a bottle of water handed out and there is a call service for refreshments anytime.

The course itself is a great test of golf, narrow fairways, tough rough and cliff edge gorges mean you may need more than one ball.

You need to think and plan your way around this beautiful course, but as you are going take in the breathtaking beauty which surrounds you.

8

Poynton, Cheshire

20th September, 2019

Played the course, for the first time, on 19/9/19 in our Captain's 2nd away day. This is a very good layout and tree lined. There are a number of blind shots on this course. All par 3 holes are tough, even from the yellow tees. The course was in a soft condition. The greens are very tricky due to the underlations on them and borrows. However, the greens were variable in pace. This is a very nice course and all 36 of us had a very enjoyable day. Every member of the club we met during our stay were very friendly and made us very welcome. The staff were also friendly and very helpful. I will be returning here. This club is very well worth a visit.

8.2

Derby, Derbyshire

20th September, 2019

I played the course in a friendly on 16/9/19 and the course and greens were in very good condition. There had been half an inch of rain the night before which had softened both the fairways and greens. The greens were running at a medium pace. As is usual here we were made very welcome by both members and staff and the food was very good. Well worth a visit.

8.8

Stirling, Stirling

19th September, 2019

We enjoyed Stirling Golf Club during the month we stayed in town around the Solheim Cup event. The course is great - challenging holes, varying terrain and beautiful views abound. The trees on the course are varied and all so beautiful!! We ended up coming back for 5 days of golf in between trips to other courses out of the area and were never disappointed. My friend took a lesson with Kenny, the pro and it was first rate! Very quickly got to the bottom of the issue and gave great directions on how to fix it. We felt like this was our "home course" for the month and we loved every minute! The staff in the pro shop were extremely friendly and helpful, they made us feel very much a part of the club. It was such a great experience that we are already planning to come back. We can`t say enough about how pleased we were. If you are staying in or around Stirling, don`t miss playing the Stirling Golf Club!

8.2

St Helens, Merseyside

15th September, 2019

Played here with the swingers golf society on Friday 13th September, course was in excellent condition, with the greens especially in pristine condition. In my opinion the best I have played on this year. Good variety of holes, especially the par fours were each one has its own unique challenges. Excellent value with quality pretty much guaranteed.

8.2

Chesterfield, Derbyshire

13th September, 2019

I haven't played this course for a number of years but did so on 11/9/19 in a club friendly. The course was in very good condition as were the greens. The greens were running just over medium pace. The bunkers do need some work on them. There is a driving range. The food was very good and hospitality very good. This venue has improved a lot since I last visited. This is very good value golf for members and visitors.

7.4

Preston, Lancashire

3rd September, 2019

Played here with bunkers GS last Sunday for the first time.
We had tough conditions on the day but I was impressed with the course. Some lovely shaped holes and quite undulating in places.
Would definitely give it another visit in the future.

8.8

Preston, Lancashire

2nd September, 2019

Another visit to the beautiful Preston GC.....I had forgotten how tough the first few opening holes were, compounded by the strong breeze throughout. The course was in excellent condition with a few minor wet areas in and around the fairways. The greens ran true and were nice and quick. The course is quite undulating overall so be sure to bring a trolley or caddy!! ;) A great course with a fabulous breakfast to get us on our way! I look forward to a return visit.

9

Preston, Lancashire

2nd September, 2019

Played here on the 1st September with the Bunkers Golf Society. The whole setup is spot on, nice clubhouse friendly staff and good food. The pro was helpful, welcoming and friendly down at the range. The course was in great condition, there are some great holes on this course, with each hole giving you a slightly different challenge. I will be back again.

8.4

Preston, Lancashire

2nd September, 2019

What a stunning course. Probably the nicest parkland course in the area. Quite hilly so bring your trolley with you. Fairways are quite tight and the greens are fast and true. They have a great driving range and a fully stocked pro shop. Food was excellent and all in all you can’t go wrong playing here.

8.6

Preston, Lancashire

2nd September, 2019

This was my first visit to Preston Golf Club, but hope that it won’t be my last.
Together with friends from Bunkers Golf Society, we enjoyed a hearty breakfast before venturing out to prepare for our round on the excellent practice facilities.
The course layout is most enjoyable with a nice balance of long uphill par fours, challenging par threes, short par fours and testing par fives.
The course is undulating and the climb to some of the greens and then to the tees could leave one or two golfers a little breathless!
The course is well maintained and in excellent condition throughout. The greens were particularly receptive after some significant recent rainfall but the course coped admirably and no casual water was found anywhere on the course.
Staff were courteous and professional. A good range of food was available, was attractively presented and very tasty.
In my view, visit provided very good value for money and so I am happy to recommend it to fellow golfers WITHOUT RESERVATION.

