Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

8.2

St Helens, Merseyside

15th September, 2019

Played here with the swingers golf society on Friday 13th September, course was in excellent condition, with the greens especially in pristine condition. In my opinion the best I have played on this year. Good variety of holes, especially the par fours were each one has its own unique challenges. Excellent value with quality pretty much guaranteed.

8.2

Chesterfield, Derbyshire

13th September, 2019

I haven't played this course for a number of years but did so on 11/9/19 in a club friendly. The course was in very good condition as were the greens. The greens were running just over medium pace. The bunkers do need some work on them. There is a driving range. The food was very good and hospitality very good. This venue has improved a lot since I last visited. This is very good value golf for members and visitors.

7.4

Preston, Lancashire

3rd September, 2019

Played here with bunkers GS last Sunday for the first time.
We had tough conditions on the day but I was impressed with the course. Some lovely shaped holes and quite undulating in places.
Would definitely give it another visit in the future.

8.8

Preston, Lancashire

2nd September, 2019

Another visit to the beautiful Preston GC.....I had forgotten how tough the first few opening holes were, compounded by the strong breeze throughout. The course was in excellent condition with a few minor wet areas in and around the fairways. The greens ran true and were nice and quick. The course is quite undulating overall so be sure to bring a trolley or caddy!! ;) A great course with a fabulous breakfast to get us on our way! I look forward to a return visit.

9

Preston, Lancashire

2nd September, 2019

Played here on the 1st September with the Bunkers Golf Society. The whole setup is spot on, nice clubhouse friendly staff and good food. The pro was helpful, welcoming and friendly down at the range. The course was in great condition, there are some great holes on this course, with each hole giving you a slightly different challenge. I will be back again.

8.4

Preston, Lancashire

2nd September, 2019

What a stunning course. Probably the nicest parkland course in the area. Quite hilly so bring your trolley with you. Fairways are quite tight and the greens are fast and true. They have a great driving range and a fully stocked pro shop. Food was excellent and all in all you can’t go wrong playing here.

8.6

Preston, Lancashire

2nd September, 2019

This was my first visit to Preston Golf Club, but hope that it won’t be my last.
Together with friends from Bunkers Golf Society, we enjoyed a hearty breakfast before venturing out to prepare for our round on the excellent practice facilities.
The course layout is most enjoyable with a nice balance of long uphill par fours, challenging par threes, short par fours and testing par fives.
The course is undulating and the climb to some of the greens and then to the tees could leave one or two golfers a little breathless!
The course is well maintained and in excellent condition throughout. The greens were particularly receptive after some significant recent rainfall but the course coped admirably and no casual water was found anywhere on the course.
Staff were courteous and professional. A good range of food was available, was attractively presented and very tasty.
In my view, visit provided very good value for money and so I am happy to recommend it to fellow golfers WITHOUT RESERVATION.

10

Southport, Merseyside

31st August, 2019

I had the enormous pleasure of playing this magnificent course on Thursday, 29th August as part of a Charity Golf Day in support of “The Children’s Charity Merseyside.”
This delightful venue has for many years enjoyed a wonderful reputation for the quality of its course - and rightly so, but what I found to be equally impressive was the exceptional quality of the facilities and catering on offer together with the warm and friendly welcome I received from members and staff alike.
I found all those affiliated to the club to be excellent ambassadors, always helpful, courteous and friendly.
I believe that committee members - together with a course architect - are soon to develop plans and make some changes to the front nine of this superb course, but it will be a hugely difficult task I’m sure, to improve what is already a top class layout.
The fairways are beautifully manicured and defined with two or three grades of cut. The greens are fast and smooth and a well struck putt will usually find the bottom of the cup. The immaculately kept bunkers are very strategically placed and add significantly to the defences of the course.
Although there had been torrential rain in the area throughout the previous day, there was absolutely no sign of casual water anywhere around the course, confirming for me that this is a course which is playable all year round.
If you get the opportunity to play this course take it! It is an experience which will challenge and delight golfers of all abilities in equal measure. One word of advice though....stay on the fairways....you will pay dearly for any errant shots into the rough.
One member perfectly summed up for me what this club really is about when he said “Hillside is an elite golf club, but its members are not elitist.” Long May it continue!

