Twitter logo YouTube logo Facebook logo

Discover, book, play, review

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

8

Wigan, Lancashire

19th May, 2018

Visited here on a sunny day in May and found the course in great condition. It had dried out nicely from the terrible winter and was setup for a great days golf.
The welcome was very friendly and facilities more then adequate for our needs. Slight downside was the lack of a pro shop.
The tee boxes and fairways were in excellent condition. The greens werent perfect and had a few lines in them but still very playable with a good pace.
The evening meal was also excellent. Definitely a place to return to very soon

8.2

Bromborough, Merseyside

18th May, 2018

This is a lovely course some nice challenging holes and kept in great condition. Considering the harsh winter the fairways and greens are well kept all be it the greens were a little slow on the day. All in all strongly recommend playing this course made to feel very welcome

8.4

Liverpool, Merseyside

18th May, 2018

Greens in excellent condition.

10

Liverpool, Merseyside

18th May, 2018

Best value for money around

9

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

My second time visiting Lee Park with Bunkers Golf Society and once again it has left a positive impression. Although my game wasn't upto much I have no complaints about the course itself. Many courses have been hit hard by the terrible winter so credit has to be given to the GreenKeepers for maintaining it to a excellent playing standard. Looking forward to next year already!!

9

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

Played with Bunkers GS on Weds 16th May. I haven’t played here for a year or so and never play particularly well here but that does not detract from the fact it’s a lovely local course.

Famous for its immaculate greens it didn’t let us down at a time when some courses are still struggling to get up to speed. The course layout is the same but I noted some improvements to Bunkers, tee boxes and most evidently the practice facilities which from formerly being a putting green and short range now boasts a quality chipping green and decent nets.

The rough seems to have been left to grow out a bit more than usual so added an extra element of difficulty and the pin positions were not overly friendly but the course played firm and fair.

I always enjoy my poor round of golf here so no reason why you shouldn’t either.

9.2

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

One of the easiest reviews I will ever do. Despite the poor winter, the Fairways where in good condition, the Greens in very good condition, every green rolled at the same pace. Always a warm welcome awaits you, We had food on arrival, which was excellent quality. Thank you to all the staff on giving us a great day out.

9.2

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

Great course enjoyed it

8.8

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

Played with Bunkers Society. Really enjoyed the course and the day overall. Can't fault it for the price. New practice facilities are great. Looking forward to playing it again. Highly recommended for any society.

8.8

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

I visited Lee Park on 16/5/18 with Bunkers GS. I currently play off a 18 handicap.

It was my first ever visit too Lee Park and I was pleasantly surprised at the full venue from the second you drive through the gates.

There are endless amounts of practice areas at your disposal which is always handy before tee off. These are in fantastic condition and gave a really good insight to how the greens were rolling.

The course itself was in fine form, the fairways were running and every fairway was cut to perfection. Most of the fairways are heavily tree lined but by no means make this course narrow, but does make you think about your tee shot.

The greens were in good condition some were tougher to read than others but gave a good challenge. The greens were also rolling brilliant and quite easily the best greens I’ve played on this year. When they reach there peak in the summer months I can imagine they will be like carpets.

A pleasantly flat course no uphill treks to greens or long inclined fairways and dry as a bone and the first time in a long time I’ve not had to wash my shoes after a round of golf.

Lee Park GC is a fantastic golf club/course the people in the clubhouse gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel very much like we were members.

The only downside that I can criticise on is that there is no pro shop which we were given the heads up on before arrival.

Great course, great people, great experience, I will definitely be returning through the summer.

8

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

I’ve played a number of parkland courses this year and nothing is in as good condition as this place. The fairways have been left a little long to combat the poor weather we’ve had but the greens are immaculate (as always). Everyone at the club is really welcoming and I can’t fault anything about our experiences there. A true please to visit each year. Thanks all at Lee Park

5.6

Rainford,

17th May, 2018

young course that is starting to mature. Nice layout with combination of short and long holes with some dog legs too.

Fairways looking lovely but no excuse for the state of the greens. They are shocking, and putting a lottery. Hollow tines from a while ago don't seem to have been top dressed properly, with many holes still open and surface of green has that many lumps and bumps as a result, lining a putt is almost pointless. Quite a few bunkers marked as gur, others with stones and some don't seem to have been raked by Green keepers, but plenty sand in the couple I was in.

That said, hopefully they can get on top of the greens over the year and have them in better shape by the end of summer / next year.

Still reasonable value for a local and relatively young course that is clearly going through transition as it tries to establish itself and its facilities.

7.8

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

Played here with bunkers golf society and thought course was in great condition. Greens a tricky but role true and quick. Presently surprised from course that offers great value

9

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

I visited Lee Park with Bunkers Golf Society on 16/05/18 and play off a handicap of 10.

Another superb visit to "Merseyside`s Friendliest Club". Despite the new faces at the helm, the clubs ethos remains the same [long may that continue]

The course was in great condition in comparison to all others Ive played locally this year. Greens not quite up to the usual LPGC "carpet-like" standard, but only because every club seems to be about 4-6 weeks behind at the moment after the ridiculously bad winter we have had.

Superb value as always and a great welcome in the clubhouse from all the staff - its something Ive become accustomed to now and is one of the great things about this club.

