Twitter logo YouTube logo Facebook logo

Discover, book, play, review

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

8.2

Brampton, Cambridgeshire

18th February, 2018

Brampton park golf course is a very challenging parkland course lined with trees and ditches and ponds which come into play on almost every hole , the signature 4th hole par 3 is a real test with water surrounding the green I think it was classed as the hardest par 3 in the country , we played in February all greens in play and in great condition, I'm looking forward to returning in the summer defiantly worth a visit

7.4

Dartford, Kent

14th February, 2018

Not a good start forgot battery and for a hilly course, pro shop could do with having electric trolleys for hire. Wide fairways and good greens made a nice winters day round. Watch out if you book online will be paired up with someone. Clubhouse quite nice and food OK if not a bit expensive.
Made my birthday a nice day and will look to play in the summer.

8.4

Woking, Surrey

14th February, 2018

Overall the course was OK, a few wet tees. Lots of changes. Need to reposition shoe cleaner or put in on concrete as you clean shoes just to get dirt on them again.
Staff in clubhouse really good and helpful.

8.6

Woking, Surrey

14th February, 2018

Not bad for winter

8

Rainford,

15th January, 2018

Greens a lot better

7.6

Rhyl, Denbighshire

19th November, 2017

Tried this course again after a poor experience last year. Well what a difference. Greens much improved after problems with disease last year, still a little bit more to do,now in much better condition. Tee box improved and now being worked on so temporary tees in use but no issue there. 9th and 17th the most testing holes into the wind and Par 3 3rd hole a challenge. Friendly welcome at the Pro shop and nice clubhouse, glad I went back and worth a visit.

8.2

Barnet, Greater London

15th November, 2017

I played this course on a very windy October day. It really is quite exposed in some areas and the wind was the biggest challenge after the fast greens and some insane pin placements....It was in great condition even though it had rained heavily overnight. The range really lets the other practice facilities down. At the price you pay for a round, range balls should be complimentary (as is the Grove and Centurion). The greens were lightening quick and if you are not a fan of water then this course layout won't be for you. It is a proper competition course and can be very penal with loads of water, tiered greens, minimal rough and plenty of fescue heavy rough. I do like a challenging course, but this course can really beat you up!! I would still love to play it again as it really is quite a unique layout. Nice to see that the owner is continuing to develop and improve the course

9

Colmworth, Bedfordshire

15th November, 2017

I played this course on 10 November. What a great course. The design is really interesting with plenty of elevated tees and they have used the lay of the land really well by using lakes etc. The greens were particularly good, very even and true and still quick for November. I would definitely return to play it again. The clubhouse was very friendly with a great coffee shop and the staff were very helpful. The range was also good value at just £2.50 for 50 balls, but it is a little small. Overall though, a great course only 30 minutes from me and well worth a visit.

9

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire

15th November, 2017

I always find this a challenging but fair test. plays longer than its yardage with the many hills seemingly working against you. The professional staff are excellent which is in keeping with the greens. I just hope one day I actually play well around here. The 11th is tricky as the camber makes it difficult to hold the fairway but it is a short risk/reward hole so even if you miss it,the green is in reach.

8.8

Liphook, Hampshire

15th November, 2017

Played course twice and stayed in hotel in a very reasonable deal. The course is beautiful with some amazing views and a wide variety of style of holes. The feature hole 5th is stunning but the course is not just about that one view. Very enjoyable to play and will definitely play again. It is a tough walking course with several severe hills to traverse but hey we all need the exercise. The food available in the hotel was plentiful and a wide choice on offer with the buffet but I found the beef to be disappointing but this was my only gripe in a very enjoyable stay. Definitely a course I would recommend and reminds me of druids glen in Ireland.

9

Meriden , West Midlands

8th November, 2017

Top courses!

8.2

Meriden , West Midlands

30th October, 2017

Superb course a must play!!

5.8

Conwy, Conwy

22nd October, 2017

Good for winter golf

5.4

Conwy, Conwy

21st October, 2017

Played as part of our winter outing. Were welcomed by the proshop which was good and we had a light lunch before going out which was also good. Practice range was out of action but there was a net. One of our party had played here many years ago and said it would be very challenging. However, based on the old stroke saver that he had kept he said there were 12 bunkers that had been filled in over the years. There is also no rough to speak of and it looks as if there is gorse clearance exercise going on. All in all it looks quite untidy. The greens were okay for the time of year but having played Prestatyn and Abergele on the previous days which were both in much better condition we felt somewhat cheated as we expected the course to be a step up. On the plus side the four of us all played under our handicaps despite some very errant drives so at least we felt good about that.

