Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

8.8

Weston-under-Redcastle, Shropshire

12th November, 2018

Visited hawkstone Park with bunkers golf society, played the two courses over the two days , the day started with a bacon and egg baget delicious ,then off on the first tee ,the championship course all set in beautiful parkland, the greens were fast and true, the falling leaves were a bit of a problem but what could you expect for mid November, I liked this course and would love to play it in the summer.The next day we played the other course , this was my favourite out of the two , spectacular veiws on this beautiful parkland course ,well laid out lovely fairways and the greens were in great condition, would definitely recommend these two top class courses We stayed and the hotel on the Saturday night, had a three course meal the food was delicious and the staff were warm a friendly, all in all a fabulous weekend with a great bunch of lads
Peter Woolley

8.2

Weston-under-Redcastle, Shropshire

12th November, 2018

Played both courses and was truly amazed. This is much better than carden park. The courses are beautiful and provide a real challenge. The greens are true and run fast (even after bad weather and being winter). The food is great and the rooms are well presented

7.6

Weston-under-Redcastle, Shropshire

12th November, 2018

I visited Hawkstone Park with friends from Bunkers Golf Society for our end of season Golf trip and Presentation of Awards Dinner.
We played The Championship course on Saturday, 10th November. Whilst there had been heavy rain across the country throughout the previous night, the course was relatively dry and the greens remained unexpectedly fast. There was evidence of some recent maintenance on the greens which did interfere with the smooth roll of putts but on the whole the course played well. I found my hotel room to be modern and comfortable and we were all made welcome and booked in quickly and courteously by the hotel's efficient reception staff.
After a fine dinner and following our presentation of awards ceremony, we spent the rest of the evening in the hotel bar where a wide selection of excellent beers, wines and gins was available - but at an average cost of almost £5 per pint it turned out for some to be quite an expensive evening!
On day two we played the Hawkstone Course. This was my own favourite of the two. It was very attractively designed with several beautifully created holes carving their way through the getly undulating Shropshire terrain. This being 11th of November, all players suspended play for two minutes at 11am. A nice touch too was the special hole flag at the eighteenth commemorating Armistice Day. (see photo)
I would like to return to this venue and play the courses in summer conditions.

8.6

, Spain

7th November, 2018

A simply must play golf course in the area. The course is a fantastic layout, lots of variety in the design. Very easy on the eye, relatively forgiving but still a test of golf.

Very enjoyable golf course, friendly bar/food area, hard to fault in any way

8.8

Worksop, Nottinghamshire

19th October, 2018

Played the course on 18/10/18 in our Captain"s autumn away day. We were a party of 32 and were made very welcome by the professional, members and staff. The food was excellent and service very good. The fairways had bare areas which were obviously the result of the very hot summer but were all playable. All the fairways had been reseeded to address the problem for next season. The greens were in very good condition and fairly quick. It is many years since I last played here and hope to return soon.

7.4

Bolton, Lancashire

18th October, 2018

I played here with Bunkers Golf society on 14th October 2018 and play off 9hcp.

Bolton is a lovely layout and no doubt it is a great course. However, just through pure chance, I have played it twice now in or after poor weather and towards the beginning or end of the golfing season. Thats not a fair way to review the course as I'm obviously never going to see anywhere in its prime.

That being said, I have to review it honestly based on my visit. The greens were slow and hollow tined [nothing can be done about this in October] but I can see that they are well cared for and would be lovely in the prime months.

The course is interesting and is a great mixture of holes to suit all styles and abilities of golfer. I would recommend a visit to anyone in the area and the club are very warm and welcoming of guests and societies. Get down there and see for yourself.

7.6

Bolton, Lancashire

18th October, 2018

Bolton was a club we last visited in 2016 and we were unlucky enough to catch it on a horrendous day of heavy rain and strong winds. Despite this, members could see the potential in the course and we had been wanting to return as a group again to cast our eyes over it in better conditions. However, the UK weather being.....well, just that, meant that we came the day after yet another storm and despite being warned for heavy rain we were lucky enough to avoid the worst of it.

The course is quite a hilly track with the majority of the course being played with the ball above or below your feet - depending on which way you are heading. This proves a good test of golf as you need to adjust your game accordingly. However, it should be noted that its a fair walk for anyone of poorer mobility.

