Twitter logo YouTube logo Facebook logo

Discover, book, play, review

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

8.2

Birkenhead, Merseyside

24th September, 2018

I am a previous member of Prenton and always enjoyed my golf here. One or two holes that could be improved on but otherwise a varied course. Some stunning holes and a good risk/reward first hole that is great for team golf. Only issues are that it gets a bit boggy in the winter / wet months and the putting green is too slopey so makes it a bit ineffective to practice putting on. Scott on the bar is a proper gent and good company too.

6.6

Eastham, Merseyside

24th September, 2018

Played here and caught the tail end of a society and so was fairly slow going. My playing partner accidentally put his bag on the tee (it was hard to distinguish where it started tbf) and rather than get off the mower and politely ask him to move it the groundsman shouted from 40 yards away over the roar of his sit on mower. Bit of embarrassment caused to my friend. Anyway the course is OK. Driver is not needed until about 8 holes in if you are able to driver it 240 yards or more. I used a hybrid and 4w on all but 4 holes. The greens were OK but coming behind a society there were a good few pitch marks which are not the clubs fault but I can only mark it as I see it. I am quite local and would play this again as it's not a slog. Good value though on tee times but hard to see how a £950+ membership is justified but that is incidental.

8.4

Blackburn, Lancashire

17th September, 2018

Mother Nature strikes again... I'm a member of the Bunkers Golf Society and was looking forward to our first visit to Blackburn. Unfortunately the persistent rain caused havoc to what I'm sure would've been a very enjoyable day! Aesthetically the course looked fabulous and I'm sure would've been a delight to play but the weather got the better of us! I'm hoping to be back next year (In the sunshine). Everybody at the club was very welcoming and hospitable and the food was of a good standard. Great Club... well worth a visit!

Marty

7

Blackburn, Lancashire

17th September, 2018

We played this course in the worst conditions imaginable. To be fair, the course is beautiful and on a summers day it would be a true joy. Like most parkland courses it was heavy under foot and the greens flooded quite easily. Please don’t let this discourage you from playing it as almost all inland courses would have been the same. Has one idiot say a racist comment towards our group but couldn’t say if it was a member or not. I will be going again to experience it in warmer weather.

7.4

Blackburn, Lancashire

17th September, 2018

This was a day to forget, but not because of the course condition but the weather. We got a right royal drenching throughout a full 16 holes which dampened the enjoyment of the round. The course itself was playing as well as it could considering the downpour and this would certainly be a course to visit through the summer months. There are some very tight tee positions to test your driving skills, over all the course is quite undulating but i would definitely like to return here.

8.6

Ormskirk, Lancashire

17th September, 2018

Another visit to the glorious Ormskirk GC, a firm favourite on our calendar. The course is always in great condition and today was no exception, the fairways were clean, well divided from the semi rough with nice patterns throughout the course. The greens were exceptional with the ball rolling true on impact. This is in my top 3 of courses that Bunkers visit.

8.4

Chesterfield, Derbyshire

17th September, 2018

Played the course on 10/9/18 in a club friendly. The course was in very good condition and the greens good. The greens were medium pace but true. The meal was excellent and we were made very welcome as always.

8.4

Dronfield, Derbyshire

17th September, 2018

Played the course on 11/9/18 and found it to be in very good condition. The greens were also very good, true and medium paced. A warm welcome was extended by the members and the food was very good.

7

Blackburn, Lancashire

17th September, 2018

Nice course layout with internal OB meaning you had to think about your tee shots. Good mix of holes in terms of length too.

Couldn't really comment on greens too much due to weather we had on the day and the winter prep work that had been done, which all clubs do around this time of year, but sure they'll be fine outside of maintenance period.

As per other comments, practice facilities need some serious attention, mats of nets were woeful, and the putting green on the small side.

All that said and done, I'd like to try the course again around the middle of playing season.

7

Blackburn, Lancashire

17th September, 2018

Visited Blackburn with Bunkers Golf Society on what proved to be a very wet September Sunday.
The course is a really nice setup with several lovely elevated tees, a couple of risk or reward holes and despite it being wide open in places there are out of bounds on a couple of holes that totally change your approach.
The greens had undergone maintenance which was fine and you could tell they would be good.
Practice facilities were average with the nets and mats probably at the end of their natural life. I did note a vast well prepared practice area to the right of the 18th tee that looked like it could probably be made better use of?
Overall I had a pleasant day of awful golf (not Blackburn’s fault) and would definitely like to return without rain and the awful golf.

7

Blackburn, Lancashire

17th September, 2018

Played here as part of Bunkers Golf Society.