8.6

Sale, Greater Manchester

20th October, 2017

Visited on 16th Oct as part of Bunkers Golf Society final round before our end of season do. Being last in the calendar, weather was always going to play a big part in how the course played. Even with a lot of rain in the week leading up to the round, the course has held up well. Yes there were a few areas of standing water or soggy patches, but i wouldn't let that put me off visiting Sale in kinder times of the year weather wise.

Practice nets, putting green and short grass range are all a stones throw from the club house and next to the first tee, which is always handy. Pro shop and catering staff all polite and friendly.

Greens were in bad need of an iron and or cut, but you could feel how soft they were under feet and as such no chance the club could get machinery on them, so i wouldn't hold that against them. The course layout is varied, providing a range of holes to suit all golfers, with some green s small and needing accurate approach.

We had a couple of temporary greens on our visit, which while disappointing ( as i played the course the week before for a reduced green fee with no temp greens) can be expected with parkland) courses at this time of year. I think it would be a nice gesture if clubs offered society groups a token gesture such as a pint / coffee post round if there are temp greens. Also i think pro shops should give players an idea of how short the temp greens are from regular greens as not all players carry lasers.

All in all impressions of Sale were positive and like other members of Bunkers i spoke to, would like to visit again in summer months.

7.6

Sale, Greater Manchester

19th October, 2017

Played here after some recent poor weather. The course took the heavy rain very well. The fairways were in good condition with some casual water in places, but this was to be expected. Some greens had been prepared for next season, these greens where very bumpy, other greens where fine. Two holes where on temporary greens, that were poor. The bunkers were in good condition. The members were welcoming. I look forward to playing it next year in better condition.

7.4

Sale, Greater Manchester

19th October, 2017

I played here with Bunkers Golf Society on 15/10/2017 and I play off a handicap of 10.

Sale GC is a nice set up with a lovely layout and some really interesting aspects to the 18 holes.
To be fair, the weather in the build up to our visit wasn't kind and it also need to be considered that we were visiting towards the end of the golfing season. So this can't be a wholly accurate reflection of how the course would play all year.

On our visit the greens weren't at their best - some were very uneven and the roll was guesswork rather than skill. I put this down to the weather before the visit and that the ground staff must have been limited to what work they could do - we were also on two temp greens. However, it was not a car of the greens being poorly maintained and this was obvious as the course was well manicured and pleasing on the eye.

I would definitely want to go back and retry Sale and see if this was just a one of anomaly due to the adverse weather.

The day was a fair price at £30 for golf only on a Sunday morning but I would put it more in the £20-£25 bracket - especially in the condition we found it. But the club house was competitively priced, well stocked and the food was well prepared and went down well.

7.6

Sale, Greater Manchester

19th October, 2017

We played here on 15th October 2017 following a few days of poor weather.

To be fair, the course held up quite well with very little standing water and was in a good condition. However, we were playing on 2 temps and the greens were varying paces and quality - we assume as they were unable to be rolled due to the weather. Some were a bit soggy under foot and rolled bobbly and slow, whereas others were drier and rolled much quicker. There were also a few that were hollotined - which is expected at this time of yea. As a result, we are trying to be fair with the scoring on the greens as its possible to see that they would be lovely in better conditions.

That said, Sale GC is a lovely track and you can see that in the summer months it would be a really great days golf. There is a little bit of everything here with holes to suit the longer hitters, but also plenty of 'thinking' holes that require good course management over brute strength.

The club house was nice and all the staff were pleasant and chatty - along with the members. Food was tasty and well priced and the general costs of the day and the clubhouse were very competitive.

In summary, Sale would be a club to definitely resist for us and one that we'd like to do a touch earlier in the year.