The greens had been hollow tined a week or two prior to our visit - so once again, we couldn't see them in their absolute prime [they are hand cut to STRi guidance in the summer months] but we accepted this may be the case when we booked to play in mid October. That being said, you could see the quality of the greens and drainage was superb given the heavy downpour the night before - they just rolled a little uneven and much slower that we suspect they would do a couple of months earlier.

The tee boxes were all flat and well tendered and the bunkers for the most part were well stocked with only the odd couple being a bit compacted and clay-like due to the rainfall.

The course itself is a lovely layout of 18 holes - none of which appear to be similar - which is always nice. There are holes that suit the bigger hitters but the majority of the course is designed to reward accuracy off the tee and game management. Its well kept and maintained and is a pleasure on the eye.

The day cost us £30 for golf only at 11am on a Sunday morning - which we thought was fair value without being exceptional and the food in the clubhouse that we paid for additionally was tasty, plentiful and served by attentive and pleasant staff.

All in all, Bolton Golf Club is somewhere we would like to return to once again - and hopefully, next time, in the middle of the summer on a gloriously sunny day [here's hoping!]

7.8

Belton, Lincolnshire

17th October, 2018

This is the more challenging of the two courses mainly because of the many encounters with water. Greens were nice and soft but equally covered in unrepaired pitchmarks which was disappointing. The course is not excessively long and is a great test of golf. You really need to know your yardages. Lots of leaves particularly in the open ditches made losing a ball very easy even without the water. Again a very slow round not helped by the leaves.

7.4

Belton, Lincolnshire

17th October, 2018

The Woods Course at Belton Woods is set with 9 holes each side of the Lakes Course. Each 9 goes out and back to the Hotel. There are lots of good golf holes, interesting, very playable, good variety. the greens were receptive but heavy marked with pitchmarks and our round stretched to over 5 hours on the Sunday. But a good course with a good finish.

7.4

Bolton, Lancashire

15th October, 2018

Great course layout with different shaped holes, (shame only 1 par 5) blind tees and some fairways on slopes means you need to think your way around rather than just whack driver off every tee. Course is decent condition considering awful weather few days prior and on morning of play, no real soggy patches or standing water.

Only let down was the greens. They had recently been hollow tined, but not all holes filled and grass was very long meaning putts where very bobbly and greens unreasonablely slow.

Would like to revisit in summer months when greens in better condition.

7.6

Bolton, Lancashire

15th October, 2018

Bunkers Golf Society 14th Oct

7.8

Bolton, Lancashire

15th October, 2018

Very good hilly layout

8.4

Huyton, Merseyside

15th October, 2018

Very nice traditional course

7.8

Bolton, Lancashire

15th October, 2018

Bunkers Golf Society
Our last event of the year held at Bolton Golf Club... great club set up in the hills. Great layout with some tough holes. Enjoyed playing the course, it was unfortunate that recently the greens had aeriation holes applied so putting was somewhat tricky. Would love to play the course in the summer months. Great value and well worth a try.

Martay (19 Hcp)

9.6

Bolton, Lancashire

15th October, 2018

Visited Bolton golf coarse with bunkers golf society , I loved this course, well layed out beautiful parkland setting lovely fairways, the greens were a bit slow a bobbly but I think it is October and the greens staff are getting the greens ready for winter, the staff opened the kitchen early for us and the breakfast was delicious, the staff were warm and friendly, the practice area was excellent, all in all a great day on a fabulous course, would definitely recommend
Peter Woolley
Bunkers golf society

8.2

Huyton, Merseyside

11th October, 2018

This is a lovely tight course. The Greens and Fairways are in great condition for this time of year, a great credit to the ground staff. I look forward to returning to this course soon.

8.2

Huyton, Merseyside

11th October, 2018

This is a lovely tight course. The Greens and Fairways are in great condition for this time of year, a great credit to the ground staff. I look forward to returning to this course soon.

