Twitter logo YouTube logo Facebook logo

Discover, book, play, review

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

7.6

Rhyl, Denbighshire

19th November, 2017

Tried this course again after a poor experience last year. Well what a difference. Greens much improved after problems with disease last year, still a little bit more to do,now in much better condition. Tee box improved and now being worked on so temporary tees in use but no issue there. 9th and 17th the most testing holes into the wind and Par 3 3rd hole a challenge. Friendly welcome at the Pro shop and nice clubhouse, glad I went back and worth a visit.

8.2

Barnet, Greater London

15th November, 2017

I played this course on a very windy October day. It really is quite exposed in some areas and the wind was the biggest challenge after the fast greens and some insane pin placements....It was in great condition even though it had rained heavily overnight. The range really lets the other practice facilities down. At the price you pay for a round, range balls should be complimentary (as is the Grove and Centurion). The greens were lightening quick and if you are not a fan of water then this course layout won't be for you. It is a proper competition course and can be very penal with loads of water, tiered greens, minimal rough and plenty of fescue heavy rough. I do like a challenging course, but this course can really beat you up!! I would still love to play it again as it really is quite a unique layout. Nice to see that the owner is continuing to develop and improve the course

9

Colmworth, Bedfordshire

15th November, 2017

I played this course on 10 November. What a great course. The design is really interesting with plenty of elevated tees and they have used the lay of the land really well by using lakes etc. The greens were particularly good, very even and true and still quick for November. I would definitely return to play it again. The clubhouse was very friendly with a great coffee shop and the staff were very helpful. The range was also good value at just £2.50 for 50 balls, but it is a little small. Overall though, a great course only 30 minutes from me and well worth a visit.

9

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire

15th November, 2017

I always find this a challenging but fair test. plays longer than its yardage with the many hills seemingly working against you. The professional staff are excellent which is in keeping with the greens. I just hope one day I actually play well around here. The 11th is tricky as the camber makes it difficult to hold the fairway but it is a short risk/reward hole so even if you miss it,the green is in reach.

8.8

Liphook, Hampshire

15th November, 2017

Played course twice and stayed in hotel in a very reasonable deal. The course is beautiful with some amazing views and a wide variety of style of holes. The feature hole 5th is stunning but the course is not just about that one view. Very enjoyable to play and will definitely play again. It is a tough walking course with several severe hills to traverse but hey we all need the exercise. The food available in the hotel was plentiful and a wide choice on offer with the buffet but I found the beef to be disappointing but this was my only gripe in a very enjoyable stay. Definitely a course I would recommend and reminds me of druids glen in Ireland.

9

Meriden , West Midlands

8th November, 2017

Top courses!

8.2

Meriden , West Midlands

30th October, 2017

Superb course a must play!!

5.8

Conwy, Conwy

22nd October, 2017

Good for winter golf

5.4

Conwy, Conwy

21st October, 2017

Played as part of our winter outing. Were welcomed by the proshop which was good and we had a light lunch before going out which was also good. Practice range was out of action but there was a net. One of our party had played here many years ago and said it would be very challenging. However, based on the old stroke saver that he had kept he said there were 12 bunkers that had been filled in over the years. There is also no rough to speak of and it looks as if there is gorse clearance exercise going on. All in all it looks quite untidy. The greens were okay for the time of year but having played Prestatyn and Abergele on the previous days which were both in much better condition we felt somewhat cheated as we expected the course to be a step up. On the plus side the four of us all played under our handicaps despite some very errant drives so at least we felt good about that.

8.6

Sale, Greater Manchester

20th October, 2017

Visited on 16th Oct as part of Bunkers Golf Society final round before our end of season do. Being last in the calendar, weather was always going to play a big part in how the course played. Even with a lot of rain in the week leading up to the round, the course has held up well. Yes there were a few areas of standing water or soggy patches, but i wouldn't let that put me off visiting Sale in kinder times of the year weather wise.

Practice nets, putting green and short grass range are all a stones throw from the club house and next to the first tee, which is always handy. Pro shop and catering staff all polite and friendly.