9

Stockport, Greater Manchester

30th August, 2019

First time playing here and what an absolute belter of a course. The fairways were well defined and the greens tricky and fast the course is interesting and worth every penny of the green fee.The members who we spoke to were helpful and friendly, the 18th is a little STEEP to say the least, it adds character and I hope the club do not alter it's layout in the future. This is a gem.
Steve. Wigan

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

29th August, 2019

Excellent value for money

9.2

Liverpool, Merseyside

28th August, 2019

I play off 16.

I played here in July 2019 with BGS.

The course was immaculately presented. The definition on the fairways leading into the rough were pleasing on the eye.

The greens were one of the best I've played this year. The course is always well presented, it's a good test for any golfer and I would recommend any golfer to play here.

9

Bolton, Lancashire

28th August, 2019

I play off 16.

A 3rd visit to this course with BGS, a regular on our calendar.

This is due to the hospitality and warm welcome. Good chat with the pro who always takes a great interest in our society.

This is another great parkland course with challenging holes.

It's a great layout and a good test. Some great views over Lancashire.

It's a course that I would revisit and I would encourage a little more work on the bunkers. This is the only negative but a little TLC and this will be resolved.

9

Chester, Cheshire

28th August, 2019

I play off 16.

Visited here mid August 2019 with BGS.

Buffet to start was exceptional, the staff very welcoming.

First visit here and I was well impressed. Great layout with some good holes.

Course was in great condition and greens very good.

Good practise facilities and reasonable bar prices.

I would play here again.

8.6

Wigan, Lancashire

28th August, 2019

I play off 16.

Visited with BGS on 26th August.

The deal we got was the best a good club can offer. Great full English to start, 18 holes and a 2 course meal to finish, superb quality.

Friendly staff and a good chat with the Captain.

The course .... one of the toughest par 3 starts you will find(especially for a medal)

The course is tree lined and you will get punished if you are off line. The course is well presented and has some great holes.

The greens were not at their usual best although not too bad.

I would highly recommend you visit and societies get in touch as Wigan are very welcoming with the best deals around.

8.2

Wigan, Lancashire

27th August, 2019

Wigan is a lovely golf course with a wonderful layout. It can suit both the long hitter and the thinking mans golfer with some holes being quite open and others being tight, requiring you to plot your way around.

The greens have suffered slightly this year with the wet summer but overall still playing excellently.

We had breakfast and a 2 course meal after the golf and the value was excellent. The staff are very welcoming. It has become one of our go to destinations and we will definitely be returning ASAP.

8.6

Wigan, Lancashire

27th August, 2019

Great course layout

8.2

Wigan, Lancashire

27th August, 2019

Bunkers Society

8.2

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

Lovely tree lined parkland course that requires accurate tee to green play, you can't just go around spraying shots and getting away with it with more open courses, which is a welcome challenge.

Practice chipping and putting area could be bigger and better presented for a reasonably large group turning up in one go, but for regular club golf or smaller groups, this wouldn't be an issue.

Weather on the day was baking hot but had followed some heavy rain earlier in the week, which I think led to the fairways and greens not being as well / recently cut as we'd seen on previous visits but I've played similar or worse for a lot more money.

Club staff couldn't be more welcoming and in terms of value for money I don't think we've seen better. I would visit again both as part of society or socially if suggested by friends.

9

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

Excellent Hospitality

8.4

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

I think Wigan golf club provides the best value of any events for my society - Bunkers Golf Society.

We enjoyed a cooked breakfast pre round and a very nice 2 course meal post round. Both meals were very nice.

The course itself is a favourite of the society with a good mix of holes providing a good test of golf.

On this occasion, the greens were not quite as good as they have been on previous visits. We have experience a poor summer weather wise and I presume this has taken its toll.

Still, a venue you should visit if you have the chance.

8

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

Warm Welcome

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

Another superb visit to this excellent parkland course in the company of my mates from Bunkers Golf Society. On arrival, our party was welcomed warmly by the club Captain. We were then served a substantial, tasty “Full English” then it was out onto the putting green and into the practice nets to prepare for our round.
As usual the course was in fine condition - although one or two players did report discovering some waterlogged ground around the track. In fairness there had been some significant recent rainfall and the greens were not quite up to their usual standard. They might perhaps have benefitted from another cut with several putts bobbling sufficiently to take them off their intended line.
Post round, you could not wish for a more relaxed setting....and time to enjoy the beer garden, wildlife, comfortable furniture.
The simple, two course meal (Home made cheese burger with chunky chips followed by apple pie and ice cream) was First Class! The chef and service staff were very courteous and extremely skilled and efficient.
All in all this visit offered us EXCEPTIONAL value for money and I can recommend this venue to golfers of all standards WITHOUT RESERVATION.