9

, Spain

10th October, 2018

If you looking to book a golf trip abroad then look no further than Lumine. Reasons for 1) Only 15 minute transfer from Rues airport 2) The quality of courses that you are getting for the cost will not be matched, this is where final stage of Euro Q School is held! 3) The Welcome you get from all the staff makes you feel like the most important golfer to them for the few days! 4)The weather will be good 5) The quality of clubhouses, food, wine, practice facilities are again of a very high standard, but if you don't believe me just check the courses out on Rick Sheils youtube channel!
We played The Ruins course on day 1, its a lovely 9 hole course that makes you think because driver is very risk and reward. I would say leave the driver in the bag and hit it where you can see it. The condition of the course was excellent and some of the greens were very tricky if above the hole, the 8th hole has a bunker in the middle of the green and water on the right so its danger everywhere!
Day 2 we played the Lakes course which has the feel of a championship course to it, fairways are long and wide but the ball will travel because of the warm air. As the name suggests there is alot of water in play here but you can still score nicely by knowing your limits. The greens are large and some of the best ive ever putted on. Andy the pro there said around September time is a very nice time to play at Lumine as its not as hot and the grass/plants get more of there green colour back. Both the Lakes and Ruins courses use the same clubhouse and practice facilities, also Andys teaching studio is based here. Very well stocked pro shop, locker room is 10/10 and if you feel like it you can have an outside shower too! Lovely food and the whole place is very well maintained
Day 3 we played the Hills course and for me the best course of the 3 here with possibly some of the nicest golf holes ive ever played or seen. The Hills(just a 5minute drive from The Lakes and Ruins) has its own new clubhouse with even a gym, excellent driving range and possibly one of best views over any 18th finishing hole in the world(have a look at my pictures). Food/drink/locker all again super and the views are exceptional. The course itself is a parkland feel that roles with the hills and you feel all alone on it at times because the holes are also enclosed by trees. The course is very well maintained and has some of the best holes on the back 9 of any course anywhere, a few green are built into old quarries even! its a very playable course for all levels and one that you will really enjoy. Don't leave without grabbing a drink while looking out over the 18th! Lumine is a must play!

8.4

, Spain

10th October, 2018

Bonmount was booked as part of five day trip to mainly to play the courses at Lumine Golf Resort. We weren't sure what to expect from Bonmont because not many people we knew had ever played it but we all felt it was the best course by far of the trip! When you drive in the entrance and see the villas that surround it then it sets the tone for what to expect from the course. I took a photo of nearly every hole and uploaded them but again all of us were in agreement that there isn't a bad hole on the course. It does test your golf but is also very fair once you play the shot you can see rather than hero shots! Some of the par 3's at Bonmount are the best you will ever play and the par 3 16th one would forgiven for thinking you were playing in the Canadian mountains rather than Spain! Condition and maintenance of the course was excellent with lovely quick rolling greens. Locker rooms are very modern and the club house itself is a stunning looking building when looking back from the 10th fairway at it. We definitely would go back to play Bonmont again and one to not miss if your in the area.

8.8

,

10th October, 2018

Played the Ocean course Friday 20/07/18 and having previously played the Royal course I knew the quality of maintenance would of the same high standard. My tee time was 07.15 so i decided to walk and carry again but same advice as outlined above i. e if playing in the summer with a tee time after 11am then hire a buggy as it will make the round a lot more enjoyable. The opening hole par 4 eases you into the round with a downhill tee shot and wide enough fairway(For the Ocean and Royal courses my advice would be to buy a stroke saver €5 per course as there is great advice for each hole). The first 7 holes allow for tee shots to be slightly off line as there is good room, if going for the par5 3rd hole in two then make sure you can carry the water as there is no room for error. For me The ocean course really gets going from holes 8 to 18 with 9th hole being a stunning par4, a 4 or 5 iron will do off the tee leaving a 2nd up hill shot to a green that slopes back towards you with a lovely mini waterfalls on you left! On the back 9 Ocean views come into play and on a blue sky day with clear blue sea in front of you then i reckon your in golf heaven! The par3 15th runs along the beach line but don't get lost in the views because this is not an easy par3 by any means!

If you haven't played Vale do Lobo my advice is to put it on the must play list and to play both courses there don't pick because they are both excellent. Loved it there and check out my instagram marksheehan07 for more photos and videos of the courses.

8.8

, Portugal

10th October, 2018

My first round of golf in Portugal was at Vale do Lobo on the Royal course and what a course to start on! From the moment you drive in the gate you see the quality of the upkeep of the property and you get a feeling the courses are going to be excellent! The club house is of a very high standard with a very friendly welcome, a very well stocked clubhouse, modern and spacious locker rooms. Spikes bar has a wide ranging menu where there is something for everyone. In the bar itself the seating is of a high quality and also there is a snooker table. There is the option of inside or outside seating which overlook the well maintained large putting green. I enjoyed a lovely cappuccino after my rounds and took in the lovely atmosphere, the bar is popular with non golfers also which is also a good sign. There is on site gym as well that can to be used if staying in local area.

