>

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

10

Bramhall, Greater Manchester

8th October, 2020

Absolutely loved playing at Bramall Park. Everything about it was what a good local golf club should be. From the lovely modernised clubhouse with friendly welcoming staff serving quality food, the friendly pro and well equipped shop, to flat tees, immaculate fairways and lovely eel protected greens in a lovely setting. Can’t fault it and definitely want to play again.

7.2

Clitheroe, Lancashire

1st October, 2020

This was a course i was looking forward to playing after hearing some good reviews, it ended up being slightly disappointing. I say this as in maybe my expectations were a little high, the course in general was of a very good standard although in a number of places it was quite damp and soggy underfoot, the greens were good and fairways good also. Club house facilities were excellent.

7.4

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

1st October, 2020

Although this was over 1hour away, it was certainly worth the journey. I beautiful coursed tucked away within the cumbrian hills, this is a little gem of a course that we will definitely be returning to. The course was in great condition with some real nice picturesque holes. Greens were in brilliant condition. A testament to the green staff in these testing times!

10

Bramhall, Greater Manchester

1st October, 2020

Quite frankly one of (if not the) best courses the golf society has played. Yes, we may have touched lucky with the weather and the fact the club itself was having there trophy day but you could not fault BPGC one bit. The whole day was magnificent. The course was in immaculate condition with fairways and tee boxes beautifully formed. The greens were perfect, put your ball on the right path with the right speed and it rolled true, all the way to the hole.

A stunning course which the society MUST return to. Also a mention to the hospitality staff, attentive service and delicious food.

10

Bramhall, Greater Manchester

29th September, 2020

This was our first time to visit Bramall Park Golf club with Bunkers Golf society, this was a beautiful golf course, well cared for and a fabulous design, everything was perfect, the food afterwards was delicious and the staff were helpful and friendly, all in all a great day we will definitely be visiting the course again would highly recommend this beautiful golf course
Peter Woolley
BUNKERS GOLF SOCIETY.

9.4

Bramhall, Greater Manchester

29th September, 2020

What a beautiful course. Fairways were immaculate and the greens were impeccable. The greens were rapid but true. The bunkers were kept well. This is truly a stunning venue.

9.2

Bramhall, Greater Manchester

29th September, 2020

My 1st visit to this club with Bunkers Golf Society and I will definitely be back.

A fabulous course thats beautifully kept and some of the finest parkland greens Ive played on. Great value for a society visit of a weekend and a course I hope we visit again and again.

Get down there and give it a go. You will NOT be disappointed.

9.6

Bramhall, Greater Manchester

29th September, 2020

We visited Bramall Park GC for the first time on Sunday 27th Sept 2020 and were given a real treat.

With all the ongoing COVID disruption, our visit was re-scheduled and the club were really helpful and accommodating throughout this and fitted us in on a day of their club finals - which also ensured we saw the course at its absolute best.

The course was presented immaculately and the greens were a joy to play on. Slick but true and with a great roll, they were consistent throughout and credit should be given to the green staff for the quality of the 18 holes overall.

The course is a lovely layout in a parkland setting with some truly stunning holes and backdrops. Its unusual for a parkland course to be blessed with so much variation in the holes and despite being tree lined throughout, the course was fair and allowed for the odd 'off line' shot.

The post round food was as good as we have experienced anywhere with freshly made pizzas being a firm favourite amongst the lads and the prices were very very fair in the club and pro shop. The staff throughout the club were warm and welcoming and the members friendly and chatty. The day offered exceptional value and hopefully this club will be one we can return to in 2021 and beyond.

Its one of the best parkland courses we have had the pleasure to visit in recent times and we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to other visiting societies and groups.

9.2

Bramhall, Greater Manchester

27th September, 2020

I visited Bramhall Park GC for the first time with friends from Bunkers Golf Society on Sunday 27th September.
The course was in MAGNIFICENT condition.
I have been fortunate to play many beautiful courses in this country and in Europe and this course ranks amongst the very best.
All tee boxes were flat and well grassed, greens were smooth and fast and fairways were immaculately mown. Although there had been heavy rainfall recently, the course showed no signs of casual water anywhere.
Club members and staff were friendly and helpful and the post round drinks and food were superb!
This is a really lovely course which I hope will become a regular on our calendar. It was a delight.