7.2

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

This was my first time playing Wigan GC and with some good reviews from society members I was expecting a great course and it certainly delivered.

The clubhouse is beautifully presented and very picturesque from the outside with the moat running right around and full of local wildlife. The clubhouse inside is again very nice and well presented.

The course itself plays a tough test for any golfer. You have to be accurate down this tree lined parkland course or you will be in a touch of bother although not unplayable just makes life that little harder. The full course is very easy on the eye and very well spread about non of the holes feel like your playing on top of another hole (although the 18th intersects the 7th I think). The greens on the day probably weren't the best as they were quite bobbly and were tough too read due to the bobbles, but mid season maintenance can't be knocked. But they were cut fantastic and very easy on the eye from afar. Bunkers are well placed and well stocked on sand. The fairways had plenty of roll and were easy enough to hit off.

All in all a great course very scenic with a stunning clubhouse. Would recommend to friends and budding golfers alike.

8.4

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

I visited Wigan GC on 25th Aug 2019 with Bunkers Golf Society and play off 9hcp.

I love visiting Wigan as it is always in great condition, the course is a wonderful layout and the day always offers great value. This visit was no different as we were looked after from start to finish both on and off the course.

A tough par 3 start [175 yards with OOB on the right] welcomes you to the course and this continues with tight tree lined fairways and undulating greens. You need to position the ball well around the course to be able to score well and its a great test of golf - primarily because you can't just 'bully' the course with the 'big stick', you need to use course management well.

The greens on this visit were a bit bobbly compared to previous years and looked to have been scarified or had mid season maintenance in the weeks previous [which is absolutely understandable given the poor summer weather in the UK plus the club needs to do this to make sure the greens play all year round - so its not a criticism, just a case of bad luck for us compared to usual years where they are always slick and smooth]. They were still more than playable and didn't effect the quality of golf on show!!! The rest of the course was delightful and as always, was very easy on the eye.

The day offers superb value and we always get well looked after. I will continue to sing the praises of Wigan GC and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to any golfer. Get yourself down there!

8.4

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

We took Bunkers Golf Society back to Wigan Golf Club on 25th August 2019 for our final Major of the season. This is our 5th consecutive season visiting Wigan and as always, we were superbly looked after from start to finish.

Some clubs just know how to do things right and take care of visiting groups to ensure they return in future [with or without the group] and Wigan has always done this. From the office staff through to the caterers, bar staff and committee - we have always found them to be superb.

The course is always in immaculate condition and is a fair test of parkland golf with tree lined, tight fairways and tricky pin positions on some well protected greens.
For this particular visit the greens weren't up to the usual standard and seemed to have been through some recent maintenance but they were still in good condition comparable to other courses, but just not the usual smooth Wigan GC roll - and we can only review the club as we find it at the time.

The fairways were lush and well manicured and despite some recent poor weather in July the course was beautiful on the eye and played well.

The club house, surrounded by a moat is picturesque and a wonderful place to enjoy a few post round beers in the sun and the prices in the bar are more than fair. The day is superb value and is probably why Wigan is one of our members favourite venues each year.

The pre round and post round food was plentiful and went down an absolute storm [as usual] and the whole day from start to finish was first class. We sign Wigan's praises year-on-year to other golfers and will continue to do so. If you haven't been before, get yourself booked in for a visit and enjoy it.

9

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

I played this course with Bunkers Golf Society. The course is in great condition and is a thoroughly enjoyable track to play. The food both before and after the round was very nice and all the staff did a superb job in looking afterwards. Wigan definately offers value for money and I look forward to playing the course again in the future.

8.2

Wigan, Lancashire

26th August, 2019

The best golfing value in the country. The course is beautifully laid out and offers a stern test to all golfers. The fairways were in great condition and the green, whilst still quick, we’re a little bobbly and slightly disappointing. The food before and after the round was ‘simply lovely’. Great day enjoyed with some great lads. Thanks again to BarryTaylor @clarkes driving range for sponsoring the event.

8.4

Rainford,

18th August, 2019

Vastly improving golf course

9

Chester, Cheshire

18th August, 2019

Top class layout

9.6

Chester, Cheshire

18th August, 2019

Challenging Greens