10

Southport, Merseyside

31st August, 2019

I had the enormous pleasure of playing this magnificent course on Thursday, 29th August as part of a Charity Golf Day in support of “The Children’s Charity Merseyside.”
This delightful venue has for many years enjoyed a wonderful reputation for the quality of its course - and rightly so, but what I found to be equally impressive was the exceptional quality of the facilities and catering on offer together with the warm and friendly welcome I received from members and staff alike.
I found all those affiliated to the club to be excellent ambassadors, always helpful, courteous and friendly.
I believe that committee members - together with a course architect - are soon to develop plans and make some changes to the front nine of this superb course, but it will be a hugely difficult task I’m sure, to improve what is already a top class layout.
The fairways are beautifully manicured and defined with two or three grades of cut. The greens are fast and smooth and a well struck putt will usually find the bottom of the cup. The immaculately kept bunkers are very strategically placed and add significantly to the defences of the course.
Although there had been torrential rain in the area throughout the previous day, there was absolutely no sign of casual water anywhere around the course, confirming for me that this is a course which is playable all year round.
If you get the opportunity to play this course take it! It is an experience which will challenge and delight golfers of all abilities in equal measure. One word of advice though....stay on the fairways....you will pay dearly for any errant shots into the rough.
One member perfectly summed up for me what this club really is about when he said “Hillside is an elite golf club, but its members are not elitist.” Long May it continue!

9

Stockport, Greater Manchester

30th August, 2019

First time playing here and what an absolute belter of a course. The fairways were well defined and the greens tricky and fast the course is interesting and worth every penny of the green fee.The members who we spoke to were helpful and friendly, the 18th is a little STEEP to say the least, it adds character and I hope the club do not alter it's layout in the future. This is a gem.
Steve. Wigan

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

29th August, 2019

Excellent value for money

9.2

Liverpool, Merseyside

28th August, 2019

I play off 16.

I played here in July 2019 with BGS.

The course was immaculately presented. The definition on the fairways leading into the rough were pleasing on the eye.

The greens were one of the best I've played this year. The course is always well presented, it's a good test for any golfer and I would recommend any golfer to play here.

9

Bolton, Lancashire

28th August, 2019

I play off 16.

A 3rd visit to this course with BGS, a regular on our calendar.

This is due to the hospitality and warm welcome. Good chat with the pro who always takes a great interest in our society.

This is another great parkland course with challenging holes.

It's a great layout and a good test. Some great views over Lancashire.

It's a course that I would revisit and I would encourage a little more work on the bunkers. This is the only negative but a little TLC and this will be resolved.

9

Chester, Cheshire

28th August, 2019

I play off 16.

Visited here mid August 2019 with BGS.

Buffet to start was exceptional, the staff very welcoming.

First visit here and I was well impressed. Great layout with some good holes.

Course was in great condition and greens very good.

Good practise facilities and reasonable bar prices.

I would play here again.

8.6

Wigan, Lancashire

28th August, 2019

I play off 16.

Visited with BGS on 26th August.

The deal we got was the best a good club can offer. Great full English to start, 18 holes and a 2 course meal to finish, superb quality.

Friendly staff and a good chat with the Captain.

The course .... one of the toughest par 3 starts you will find(especially for a medal)

The course is tree lined and you will get punished if you are off line. The course is well presented and has some great holes.

The greens were not at their usual best although not too bad.

I would highly recommend you visit and societies get in touch as Wigan are very welcoming with the best deals around.

8.2

Wigan, Lancashire

27th August, 2019

Wigan is a lovely golf course with a wonderful layout. It can suit both the long hitter and the thinking mans golfer with some holes being quite open and others being tight, requiring you to plot your way around.

The greens have suffered slightly this year with the wet summer but overall still playing excellently.

We had breakfast and a 2 course meal after the golf and the value was excellent. The staff are very welcoming. It has become one of our go to destinations and we will definitely be returning ASAP.

8.6

Wigan, Lancashire

27th August, 2019

Great course layout

8.2

Wigan, Lancashire

27th August, 2019

Bunkers Society