8.4

Clitheroe, Lancashire

15th September, 2020

I visited this mature parkland course with friends from Bunkers Golf Society.
The welcome, service and hospitality we received on arrival was first class. Plenty of fresh coffee and a delicious bacon barm were served before our round and went down a treat!
The course was a little sodden underfoot in places but the greens and fairways were in nice condition.
The course presented an interesting challenge and the pretty low scoring generally on the day was a reflection of the conditions (the winner scoring only a modest 33 points)
The bar offered a nice selection of fraught beers and the staff were all pleasant and attentive.
We paid £45 each for our food and golf - which I regard as a fair price for the experience of playing a course of this standard on a Sunday morning. One or two in our party however felt that the experience did not justify the cost.

7.8

Rainford,

25th August, 2020

Great layout and the current owners are making plenty of improvements to the course.

The front 9 in particular has some really interesting holes.

9

Wigan, Lancashire

20th August, 2020

We visit this coarse every year with BUNKERS GOLF SOCIETY our latest trip was the 9th August 2020 and once again I wasn’t disappointed I love this coarse, the greens were lovely but a bit slow and the coarse was in beautiful condition, the food before and after was delicious, all the staff were warm and friendly and well organised, this coarse is well worth a visit
Peter Woolley
Bunkers Golf Society.

7.8

Wigan, Lancashire

12th August, 2020

Recently visited Wigan Golf Club on a glorious summers day. we received the normal warm and friendly welcome, as is custom on all our visits. We had a good breakfast barmcake before our round and a good 2 course meal after our round. The practice area is ok, but a bit small. The course was in good condition, the greens where in good condition also, but a touch slow and a bit bobbly. The only bunker I went into had plenty of sand in it. It was a fabulous day out and look forward to returning next year.

7.2

Wigan, Lancashire

12th August, 2020

Yearly visit to Wigan with the society. Like previous years, was looking forward to it. Weather was superb, but course was a bit of a let down on previous years. Hoping this is a one off due to green staff not being able to carry out normal duties with the madness that has been 2020. Tee boxes were in poor condition, and greens, whilst well covered in grass had not been cut for a while by the looks of it and running slow and bobbling. Bunkers were in good nick and fairways decent.

Practice facilities are poor, 3 out of 4 practice nets were thread bear and balls going through the nets and matts of practice nets had seen better days. Putting green is small and no chipping area, which would be fine for normal club play, but if turning up with 10+ players as societies tend to do, there is not enough room.

We had bacon a sausage barm before game (not usual full English due to circumstance with covid) and burger and chips post round. Food was lovely and staff hospitality excellent, never any complaints on the food or hospitality front.

In summary, generally enjoyed playing Wigan course these past few years, but was a bit disappointed this year. If back to it's normal standard next year, would love to visit again.

10

Southport, Merseyside

10th August, 2020

I played here as the guest of a member.

This is a course of the very highest quality. Absolutely superb layout (the back 9 being as good as anything in the world) and there isn’t a blade of grass missing/out of place.

It is utterly pristine.

If you enjoy golf, it’s impossible not to be blown away by this place.

8.4

Wigan, Lancashire

10th August, 2020

I played here as part of the visit of Bunkers Golf Society.

This is a course we visit every year due to the exceptional value offered on a course that offers a fair challenge.

The course is kept in excellent condition and has some holes that require a bit of thought.

We enjoyed an excellent breakfast prior to our round and a 2 course meal after which was also very enjoyable.

The staff and members I encountered were both very friendly and welcoming.

Well worth a visit!

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

10th August, 2020

Course was in great condition

8.2

Wigan, Lancashire

10th August, 2020

This is a very pleasant track which offers challenge and great fun in equal measure.
I returned once again with my pals from Bunkers Golf Society for our annual trip which once again did not disappoint.
The course played beautifully although on this occasion the greens were a little "fluffy" which caused some well struck putts to bobble and come up short.
The welcome we received from the courteous, professional staff was as warm as ever and the food we were served both before and after our round was both delicious and plentiful.
All Covid-19 precautions were in place which was very reassuring.
I`m sure that we will continue to visit in the years ahead.

8

Rainford,

24th July, 2020

Pleasant round!