This was my first visit to this golf club having heard goid things about it. I was told previously that it is quite hilly....quite is putting it lightly! Unfortunately our visit was spoiled with the weather that we had the day previous and on the day we played in a deluge of rain, so much so that the greens were flooding making putting impossible at times. The greens looked like they would have been in decent condition even though they had started there winter prep on them. One thing i would say would be if you want to warm up i would try and find a local driving range before hand, the condition of the practice nets was very poor, getting a ball to stay still on the matt was a job itself and they were in terrible condition.
I would really like to visit here again as the layout was very good with plenty of risk reward holes, just fingers crossed we dont get the same weather.

9.8

Appleton,

17th September, 2018

Played here as part of Bunkers Golf Society.
This is a firm favourite amongst the whole society as its always seems to be in fantastic condition and once again it did not disappoint. As ive said in previous reviews you cant fault the course it simply is a must play for golfers of all abilities.

8.4

Blackburn, Lancashire

17th September, 2018

I visited the club with 18 fellow members of Bunkers Golf Society on Sunday, 16th September.
We found the welcome warm and friendly and enjoyed a pre-round sausage and egg barm with coffee for the great value price of £4 each.
When we had concluded our pre-round admin we made our way out to the small but adequate putting green and practice nets.
The course was in very good condition and whilst the greens had only recently been hollow tined, they played very well initially. All bunkers and tee boxes were well cared for and fairways were attractively shaped and mown.
Unfortunately very heavy rain began to fall fairly early on in our round which ultimately caused many of the greens to become waterlogged and with the rain water pooling in a number of places we were lucky to get the round finished.
This was a great pity as the course has potential to be a great pleasure to play as it is not too long and with well placed bunkers, water hazards and out of bounds, it presented an interesting challenge.
Our post round snack of pea and ham soup and various sandwiches was well received by the majority of our group.
The club of course cannot be held responsible for the inclement weather, and it was widely felt that the society should make a return visit next year at a time when we might expect to enjoy better weather!

7.2

Blackburn, Lancashire

16th September, 2018

Hills. Hills. Hills

8.6

Blackburn, Lancashire

16th September, 2018

Just played this course today in awful wet conditions. The greens where getting flooded, but when the rain stopped for the last few holes, the greens drained quickly, the greens had been dressed.The bunkers where in good condition considering the awful weather. It has a small practice putting green and a couple of nets that desperately need new mats. It does have a large practice area that is a short walk away. The course is well looked after and hopefully I get to play this lovely course next year in the height of summer, with new mats in the nets. Would I Recommend it?, most definitely.

7.8

Blackburn, Lancashire

16th September, 2018

We visited Blackburn Golf Club for the first time on a wet and windy day on 16th September 2018. The weather God’s weren’t kind for our visit as it absolutely belted it down for about 2 hours midway throughout the round. This deluge was just too much, too quickly for the greens to cope with [any club would’ve struggled] and they were soaked with pooling of water that made it a total lottery to putt on. That said, it faded off for most of the back 9 and we were able to enjoy the course for what it was – a lovely layout with some really interesting holes.

The natural lay of the land means that its quite a hilly course and can be penal on the leg of those who aren’t as youthful as they once were. This though brings some lovely challenges throughout the 18 holes with a variation of lies that make the course a great challenge.

The greens for our visit had received some maintenance in the week or so prior to the day of play and they would have played pretty well was it not for the horrendous UK weather. They rolled pretty fair and consistent – if a little bobbly – but this it to be expected in the UK at this time of year if we want to be able to play courses all year round.

The general condition of the course was good, with well-manicured fairways, well tendered bunkers and flat tee boxes.

There are some beautiful views to behold during the 18 holes [providing the rain doesn’t stop your ability to look upwards!] and it’s definitely a course that we would visit again – and hopefully in better conditions to be able to give a proper review that’s more accurate.

Its unfair to ever score a course down for issues that are out of their control, such as the weather. Obviously, you can be critical of how a course handles the rain, but for this visit it was so fierce and prolonged that any course in the UK would have struggled.

The day offered good value and the food afterwards was tasty and plentiful. The members and staff were welcoming, and it is certainly one to visit if you are in the area.

7.8

Blackburn, Lancashire

16th September, 2018

Nice challenging course

7.8

Blackburn, Lancashire

16th September, 2018

Nice challenging course but was unfortunately spoilt by the weather today. Would certainly recommend as value for money and would definately return in the future.

7.6

Blackburn, Lancashire

16th September, 2018

I played here with Bunkers Golf Society on 16th September 2018 and I play off 9hcp.

I must start this review by saying that the weather played a huge part in our day and its only fair that I should come back and play this course again to give a rounded review.

On the date we played, there was a 2 hour deluge of rain about 3 holes into our round and the conditions were brutal to say the least. The quick, heavy downpour meant that the greens quickly became sodden and were almost unplayable due to the sudden burst of rain. Prior to that, the greens had been playing well despite recent maintenance work and looked good. For this time of year, I would say they were in good condition and I could see that they would have been immaculate in their prime of the summer.

