>

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

7.4

Rainford,

9th February, 2020

Visited last week or our first society meet up, great value and hospitality. Course was in good condition considering the time of year and recent weather and a lot better than some other supposed prestigious courses played recently. Fairways and Greens were in brilliant condition through the summer period, tee boxes could do with a bit of tlc. Very good test when the tees are pulled back

7.4

Rainford,

8th February, 2020

Much improved golf course. Still requires some investment to make the most of its full potential. Members get a full 12 months golf with the course playing particularly well during the winter months when other local courses are shut.

9.6

Enville, Staffordshire

4th February, 2020

Brilliant golf courses great condition and with potential to get even better. Heathland by nature, a little to many trees for my liking but got to be one of the best in midlands.

8.4

Bickerstaffe, Lancashire

30th January, 2020

This review is based on winter conditions. I am a member at Mossock GC, the course offers great summer and winter golf. We have only had golf cancelled once this winter, which is marvelous, considering we have had such a wet summer and winter. Only once, have we been on temporary greens due to frost. Only two Tees are on mats, although some Tees are starting to show some wear and tear, which is only to be expected with the exceptionally wet weather. The Greens are in good condition and are improving with each passing month.The fairways are good for this time of year. The members and staff will always offer you a warm and friendly welcome. The clubhouse has recently been refurbished and the club also has a well stocked Golf Shop. Come and give it a try anytime of the year, you will not be disappointed.

8.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

28th January, 2020

What an amazing place to come and whack a ball around. It would be too easy to judge it purely on the landscape that you see on the adverts but there are another twenty odd holes with superb views, lovely fairways and elevated greens.
If you are in North Wales you will probably come here to play anyway and you won’t regret it. Don’t get hung up on playing the peninsula. Each loop is well worth the green fee.

8.6

Formby, Merseyside

28th January, 2020

Beautiful course superbly maintained

7.6

Formby, Merseyside

28th January, 2020

Played here a number of times over the winter. They keep it well looked after with plenty of roped off areas and some
Fairways having mats (but decent) for approach shots.

The greens are full when they can be. Still amazes me how many obvious pitch marks go unrepaired (not the clubs fault).

It’s a good layout and there are plenty of strong holes.

The facilities are good but atmosphere a bit cold like many hote resort courses.

Overall it’s a decent winter track but you pay a premium to play.

7.8

Murcia, Spain, Spain

25th January, 2020

A beautiful 18 hole Jack Nicklaus designed course on the La Torre golf resort. The course is long and requires a solid game in all aspects to score well.
There is plenty of water and bunkers about to keep you on your toes.
Greens are always usually very good and the general upkeep of the course is great.
There is a nice driving range and warm up area and the clubhouse and restaurant are very good value and overlook the course providing a nice backdrop.
A course to visit if you are in the Murcia area.

6.4

Murcia, Spain, Murcia

25th January, 2020

This is a desert style course and is clearly different to a everything we have in the UK and this provides a completely different challenge as well as catches the eye. Stay away from the desert shale and the small bushes that just gobble up your golf ball!!!
Fairways were lush and lovely but the greens were behind where I would expect them to be.
The course is on an old Polaris [Nike Golf] resort and it looks partially completed in places and is a bit of a ghost town. The clubhouse is large and unique but rarely sees anyone in it.
At €52 for a round with a buggy there are better courses for value in the area but just for the layout and style alone it is worth a visit.

6.2

Murcia, Spain,

25th January, 2020

Nice course - greens OK

8.6

Murcia, Murcia

25th January, 2020

Tremendous course in the hills overlooking Murcia.
Plenty of water and this is the courses main defence.
Greens are always immaculate.
€45 for a round with a buggy is good value.
Driving range on site and practice area is very good.

8.6

Macclesfield, Cheshire

2nd January, 2020

Played here Monday 30/12/19 I defiantly recommend playing here it's in good nick for the time year a couple of temp tee's no problem full greens that were quite fast in the summer this course is a must visit. Thanks Tim & staff , we really enjoyed your hospitality.
Steve Turner Oak Tree Ince G.S

9

Conwy, Conwy

22nd December, 2019

Played 22nd December as own course closed due to water logged and although some surface water and in bunkers the course and greens are largely bone dry! Wore white shoes and no mud to clean at the end. Greens still running well and very friendly staff in pro shop and bar.

3

Merseyside, Merseyside

18th November, 2019

Played here with Oak Tree Ince what a let down. I know it's winter golf but when I first enquired back in March I asked did they play of full Tees & greens yes came the reply having looked at their website it looked great I was not told that in winter they shorten the course using temp Tee,s.
The clubhouse shut at 4.00pm with some of the lads still out on the course having to get changed in the car park.
Poor Prenton
Steve ( Wigan)

3

Merseyside, Merseyside

18th November, 2019

Played here with Oak Tree Ince what a let down. I know it's winter golf but when I first enquired back in March I asked did they play of full Tees & greens yes came the reply having looked at their website it looked great I was not told that in winter they shorten the course using temp Tee,s.
The clubhouse shut at 4.00pm with some of the lads still out on the course having to get changed in the car park.
Poor Prenton
Steve ( Wigan)

7.4

Hustpierpoint, West Sussex

4th November, 2019

Great Course!

7.8

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Visited as day 2 of a weekend of golf. Unfortunately too late in the year to play the peninsula 9,so we were on the yellow and red 9. These however did not disappoint when it comes to stunning links golf views. From the very first hole, the course is a treat on the eyes. We played on dry but windy day, which made club selection and shot choice a challenge,but an enjoyable one.