Greens were in bad need of an iron and or cut, but you could feel how soft they were under feet and as such no chance the club could get machinery on them, so i wouldn't hold that against them. The course layout is varied, providing a range of holes to suit all golfers, with some green s small and needing accurate approach.

We had a couple of temporary greens on our visit, which while disappointing ( as i played the course the week before for a reduced green fee with no temp greens) can be expected with parkland) courses at this time of year. I think it would be a nice gesture if clubs offered society groups a token gesture such as a pint / coffee post round if there are temp greens. Also i think pro shops should give players an idea of how short the temp greens are from regular greens as not all players carry lasers.

All in all impressions of Sale were positive and like other members of Bunkers i spoke to, would like to visit again in summer months.

7.6

Sale, Greater Manchester

19th October, 2017

Played here after some recent poor weather. The course took the heavy rain very well. The fairways were in good condition with some casual water in places, but this was to be expected. Some greens had been prepared for next season, these greens where very bumpy, other greens where fine. Two holes where on temporary greens, that were poor. The bunkers were in good condition. The members were welcoming. I look forward to playing it next year in better condition.

7.4

Sale, Greater Manchester

19th October, 2017

I played here with Bunkers Golf Society on 15/10/2017 and I play off a handicap of 10.

Sale GC is a nice set up with a lovely layout and some really interesting aspects to the 18 holes.
To be fair, the weather in the build up to our visit wasn't kind and it also need to be considered that we were visiting towards the end of the golfing season. So this can't be a wholly accurate reflection of how the course would play all year.

On our visit the greens weren't at their best - some were very uneven and the roll was guesswork rather than skill. I put this down to the weather before the visit and that the ground staff must have been limited to what work they could do - we were also on two temp greens. However, it was not a car of the greens being poorly maintained and this was obvious as the course was well manicured and pleasing on the eye.

I would definitely want to go back and retry Sale and see if this was just a one of anomaly due to the adverse weather.

The day was a fair price at £30 for golf only on a Sunday morning but I would put it more in the £20-£25 bracket - especially in the condition we found it. But the club house was competitively priced, well stocked and the food was well prepared and went down well.

7.6

Sale, Greater Manchester

19th October, 2017

We played here on 15th October 2017 following a few days of poor weather.

To be fair, the course held up quite well with very little standing water and was in a good condition. However, we were playing on 2 temps and the greens were varying paces and quality - we assume as they were unable to be rolled due to the weather. Some were a bit soggy under foot and rolled bobbly and slow, whereas others were drier and rolled much quicker. There were also a few that were hollotined - which is expected at this time of yea. As a result, we are trying to be fair with the scoring on the greens as its possible to see that they would be lovely in better conditions.

That said, Sale GC is a lovely track and you can see that in the summer months it would be a really great days golf. There is a little bit of everything here with holes to suit the longer hitters, but also plenty of 'thinking' holes that require good course management over brute strength.

The club house was nice and all the staff were pleasant and chatty - along with the members. Food was tasty and well priced and the general costs of the day and the clubhouse were very competitive.

In summary, Sale would be a club to definitely resist for us and one that we'd like to do a touch earlier in the year.

7.8

Broxton, Cheshire

16th October, 2017

Stayed here in Mid October for a 2 day society event.
We played the Cheshire course both days. Very impressed with the setup, from a great clubhouse and facilities to the actual course itself.
Play wasnt slow at any point which is a surpirse at these kind of venues. The course itself was in great condition considering the wonderful wet summer we've had. The greens fast and true. The only slight downer was the bunkers and the fact they didnt seem to have been raked in a few days. I had a couple of incidents where the ball stayed on the side of the bunker rather than rolling back to the bottom.
One other slight downer for me was the price of drinks. £3.20 for a blackcurrant and lemonade is more than double what it should be. Absolutely no need to rip off customers like that.
Other than that would highly recommend the course and im sure we will be back soon.

6.4

Shevington, Greater Manchester

14th October, 2017

Not great at the moment

7.8

Conwy, Conwy

14th October, 2017

Bunkers Member Great course PLAY!!

7.8

llandudno, Conwy

14th October, 2017

Bunkers Member Great course a must for all society golfers & cou

7

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

14th October, 2017

brilliant back 9 holes

7.8

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

14th October, 2017

Bunkers Member Great course PLAY!!