The course itself is a great layout with some wonderful views and interesting holes. Its a daily hilly course and may be a challenge for those of poorer mobility but I found it a great test as there were all sorts of lies - with the ball often being below or above your feet.

The general condition of the course was good, with lovely spongey fairways that were a pleasure to play from and bunkers that were well stocked and raked.

The day cost us £27 including soup and sandwiches and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

In summary, I would like to go back to Blackburn to try it in fairer conditions, as there is nothing any club could have done about the weather we experienced and the impact it had on the course - but I can only review it based on how I found it on the day.

Definitely a club worth a visit and one I will be going back to without a doubt.

7.8

Harrogate, North Yorkshire

15th September, 2018

I have played Harrogate twice this year, once with my A game and once without it. My first experience was in the Gents Open 4BBB, a red hot day in July, the course was bone hard and very difficult made harder by an extremely slow place of play and 45 mins wait to start. My second was in the Mixed Open, played in pouring rain. Funnily enough this was more enjoyable and the course was more playable if a lot longer due to the softer conditions. This is a nice course in good condition and the hospitality in the clubhouse is good.

8

Carnoustie, Angus

15th September, 2018

The Buddon is set on the far end of the Carnoustie complex, and whilst described as a links there is a distinctly parkland feel to it once into the round. Lots of trees, a lake and water. The course is a good test of golf and the condition is really good. Big greens really test your putting, and the wind can make some of the longer holes a bit longer.

7.6

Carnoustie, Angus

15th September, 2018

Played the Burnside on a lovely Tuesday in September. The 1st and 18th holes were still suffering from the wear and tear of the Open and were just short par 3's. The rest of the course was in good condition and there are some fabulous par 3's. The course is mainly set inside the Championship course so has many of the features but not the length. This is a really nice golf course to play. We stayed in the Carnoustie Hotel and got the Burnside and the Buddon on a BOGOF deal.

8.4

,

15th September, 2018

The Eden course is the 4th of the courses in the St Andrews complex and offers all the experience of golf in the town. Great views, large undulating greens, great fairways. Doesn't have a Road hole or Ist and 18th in the shadows of the R&A clubhouse but neither does it have the exhorbitant green fee and a 5-hour round behind an entourage of visitors. The staff and members are most welcoming and it is a thoroughly enjoyable round.

9.8

Aberdeen, City of Aberdeen

13th September, 2018

Played here as a guest in June, hence the value for money. This course is as difficult as I've played. First couple of holes are straightforward but from the third it really toughens up until the last couple. Blind shots , long grass, deep bunkers and plenty of gorse plus the wind make for an exacting but fun round. A must play if in the area

9.2

Durham, Co Durham

13th September, 2018

Played the Prince Bishop's course in September in perfect conditions and found the course in stunning condition. Not a blemish on the tees or fairways and the greens were true and a good speed. Nice variety of holes with a bit of water in play. Not recommended for those who don't like climbs but all in all a perfect day's golf

9.6

Ormskirk, Lancashire

12th September, 2018

I play off 17.
Visited with Bunkers Golf Society September 2018.

This is one of the first courses on our calendar every year. The condition of this course is always perfect from practise facilities, to tee boxes to Greens.
A great variation of holes and another good thinking parkland course. Stay in play and you will hit a good score.... as long as you can putt !!
Cant rate this course enough and would encourage you to make every effort to play here at least once.

9.4

Appleton,

12th September, 2018

I play off 17.
Society day with Bunkers Golf Society, September 2018.
This is a great Parkland course and one of the best in the North West. Superb tee boxes, fairways immaculate and superb greens.
I love the layout of the course, don't really need to take a driver, more of a thinking course rather than reaching for the Big stick every tee, although it can be rewarding to do so.
great value, good practise facilities [green, chipping, nets].
I will be returning again, and again ....

9.6

Ormskirk, Lancashire

12th September, 2018

My first year as a member of Bunkers and so far we have played some cracking courses... Ormskirk being the latest! I have to say everything about the place is superb, members very welcoming, staff very accommadating and the facilities were excellent. The course was in fantastic condition considering the downpour we had the night before. Greens were terrefic... consistent, true roll on all 18. The commitee once again have pulled one out of the bag... looking forward to next years visit already.

Marty - Bunkers Golf Society

7.6

Ormskirk, Lancashire

12th September, 2018

A lovely course that rewards accuracy over length. The course is always brilliantly presented and in excellent condition. If you haven’t tried this course it’s a must

9.2

Ormskirk, Lancashire

12th September, 2018

I played with Bunkers Golf Society on 7th Sept.

The highest compliment I can pay Ormskirk GC is that I would quite happily become a member here for life. It really is that good and the warm welcome and friendliness around the club is endearing.

Its always in supreme condition and presented beautifully and the greens and fairways are some of the finest you will play on.

Its worth paying those extra couple of pounds to step up to this level in quality of club. You really do get what you pay for.