Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

9.6

Liverpool, Merseyside

23rd July, 2019

I played here with Bunkers Golf Society on 20th July 2019 and I play off 9hcp.

I have reviewed Lee Park previously [see below] and it has always been a course that ticker every box for me as a golfer. Its friendly and welcoming, its great value, its always in great nick and it always aspires to improve and get better.....its almost perfect.

So much so, that I joined as a member and haven't regretted that decision having played in Winter, Sprint and now Summer.

The greens are the stand out at Lee Park. Always have been and long may that continue as its often the most important factor for golfers.
The course now matches this with manicured fairways and an easy on the eye appearance.

Like most golfers, I get frustrated with members/guests not repairing pitch marks on the green and raking the bunkers as much as they should do!!! When a course works this hard to be this good, the least they can do is spend 20 seconds fixing the mess they've caused.

I recommend Lee Park to everyone I speak to. Whether thats to come with mates for a friendly round, or to groups and societies who are looking for a hospitable venue to take their group. It really is a hidden gem in the truest sense.....I'm yet to speak to someone Ive recommended who hasn't been impressed and re-visited from that point onwards.

Like any private members club, it has financial restraints that mean that things need to be planned and budgeted but its great to see improvements continue to be implemented gradually throughout the year - and minor maintenance isn't forgotten [mainly through the hard work of the green staff and artisans]. It would be superb if the one of the next things could be the heavy-weighted flag sticks, to add that finishing touch of quality to the magnificent greens. Silly, minor things - but that leave an impression on players.

I will continue to praise Lee Park to the hilt and would recommend you all get down there for a visit. It's a fabulous club.

9.4

Liverpool, Merseyside

23rd July, 2019

Bunkers Golf Society have always held a strong relationship with Lee Park Golf Club - both through the previous manager Steve Settle, and now with the new manager Mark Rabone.

Its great to see that the course has been handed over to safe hands once again and the direction and vision the club is taking is prosperous.

The foundations of Lee Park GC are a super friendly welcome [from every member of staff], great value and quality in the clubhouse and an immaculately presented course with quite simply some of the finest greens in the UK - let alone in the Merseyside region.

Its no secret that this club has always prided itself on having some of the best putting surfaces around, but with the continued hard work of the club and ground staff, they continue to get better and better. The general appearance of the course is also improving with manicured and striped fairways, variations of rough, more attention to presentation on tee boxes.

For those who have never played Lee Park, the front 10 holes are intricate and require a bit more course management and "plotting". The remaining 8 holes you can open your shoulders a bit more and accuracy off the tee becomes more important.

The value is unquestioned and offers golfers the chance to play on one of the best courses in the area for a very competitive rate - making it an ideal venue for any societies or groups.

The food in the clubhouse is always tasty, you get good portions and its all at very reasonable prices - as is the post round pint! Again, another welcome point when selecting golf clubs for groups.

Whenever we have dealt with the club, they have always been an absolute pleasure. As a society that plans everything in advance and in great detail, we can often be demanding and yet LPGC always cater for our needs and make sure the day goes as smoothly as possible. It sounds basic, but its surprising how many clubs get this wrong!

The club has a couple of limitations that simply cannot be avoided. The practice ground is only up to about 130yards, but there isn`t any other available land to use. There are nets, a chipping area [behind the clubhouse that a lot of people seem to miss] a practice bunker and also a great putting green.
The lack of a shop/pro shop - but we will cover this below and there really just isn`t space in the layout of the clubhouse to have this.

Some criticisms we`ve heard of the course over the years are:
"Its wet in the winter" - this has been addressed and it drains brilliantly now but like most parklands, it does accept more rain than a links track. But don`t avoid it in the winter as it plays superbly the majority of the time.

"The back 9 has a few `up and down` and `samey` type holes" - this is more apparent due to the more complex layout of the front 9 but they`re higher indexed and with heavily tree lined fairways and some internal out of bounds, they need a player to show accuracy. It tests different facets of your game.

"There is no pro shop" - If you need `bits` then the bar in the clubhouse stock basics, the rest you should have. Failing that, American Golf is in Liverpool Driving Range less than 1 mile away.

In summary, Lee Park is a course people should add to their list to visit. If you`re up in the area, or even local and have never tried it - you are missing out. It offers everything you need that is important when considering a golf club.