8.4

Grantham, Lincolnshire

11th October, 2017

Played the course on 28/9/17 when our course was closed for a charity golf day. 12 of us visited. We had had alot of rain prior to our visit but the course was very good and greens soft but a good speed. If you like wildlife this is a great place to visit. We were made very welcome by all staff, pro shop and members. The food is very good and at a very reasonable price. Promise that this is worth a visit.

8.4

Sale, Greater Manchester

8th October, 2017

We played this beginning of October and enjoyed it loads considering it had rained all week all greens was in play and the course ran well an true.
Highly recommended be back to play in the summer for sure
Lovely layout one of the best this year

7.2

Runcorn, Cheshire

8th October, 2017

Had a society outing here and had a great day all round. A short but testing course with very tight tree lined fairways on both holes so accuracy is key from the tee. Some very nice holes and nice greens. Staff were welcoming from the moment we arrived to the moment we left

7.6

Sale, Greater Manchester

8th October, 2017

Played here on 1/10/17 with swingers golf society and thought very highly of the course. Even with the amount of rain in the week before the course was in great condition, the greens had been spiked for drainage but still had a great roll. The course layout was really good and I can't wait to play this course in the middle of summer. The swingers Will definitely be back again. :-)

8

Ascot, Berkshire

7th October, 2017

Played as part of club match rota, and even when playi mid-Autumn and with tined and sanded greens we were still impressed by the speed and roll of the greens. Wonderful to find such a gem in good condition.

Some lovely holes with plenty of variety for draw and fade shots. Worth playing for practise, as some holes can be strategic off the tee and approach for one side is better than the other.

Bunkers played well, I visited enough for my sample size to be high!

Only two downsides for me was the tee location for 1st is not particularly obvious (look out for the signage), and same for practise facilities, unless you notice them on the drive in then you might not realise they are there! Secondly the race course can be noisy, plus road traffic, of course if no race events are on then it's probably much quieter but was very loud on the day we played.

Food was wonderful and would happily play again. Thanks!

8.2

Rochdale, Greater Manchester

5th October, 2017

Rochdale Golf Club Society Visit
On arrival at Rochdale Golf Club, you realise security is taken seriously, with the gated car park and coded clubhouse at each access. The Clubhouse was modern and ‘well designed’, with the Bar upstairs, new facilities and fantastic views of the course. The reception was welcoming, with a good sized and well stocked ‘Pro Shop’. The weather on the day we played was dry in the morning, and wet in the afternoon, which was not draining off the course, as well as we would have liked.
The lay-out of the course was good with water hazards and bunkers positioned such that the average player has to consider the placing of each shot. The course was ‘Relatively easy to follow’, with signs directing you to the next tee’s. Unfortunately if only playing 9 Holes, (as we did in the morning), the 9th Green is some way from the Club House. ‘Course Planner’s’ are not available.
The Tees were in great condition, with ball cleaners and bins. The fairways were good, well prepared and cut with ‘Run-on’ as good as can be expected for this time of the year. The rough was cut to a good length, so on any wayward shots you could find your ball. (I did not lose any balls)
The greens were in great condition, well placed and very picturesque with medium/fast speed and not too difficult to predict.
The Lunch and dinner meals were excellent, with the Chef ensuring individuals were accommodated for as regards diet and quirks.
It was generally considered that the course in general was a ‘Great Course’ and I would definitely like to revisit and hopefully improve my score!

8.6

Helsby, Cheshire

3rd October, 2017

Played in an Open event at Helsby on Sunday 1st October 2017. We have played in this event for the last couple of years and as always were given a warm welcome. The Course is fairly flat and relatively easy to walk. A lot of recent rain had left some parts of the Course very wet but it did not really spoil the day. The Greens were giving a decent roll and all areas were well maintained. We will definitely return again and I would recommend this Course, especially during Summer months.

7.2

Shevington, Greater Manchester

2nd October, 2017

I played Gathurst GC as part of Bunkers Golf Society on 29th September 2017 and I play off a handicap of 10.