The Royal Course starts with a nice par 5 where a straight drive is needed! The fairways are tree lined and even if your off line you will find your ball and will have a shot. For me I don't think there is a bad hole on the Royal course added to high standard of course maintenance(as can be seen by my photos) means its a very enjoyable round of golf. I walked the course while carrying and played it early morning which meant i escaped the heat. If your playing it after 11am in summer time my advice would be get a buggy. Everyone that thinks of golf in Portugal will have a picture of the world famous par 3 16th and its always at the back of the mind playing the holes before it! However don't under estimate the stunning beauty of the 15th hole, get your drive in the fairway and your playing your second shot to a green which seems to float out to the ocean. Back to the 16th its was a 193 yard carry into the wind for me that day and I just about made it with a flat out 3hybrid, the sense of relief is great because you most certainly can't be left or short! I loved The Royal course its a must play.

7.2

Huyton, Merseyside

9th October, 2018

Nice little course with some very interesting holes that require thought off the tee. Not a long course but still challenging with oob or ditches meaning you can't simply spray your shots and be ok, which is a good equaliser.

8.6

Huyton, Merseyside

9th October, 2018

Played in October 2018 with the Bunkers GS.. what a great track, tricky/tight and interesting layout with a number of dog leg holes that you’ll want to play again.. condition of the course was superb for the time of the year. The fairways were firm and kept in good condition, with the greens true and well maintained. If you are a local society looking for a good value/challenging course, make sure Huyton and Prescott is on your list!

8.8

Huyton, Merseyside

9th October, 2018

Lovely course, superb greens

8.4

Huyton, Merseyside

9th October, 2018

I visited on a Sunday in October. I have not visited Huyton for a few years so post round I was pleased with how much I enjoyed the course and wondered why I don’t come more often.

The greens were smooth and quick for the time of year and the undulations and slopes made them pretty tricky.

The tee boxes were really good, the fairways well cut and rough not too long.

I like the layout of the course. There are a couple of tricky doglegs and even the straighter par 4’s are broken up with natural hazards, slopes or trees.

The clubhouse seems to have been refurbished since my last visit and it is very pleasant. Staff were friendly and food I had was good.

Huyton and Prescot is a good local course that I hope to return to soon.

9.2

Preston, Lancashire

1st October, 2018

we visited this course as part of a society group and we all had a great day's golf with an excellent package of food and hospitality on offer. The greens are in excellent condition and I would recommend anyone to consider this testing parklands course as a suitable venue for your golfing day out.

8.4

Derby, Derbyshire

25th September, 2018

I played the course on 24/9/18 in a club friendly match. The fairways were green and had no damage as a result of the very hot summer. The greens were very good, true and the pace good. I can honestly write that the course is in the best condition I have played it. The welcome, as is usual here, from the members and all staff was excellent. The food and service was also very good. Well worth a visit.

8.8

Stamford, Rutland

25th September, 2018

I played this course in their anniversary celebration with a free round entering their stableford competition. My youngest son also came as my caddy....The range is nice and spacious but a little odd in that the range field has quite a dip in the centre so its was difficult to gauge how well (or badly) it was hitting it. The course was very dry but the tee boxes and greens were in great condition given how busy the course had been that weekend. Its quite a testing layout with some very slopey greens and plenty of fescue and out of bounds. The long par 3's in particular was very hard on the day I played as it was quite windy and the greens are wide but very narrow, so keeping it on the green was tough. It is a course I will definitely want to play again and my son and I were made to feel very welcome by the club staff and members who laid on a great weekend.

4.8

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire

25th September, 2018

With the Abbotsley course being closed for some time and no sign of it re-opening, together with the hotel looking very empty (if not also closed) this club and course is not looking in good shape. I played the Cromwell course which is ok, but not as good as the Abbotsley 18. Their website is also woefully out of date as they no longer own the range (which is a tip) and the short par 3 course. Sorry to say, but other courses in the area such as St Ives, Cambridge Meridian and Bourn are so much better....

9.4

St Ives, Cambridgeshire

25th September, 2018

I'm fairly close to this course, but not a member. Every time I play it just gets better. The course is maturing really nicely and the greens are very well looked after. The clubhouse staff, pro shop and the Titleist staff at the range are all very friendly and helpful. This is a very good value course and even if it isn't too windy it is a testing course, and probably one of very few true inland links courses. Great course, nice staff and I will definitely return. One of the best things about this club is that it doesn't feel like I'm an outsider playing their course, its very inclusive. Even the club pro asked me nicely if he could take over a portion of the practice putting area for a ladies teach in, which was particularly nice to see.