9.2

Liverpool, Merseyside

21st July, 2019

I have had the great pleasure of playing this course on many previous occasions. I re-visited on this occasion with fellow members of Bunkers Golf Society.
Once again the course was in excellent condition and despite heavy rain throughout the previous night, the fairways were dry underfoot with no casual water anywhere on the course. The weekend mowing was probably postponed due to the wet weather which resulted in the greens running a little more slowly than usual at this time of year. They were though very true and smooth.
The members are a helpful and friendly bunch and the bar is always filled with a buzz of conversation and laughter.
The post round meal was tasty and plentiful. All in all, this is a course and club that you will travel far to beat for condition, enjoyment and value for money.
I can recommend it to golfers of all standards without reservation.

8.4

Liverpool, Merseyside

19th July, 2019

I played here with Bunkers golf society.

I have played here a few times before so knew what to expect and that is a very nice course in first class condition. I’ll

It certainly didn’t disappoint. Fabulous greens, beautiful definition through the course and many holes that require some thought make this a course you should play whenever the chance arises.

9.4

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th July, 2019

Course was in immaculate condition, greens especially, the members where all friendly and welcoming as where the staff.

Highly recommend playing this superb course.

8.8

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th July, 2019

Greens excellent

9.2

Appleton,

16th July, 2019

This is always one the bunkers crew love coming back to year after year, course is always in stunning condition and the hospitality even more so. We always receive a very warm welcome from WGC. The course was as usual in magnificent condition along with the greens. I would without doubt highly recommend this course. Superb quality and a great test of golf.

8.6

Bromborough, Merseyside

16th July, 2019

Cracking weather for what turned out to be a very well played round of golf. The course was in superb condition with the greens running true, they were looking particularly good at present. Fantastic course with great facilities and excellent hospitality.

9.6

Liverpool, Merseyside

16th July, 2019

Without doubt, the best condition I have ever seen this course in. The greens have always been some of (if not) the best in the area but today they were phenomenal. Credit to the green staff! The course played very well with an all round excellent feel to every aspect of the course.

7.8

Liverpool, Merseyside

16th July, 2019

Played here with bunkers golf society this July,
Nice warm welcome from the staff on arrival. Course in great condition and nice test to all abilites

8.6

Liverpool, Merseyside

16th July, 2019

I visited with Bunkers Golf Society on 14th July 2019 and I play off a handicap of 9.

Childwall GC is a beautiful parkland course that is always immaculately maintained. The greens are playing superb at the moment and were smooth and quick - a true pleasure to play on.

The course is very easy on the eye and holds up to any parkland course in the local area. The clubhouse has a feel of Royal Birkdale to it and has had a renovation since last time I visited which has taken the whole venue up a notch.

We enjoyed 1pm tee times on a Sunday - which was at a fair price and the costs in the club house were good. The welcome is always warm and this was no different.

Childwall is a club I would like to visit on a more regular basis and is one I would have no hesitation in recommending to other golfers.

8.6

Liverpool, Merseyside

16th July, 2019

Childwall GC has always been a course that scores strongly with our members during our end of season reviews and we are always afforded a warm welcome and a course that is immaculately presented with some of the best greens in the area - this visit was no different.

The greens were smooth and slick with subtle undulations that made them a real test to putt on. In addition, the pin positions for the visit were tricky, with several tightly plotted over bunkers leaving little room for error. The course was in beautiful condition with manicured fairways that were in their prime, lovely flat and well cared for tee boxes and bunkers with just the right amount of sand in that - and most were raked and well presented [which can be a sad rarity these days due to member/guest attitudes]

?The clubhouse has been updated since our last visit and is modern, bright and welcoming and the food was pleasant and fairly priced. The weather for our visit was great and so we were able to enjoy a few beers afterwards on the terrace overlooking the 18th Hole and the general consensus amongst the group was that it was another hugely impressive visit to the club.

Once again, we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Childwall Golf Club to any golfer worth their salt. Its a fabulous parkland course that never fails to disappoint.

9.4

Liverpool, Merseyside

16th July, 2019

Another superb visit to an extremely well maintained golf course. It's always a great day out at Childwall. The course was in great condition, the green were blemish free and were a joy to putt on.
Off the course the Childwall GC and their staff in the clubhouse are amongst the friendliest in the area and welcome you as they would their own members. A proper golf club in great condition, very reasonable green fees too for a Sunday afternoon in July, a must for any societies looking to play in the area.