I must say from the outset that I have played Gathurst many times over the years and have been friends with many members - and I have always historically found the club to be a great 3 season golf course - with the odd winter struggle. It has always had some of the finest greens in West Lancashire and has been one of the best maintained 18 holes in the area.

However, it pains me to have to leave the following review but I am a firm believer in honest and constructive feedback - for fellow golfers, but more importantly the club themselves.

I have played Gathurst GC several times from April to September in 2017 as we have held our marquee society competition at the club called "Last Man Standing". I have played in a variety of weather [both on the day and the build up to matches] and have played at varying points through the spring, summer and autumn to be able to provide a solid review of the course this season....and in all honesty, its been disappointing.

The main issue has been the greens. They have fallen considerably in standard - and despite numerous varying explanations for this, I am unsure as to what the main reason is for this. The lower part of the course has had fully redesigned greens that are now formed to cope better in the wet, winter months. However, all of them are bare, over sanded, uneven and in a really poor condition. They are unplayable at times and its a case of luck rather than skill to get the ball in the hole. Several greens have also suffered from some form of disease that has seen patches of poor grass growth and some kind of moss to have developed. When we played on this latest visit, there were a couple of holes with golf ball sized holes in the green - that looked like pitch marks until you walked up to them and saw they were indeed just holes. Its saddening that the club is suffering from these problems as the course has always been host to some supreme greens that are slick and true in the peak of the summer.

The course also appeared a bit scruffy in parts with bare, stone filled bunkers in places, eleven tee boxes and areas of heavily trodden pathways and walk off areas [that should be roped off/closed during poorer weather to preserve the quality of the course]. On this particular visit, the weather in the 48 hours prior had been horrendous and the course was sodden. This was then compounded by a 15 minute deluge as we waited to begin and in brutal honesty, it should have been closed as it was unplayable. The weather is totally out of the control of the club, but the management and preservation of the course during periods of poor weather is not.
The tee boxes were waterlogged and unplayable and most of the ground was subjected to casual water.

The golfing aside, the club have always been superbly welcoming and friendly - and this visit was no different. All the staff are polite, chatty and warm and cannot do enough to help.

The food on this visit was superb, with a large helping of sandwiches and chips prior to play - followed by a lovely two course meal that filled everyone up. The cost of the day and the price in the clubhouse are very competitive and Gathurst GC offers great value for any visiting parties.

In summary, its been a disappointing summer at the club - and they are well aware of this without having to read this review. I am sure that they are as disappointed as the members and visitors are, and will be working hard to get things back to the `usual standards`. However, it probably won`t be a club I will go back to until I hear that these things are done. Sadly.

6.8

Shevington, Greater Manchester

30th September, 2017

Let me say from the outset that I have played the course at Gathurst many times previously and have always found it to be in good to excellent condition depending on recent weather. I have known it to hold water during prolonged wet spells and have also played it when the greens were amongst the best in the region....
That said the course I played yesterday with Bunkers Golf Society was very disappointing.
Yes, there had been heavy rain during the previous night and we had a fifteen minute deluge just prior to our tee time...but in truth the course was pretty awful.
Tee boxes were sodden with many holding surface water. Greens were not really any better and apart from being waterlogged, were lumpy, sandy and wholly unsatisfactory - making putting a complete lottery.
The welcome we received from Barbara the Club Secretary and her team was warm and friendly and the catering team led by Chef Dave and supported by Mike was amongst the best we've had this season.
The club could not have done more to assist us in staging our inaugural Charity Night, where again the food supplied was delicious, plentiful and very reasonably priced.
The club has invested heavily in its course during recent months and perhaps it will take some time before the fruits of their labour and spending become more evident in its condition. We shall see.
It grieves me that I am unable to be more positive about this picturesque track, but the strength of this website is the honesty of golfers' reviews.

9.2

Rochdale, Greater Manchester

28th September, 2017

An excellent day which was only spoiled a little by the very soft conditions from previous heavy rainfall during the week. Despite that a thoroughly enjoyable experience with hospitality second to none and a very warm welcome. We will definitely be back!!

8

Rochdale, Greater Manchester

28th September, 2017

CSCG Review