7.8

Broxton, Cheshire

16th October, 2017

Stayed here in Mid October for a 2 day society event.
We played the Cheshire course both days. Very impressed with the setup, from a great clubhouse and facilities to the actual course itself.
Play wasnt slow at any point which is a surpirse at these kind of venues. The course itself was in great condition considering the wonderful wet summer we've had. The greens fast and true. The only slight downer was the bunkers and the fact they didnt seem to have been raked in a few days. I had a couple of incidents where the ball stayed on the side of the bunker rather than rolling back to the bottom.
One other slight downer for me was the price of drinks. £3.20 for a blackcurrant and lemonade is more than double what it should be. Absolutely no need to rip off customers like that.
Other than that would highly recommend the course and im sure we will be back soon.

6.4

Shevington, Greater Manchester

14th October, 2017

Not great at the moment

7.8

Conwy, Conwy

14th October, 2017

Bunkers Member Great course PLAY!!

7.8

llandudno, Conwy

14th October, 2017

Bunkers Member Great course a must for all society golfers & cou

7

Porthmadog, Gwynedd

14th October, 2017

brilliant back 9 holes

7.8

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd

14th October, 2017

Bunkers Member Great course PLAY!!

8.4

Grantham, Lincolnshire

11th October, 2017

Played the course on 28/9/17 when our course was closed for a charity golf day. 12 of us visited. We had had alot of rain prior to our visit but the course was very good and greens soft but a good speed. If you like wildlife this is a great place to visit. We were made very welcome by all staff, pro shop and members. The food is very good and at a very reasonable price. Promise that this is worth a visit.

8.4

Sale, Greater Manchester

8th October, 2017

We played this beginning of October and enjoyed it loads considering it had rained all week all greens was in play and the course ran well an true.
Highly recommended be back to play in the summer for sure
Lovely layout one of the best this year

7.2

Runcorn, Cheshire

8th October, 2017

Had a society outing here and had a great day all round. A short but testing course with very tight tree lined fairways on both holes so accuracy is key from the tee. Some very nice holes and nice greens. Staff were welcoming from the moment we arrived to the moment we left

7.6

Sale, Greater Manchester

8th October, 2017

Played here on 1/10/17 with swingers golf society and thought very highly of the course. Even with the amount of rain in the week before the course was in great condition, the greens had been spiked for drainage but still had a great roll. The course layout was really good and I can't wait to play this course in the middle of summer. The swingers Will definitely be back again. :-)

8

Ascot, Berkshire

7th October, 2017

Played as part of club match rota, and even when playi mid-Autumn and with tined and sanded greens we were still impressed by the speed and roll of the greens. Wonderful to find such a gem in good condition.

Some lovely holes with plenty of variety for draw and fade shots. Worth playing for practise, as some holes can be strategic off the tee and approach for one side is better than the other.

Bunkers played well, I visited enough for my sample size to be high!

Only two downsides for me was the tee location for 1st is not particularly obvious (look out for the signage), and same for practise facilities, unless you notice them on the drive in then you might not realise they are there! Secondly the race course can be noisy, plus road traffic, of course if no race events are on then it's probably much quieter but was very loud on the day we played.

Food was wonderful and would happily play again. Thanks!

8.2

Rochdale, Greater Manchester

5th October, 2017

Rochdale Golf Club Society Visit
On arrival at Rochdale Golf Club, you realise security is taken seriously, with the gated car park and coded clubhouse at each access. The Clubhouse was modern and ‘well designed’, with the Bar upstairs, new facilities and fantastic views of the course. The reception was welcoming, with a good sized and well stocked ‘Pro Shop’. The weather on the day we played was dry in the morning, and wet in the afternoon, which was not draining off the course, as well as we would have liked.
The lay-out of the course was good with water hazards and bunkers positioned such that the average player has to consider the placing of each shot. The course was ‘Relatively easy to follow’, with signs directing you to the next tee’s. Unfortunately if only playing 9 Holes, (as we did in the morning), the 9th Green is some way from the Club House. ‘Course Planner’s’ are not available.
The Tees were in great condition, with ball cleaners and bins. The fairways were good, well prepared and cut with ‘Run-on’ as good as can be expected for this time of the year. The rough was cut to a good length, so on any wayward shots you could find your ball. (I did not lose any balls)
The greens were in great condition, well placed and very picturesque with medium/fast speed and not too difficult to predict.
The Lunch and dinner meals were excellent, with the Chef ensuring individuals were accommodated for as regards diet and quirks.
It was generally considered that the course in general was a ‘Great Course’ and I would definitely like to revisit and hopefully improve my score!