9

Liverpool, Merseyside

15th July, 2019

I re-visited this wonderful course with friends from Bunkers Golf Society on a fine summer’s afternoon. Once again I was hugely impressed with the condition and standard of maintenance of the entire course.
The fairways were smooth and well graded, the bunkers were well sanded and the greens were as good as any I’ve played on in recent years!
The uniquely designed, spacious and very well appointed clubhouse also offers a beautiful terrace upon which we were once again able to enjoy a post round drink selected from an impressive assortment of beers sourced from all over the world.
This is a club and course to which it is always a pleasure to return and I can recommend it to other golfers without reservation!

8

Liverpool, Merseyside

15th July, 2019

Year on year this course fails to let us down. The greens, fairways and rough are perfectly presented. The course keeps you interested all the way round with no two hole the same. Probably the best course in the local area.
Newly refurbished bar area is really nice but if your fortunate enough to play when it’s good weather then sit outside and enjoy the view of the course. You’d never think you were bang in the middle of a residential area.

8

Liverpool, Merseyside

14th July, 2019

Played here on a bunkers event and with it being a firm favourite with in the society I was looking forward to playing with it being my first time playing here.

The course did not dissapoint, the tee boxes were in great condition the fairways were absolutely immaculate they had plenty of bounce and run in them. There are plenty of well placed fairway bunkers and some greens are extremely well protected giving a stern test. The greens were in their absolute prime running true and fast and finding a struggle to keep the ball on the green on some chip shots and approach shots. The pin positions were in some difficult positions as we came the weekend after the clubs championship weekend.

All in all a fantastic parkland course and would have no issues in visiting again.

8.4

Liverpool, Merseyside

14th July, 2019

Played on a lovely summer's Sunday. Course is a lovely layout with great mix of long and short holes. Not too punishing when offline (helped me today). Some tough pins set out today from club championship previous weekend, set on lovely greens. Tee boxes excellent and general course conditions very tidy. Definitely a course I'd play again.

8.4

Matlock, Derbyshire

14th July, 2019

Played in a charity golf day on 12/7/19. The course was in great condition. The greens were a very nice pace and true. I was made very welcome and the food and beer very good. I received a warm welcome from staff member Nathan. I would definitely recommend playing the course now because of its condition. I must add that this is the best I have seen this course and the views are fantastic. It was also nice to be able to sit out on the patio area.

9

Wigan, Lancashire

8th July, 2019

Played here 7th July with the Swingersgolf society. The welcome that we got from the club on our arrival was fantastic very well organised now with new owners. The course was in fantastic condition and can not make a fault on the whole day. The staff very welcoming and also the members of the club are great. Its nice to hear members complementing our society outfits. After the golf we headed upstairs for a 2 course meal in which the new chef made was fantastic. Massive credit on the course within a year. Only problem is no pro shop so make sure you head to your local golf shop for your stuff. Think if had a pro shop this would make more appealing. But never the less this course has a lot to offer for golf societies and will be on our calendar for next year. Thanks for having us

9

Liverpool, Merseyside

7th July, 2019

Played the course today with team members from Bunkers Golf Society in a match against Fairway Finders Golf Society....it was in excellent condition.
The greens are absolutely immaculate and must be amongst the best in the land!
The post round two course meal was delicious too and served by helpful, courteous staff.
This is a club and a course which you will enjoy and which offers great value for money!

8.4

Bramhall, Greater Manchester

3rd July, 2019

Played the course on 3/7/19 in our Club Captain"s away day. There were 40 in our party. The course was in great condition and very well presented. The greens were medium paced. The practice putting green was faster than the course greens. Well placed bunkers and tree lined fairways mean you have to have good course management. It is a fair and interesting test of golf though. The clubhouse has two levels with the top having a magnificent balcony which looks out on to the course and a nice bar area. There is a spacious restaurant on the ground floor. The food was very good and we were made very welcome by staff and members. The professional shop is a seperate building near to the 1st tee. The changing facilties etc were were very good. There is a grassed pratice area. I would recommend a visit here.

7.4

Bromborough, Merseyside

30th June, 2019

Arrived at 10am and was disappointed that there was no service for food. There was just coffee machine. That said the course was a pleasure to play. Good mix of holes and challenges throughout. The greens were in excellent condition. The local membership were not too friendly which is a shame because they have an excellent course to play.