Have to say I was disappointed by the greens, which had been hollotined and were very long and slow. Appreciate that all clubs have to do green work such hollowtining, but with the hollowtines not yet back filled and the grass very long on the greens, putting was a bit of a lottery at times. The course we'd played the day before in heavy showers had greens that were far more playable. The other disappointment was having 2 holes being on temporary greens with no mention of this from the pro shop.

The disappointment of the greens aside, the course was amazing and one I would definitely travel to visit, even without the peninsula 9,but most definitely with the peninsula 9 open if the pics are anything like reality.

The staff in the club house were very welcoming and the food we had afterwards was nice and hearty. Just what you need after a day of being blown about on the cliff tops.

7.8

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Considering the massive amount of rain we've had, this course held up amazingly well. First couple of holes are fairly bland but then rest of the front 9 are a great combination of testing holes with a great island green Par 3 in there. The back 9 is definitely more links like in the look and feel, with punishing gorse if you go offline, blind tees shots, some dunes and some stunning views (even on a bleek grey day like we had). Greens whilst soft in a few places cannot really be faulted considering the weather we've had and other courses already playing temporary greens. Would play again if I was in the area.

9.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played on 20th October as part of Bunkers Golf Society end of season trip. Upon driving up to this course I couldn't wait to get out and play. It is visually stunning and quite possibly the best looked after course I have ever played. Although two holes had temporary greens on the front nine it didn't stop this course being thoroughly enjoyable to play. It is a must visit for anybody who loves links golf. I will definitely be returning in the future.

9.2

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played this stunning course for the first time on our weekend away. The moment you arrive, you help but be taken in by the stunning views and being stood in the car park, you can not wait to unpack your clubs. The fairways were in fabulous condition for this time of the year, the bunkers had take the recent rains well. The greens were in good condition, but had been prep for the winter. there is 3 x 9 hole courses. we played the yellow and red, as the blue course gets closed from the beginning of October. The staff and members were very welcoming. I look forward to playing this course again next year, hopefully in the summer.

8.6

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Played this lovely course for the first time, its a good course, mix of parkland,heath land and links. We played it on a dull rainy day and despite the recent rains and rain on the day the course took it well. the facilities are good and the hospitality from the staff and members was excellent. The back 9 I think is better than the front 9, playing links golf and some excellent holes. I look forward to playing this golf course again and hopefully on a nice sunny day. Thank you porthmadog for having us.

9.6

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

22nd October, 2019

Best course iv ever played

9.4

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

21st October, 2019

Highly recommend

7.6

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

21st October, 2019

Fantastic Course

7.8

, Malaga

20th October, 2019

I have played La Cala a number of times now just an hours drive for me and this time was the Europa course. I booked tee off time no problems and was put in a group of course but the rest of the group did not turn up.

This was not a problem as I was first tee so I could go round at a fair pace.

Upon arrival your buggy is brought to you a bottle of water handed out and there is a call service for refreshments anytime.

The course itself is a great test of golf, narrow fairways, tough rough and cliff edge gorges mean you may need more than one ball.

You need to think and plan your way around this beautiful course, but as you are going take in the breathtaking beauty which surrounds you.

8

Poynton, Cheshire

20th September, 2019

Played the course, for the first time, on 19/9/19 in our Captain's 2nd away day. This is a very good layout and tree lined. There are a number of blind shots on this course. All par 3 holes are tough, even from the yellow tees. The course was in a soft condition. The greens are very tricky due to the underlations on them and borrows. However, the greens were variable in pace. This is a very nice course and all 36 of us had a very enjoyable day. Every member of the club we met during our stay were very friendly and made us very welcome. The staff were also friendly and very helpful. I will be returning here. This club is very well worth a visit.

8.2

Derby, Derbyshire

20th September, 2019

I played the course in a friendly on 16/9/19 and the course and greens were in very good condition. There had been half an inch of rain the night before which had softened both the fairways and greens. The greens were running at a medium pace. As is usual here we were made very welcome by both members and staff and the food was very good. Well worth a visit.

8.8

Stirling, Stirling

19th September, 2019

We enjoyed Stirling Golf Club during the month we stayed in town around the Solheim Cup event. The course is great - challenging holes, varying terrain and beautiful views abound. The trees on the course are varied and all so beautiful!! We ended up coming back for 5 days of golf in between trips to other courses out of the area and were never disappointed. My friend took a lesson with Kenny, the pro and it was first rate! Very quickly got to the bottom of the issue and gave great directions on how to fix it. We felt like this was our "home course" for the month and we loved every minute! The staff in the pro shop were extremely friendly and helpful, they made us feel very much a part of the club. It was such a great experience that we are already planning to come back. We can`t say enough about how pleased we were. If you are staying in or around Stirling, don`t miss playing the Stirling Golf Club!

8.2

St Helens, Merseyside

15th September, 2019

Played here with the swingers golf society on Friday 13th September, course was in excellent condition, with the greens especially in pristine condition. In my opinion the best I have played on this year. Good variety of holes, especially the par fours were each one has its own unique challenges. Excellent value with quality pretty much guaranteed.

8.2

Chesterfield, Derbyshire

13th September, 2019

I haven't played this course for a number of years but did so on 11/9/19 in a club friendly. The course was in very good condition as were the greens. The greens were running just over medium pace. The bunkers do need some work on them. There is a driving range. The food was very good and hospitality very good. This venue has improved a lot since I last visited. This is very good value golf for members and visitors.