9.2

Preston, Lancashire

24th July, 2020

This was a return visit with friends from Bunkers Golf Society to one of our favourite venues. Once again we were delighted with the warm welcome we received.
The course was in great condition with beautifully mown fairways, smooth, fast greens and tidy, level tee boxes.
The undulating parkland layout is a real test of shotmaking and with several steep climbs to green or from greens to tees it can present quite a challenge to a golfer's fitness at times!
Covid-safe arrangements and procedures were fully in place to out on the course as well as in the clubhouse bar afterwards to reassure us all in these strange times and with the best bacon rolls I can remember having to enjoy with a coffee at the half way house we were treated to a superb day out!

7

Rainford,

10th June, 2020

I made a return visit to Berrington Hall Golf and Country Club on 9th June 2020 - Although there has been a great deal of improvement work done since my last visit the greens are still in need of much more. The unusually dry month of May has taken its toll and now that we have had some rainfall, the grass is growing in irregular patches which makes putting a virtual lottery.
It is fair to say though that all fairways were mown attractively with several increasing levels of rough.
As no rakes were provided (I assume to to Covid-19regulations) the bunkers were not well maintained.
The course offers decent value for money though with 18 holes on a Thursday costing visitors only £20.
There are things still to be done at the club and the owners and their staff are working hard to further implement their ambitious development plan.
David Ashley

3

Liverpool, Merseyside

8th June, 2020

Course was in poor condition due to lock down.
This is a very strict traditional club which is being held back by some self important members.
Hen pecked by a group of lady members, who seem to enjoy letting you know the rules on a number of occasions.
Played this course many years ago and left with the same bitter taste.
Sorry Woolton won’t be coming back.

8.8

Bickerstaffe, Lancashire

9th March, 2020

Had little knock on Saturday 07/03/20 with a couple of our members from swingers golf society just to dust off the cobwebs before our season kicks off. With all the horrible weather of late this course was in great condition all greens open, a couple of winter tees but was expected. Have to say we are coming back in May and this course will be in full potential, great little local course and the staff are great. Winter wheels only at present but can hire there which is great.

7.4

Rainford,

9th February, 2020

Visited last week or our first society meet up, great value and hospitality. Course was in good condition considering the time of year and recent weather and a lot better than some other supposed prestigious courses played recently. Fairways and Greens were in brilliant condition through the summer period, tee boxes could do with a bit of tlc. Very good test when the tees are pulled back

7.4

Rainford,

8th February, 2020

Much improved golf course. Still requires some investment to make the most of its full potential. Members get a full 12 months golf with the course playing particularly well during the winter months when other local courses are shut.

9.6

Enville, Staffordshire

4th February, 2020

Brilliant golf courses great condition and with potential to get even better. Heathland by nature, a little to many trees for my liking but got to be one of the best in midlands.

8.4

Bickerstaffe, Lancashire

30th January, 2020

This review is based on winter conditions. I am a member at Mossock GC, the course offers great summer and winter golf. We have only had golf cancelled once this winter, which is marvelous, considering we have had such a wet summer and winter. Only once, have we been on temporary greens due to frost. Only two Tees are on mats, although some Tees are starting to show some wear and tear, which is only to be expected with the exceptionally wet weather. The Greens are in good condition and are improving with each passing month.The fairways are good for this time of year. The members and staff will always offer you a warm and friendly welcome. The clubhouse has recently been refurbished and the club also has a well stocked Golf Shop. Come and give it a try anytime of the year, you will not be disappointed.

8.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

28th January, 2020

What an amazing place to come and whack a ball around. It would be too easy to judge it purely on the landscape that you see on the adverts but there are another twenty odd holes with superb views, lovely fairways and elevated greens.
If you are in North Wales you will probably come here to play anyway and you won’t regret it. Don’t get hung up on playing the peninsula. Each loop is well worth the green fee.

8.6

Formby, Merseyside

28th January, 2020

Beautiful course superbly maintained

7.6

Formby, Merseyside

28th January, 2020

Played here a number of times over the winter. They keep it well looked after with plenty of roped off areas and some
Fairways having mats (but decent) for approach shots.

The greens are full when they can be. Still amazes me how many obvious pitch marks go unrepaired (not the clubs fault).

It’s a good layout and there are plenty of strong holes.

The facilities are good but atmosphere a bit cold like many hote resort courses.

Overall it’s a decent winter track but you pay a premium to play.