8

Bromborough, Merseyside

28th June, 2019

Played here as part of bunkers golf society.

This is my 3rd visit here so i know the kind of condition the course would be in and it did t disappoint the greens again were in very good condition and a putt putt on line has every chance of going in.

This is a good test of golf for all abilities and not just a bombers golf course, it requires you to plot your way round and try to attack when in premium position.

My only gripe on this occasion was the scruffy areas around the greens, i dont know if they are the result of last years summer but on 3 occasions my ball came to rest just off the green in a mud patch that was dry, the only option being to play the shot like a bunker one. This could of just been marked as GUR but for some reason it wasnt.

Would 100% recommend this course and will be visiting again.

9.8

Appleton,

28th June, 2019

Absolutely stunning

7.8

Bromborough, Merseyside

27th June, 2019

Great test of your golf

8.6

Bromborough, Merseyside

27th June, 2019

Superbly maintained and challenging mix

6.8

Bromborough, Merseyside

26th June, 2019

A lovely course that keeps your attention throughout. Some holes are quite narrow and long and reward the sensible golfers amongst us. The greens are in very good condition and quite receptive. Club shop is well stocked and the clubhouse is nice. Worth a round if your in the area

8.8

Bromborough, Merseyside

24th June, 2019

We took the society back to Bromborough Golf Club for what is becoming an annual tradition. The course always reviews well by our members and scores highly in our end of season AGM and therefore is somewhere we would consider a Bunkers favourite.

For this visit club Professional Geoff Berry recommended that we visit in late June [as opposed to our normal May slot] as the course would be in its prime - and he was absolutely right. Bromborough is a parkland jewel and is always superbly presented whenever we visit, but this was a touch better once again and it was nice to see some improvements and additions over last years visit - showing the club invest and take great pride in the course [as well they should]

The greens were once again in immaculate condition and played well. Receptive yet slick and quick and with the usual subtle undulations that make them challenging to read - they really are a good test of your ability with the 'flat stick'.

The tree lined fairways demand accuracy and good course management and anything wayward sees you taking a shot sideways to get back into the hole.

Despite being a traditional parkland course, it does have plenty of undulations - which although don't make it a tough walk, do make you think about shot selection as you are tested against a number of different lies and therefore its a real test of your golfing ability and shot making skills.
Bromborough is a great course for all levels of golfer and there is something here for everyone.

On this occasion we paid for 'golf only' but a few of the lads ordered food afterwards and the plates were plentiful and tasty as well as fairly priced. The days golf cost us £35 for mid morning tee times on a Sunday - which is fairly priced and comparative with other courses in the area for this quality.

Bunkers have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Bromborough Golf Club to anyone. Its a visit you won't regret.

8.4

Bromborough, Merseyside

24th June, 2019

I visited again with Bunkers Golf Society on 23rd June 2019 and I play off 9hcp.

Bromborough GC is always a pleasure to visit. A warm welcome is always afforded and the course is a real treat. Despite being a parkland track, it has a fair bit of undulation, which makes shot and club selection paramount and tests all aspects of your game.

The greens were superb and were quick but true. The course was in great condition and presented beautifully. The bunkers and tee boxes were all good and the course played tricky for this visit due to a stern breeze that came and went through the afternoon.

We paid £35 for golf only, which is fair value without being exceptional but we were afforded 10:45am tee times on a Sunday - which is a great bonus.

Bromborough is always a club I recommend to friends and other golfers and will continue to be somewhere I look forward to visiting.

8.8

Bromborough, Merseyside

24th June, 2019

This was my first visit to Bromborough and I was very impressed!
Arriving early (09:00hrs) with friends from Bunkers Golf Society I was a little disappointed that there was no breakfast/bacon rolls available for purchase in the clubhouse and only coffee from the machine.
This though, was just about my only disappointment of the day. The course was interesting, combining relatively short par 4s with several more challenging par 4s. The terrain was certainly undulating as is described on the club’s excellent website.
The standout feature of the course for me, must be the speed and quality of the USGA standard greens. They were fast and true and the sharply cut hole locations made it imperative that putts were struck in the very centre of each cup.
The comfortable clubhouse offered a variety of good lagers and ales and a decent menu was available at reasonable cost for those who required food.
The condition of the bunkers was inconsistent - and I visited many - but members did explain that there is a programme to improve the situation which is already underway.
I would definitely recommend a visit to this club and course and will certainly be back myself.