The course on the whole played well. Was dry underfoot throughout and walked off with clean shoes!! The bunkers could do with a bit of attention as they were a bit `hit and miss` but the course is starting to really take shape and it promises to be another good year.

The course is pretty flat and is a pleasant walk. Its not overly penal in terms of losing balls hand over fist, but you do need to keep the ball in play to give you chance of scoring well as the tree lined fairways demand respect and you will be `chopping out sideways` from anything that goes too far either side.

Its you are able to get down to Lee Park GC, I would highly recommend playing 18 holes and enjoying a few pints down there.

8.8

Liverpool, Merseyside

17th May, 2018

We returned to LPGC with Bunkers Golf Society on 16th May 2018.

Changes since our last visit as long standing club Manager Steve Settle has moved on to be replaced by Mark Rabone. However the warm welcome and friendly faces around the clubhouse remain - which we personally feel is paramount to making this one of the first clubs we look to visit each year. You can`t put a price on customer focus and friendliness and its what has put Lee Park above others in Merseyside.

We are almost sick and tired of writing the words "given the winter we have experienced in the UK" during our reviews, but its hard not to utter the phrase as every club we have visited so far in 2018 is a few weeks behind where they would ordinarily be at this point in the season. Lee Park is no different. However, it is far and away the best condition course, and particularly greens, that we have played on so far.

The slick, smooth Lee Park roll isn`t 100% there yet, but its not far off and it was nice to putt on a green where the ball had a chance of staying on line!!!

The course itself was emerald green and coming in to full bloom. This makes it very tight in parts as the tree lined fairways give the impression that you don`t have much room to play with. However, its not a penal course and you can go around here without losing a ball despite a few wayward shots.

The Bunkers could do with a bit of TLC and tidying up and there are patches of the course that are showing `war wounds` from the brutal winter - but on the whole it played beautifully.

As always, the food and drink were good and offered sound value and the feel in the clubhouse is always one of interaction and conversation [rather than that often found `golfing silence`]

It again gives us great pleasure to be able to strongly review the club and say without reservation that we will be back again - not only as a society, but as individuals throughout the year. Its definitely a club that we would recommend ALL golfers pay a visit to.

8.8

Liverpool, Merseyside

16th May, 2018

I play off 18.

Played this course on 16.5.18 with BGS.

As always great reception from the New manager taking over from Steve. Burger and chips to start was good quality and bar prices very reasonable.

This course doesn't have a club shop so be prepared before arrival.

great practise areas for putting and chipping and 2 practise nets all very good quality. Good practise area available for the longer clubs.

the course was in great condition as always. Despite the bad weather this course has managed to keep its quality. Greens slightly slower than usual but still a perfect roll on them.

Tee boxes where in good condition and fairways and rough very pleasing on the eye.

Great par 3 10th and good finishing hole. Always good for nearest in 2... You can even use the water feature to your advantage......

once again a very enjoyable round of golf at this great course. We will return and I recommend to all.

7.2

Rainford,

15th May, 2018

I play off 18.

I played here on 15th May. I really like the layout of this course and it has so much potential which will hopefully come to fruition with the New management. Work is getting done but the horrendous weather we have suffered hasn't helped.

very good challenge with some long holes. 2 great par 5's and a long par 3 17th.

Greens are really in need of some TLC and the first cut of rough could do with some attention. I have faith that this course is on the up and will be where we all want it to be in the near future.

very friendly and very accomodating as always and booking system and App very good and easy to use.

8.2

Bromborough, Merseyside

15th May, 2018

I play off 18.

Our annual visit with BGS was on 6th May. Again we had perfect weather, very hot and sunny great conditions for golf.

this is a very challenging course and you will be punished if you are off the fairways. hazards are in the right positions and the bunkers had enough sand in them if you find yourself in one of them.

some great holes on this course and i enjoyed the round.

unfortuantely the greens have suffered the most with this run of bad weather. A lot slower than expected for this time of year. This was explained when i booked in with the pro shop. Very helpful and full of information about the course and was very complimentary about our society.

I will continue to play this course and would recommend to all.

9.4

Chesterfield, Derbyshire

15th May, 2018

My home course

9.4

Manchester, Lancashire

15th May, 2018

played 13th may 2018 What a excellent course this was with some fantastic holes to play. This course is in excellent condition and the greens in top condition. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, and a nice little touch with a welcome sign for our society on arrival. If any society has free slots i would advise on booking here, great course + great weather = great golf

8.6

Manchester, Lancashire

14th May, 2018

Played 13/5/18 with the swingers society. I was very impressed with the course. The greens where the truest I’ve played all year and where also fast. The bunkers where in the best condition I’ve seen this year of any course. All tee boxes and fairways where immaculate and you can tell there’s a lot of hard work goes in to maintaining this course. We were also afforded a very friendly welcome. I would definitely return in the future- one of the best courses I’ve played to date.

4

Chorley, Lancashire

14th May, 2018

Played here with bunkers golf society for our 1st major event on 15th April 2018.

The lead up to us playing was atrocious weather wise so we have probably seen the course at its worst, but in my opinion it shouldnt of been open. The greens were like being on top of a water bed and if you was just in the fringe of the green you had to be carful that if you stepped near your ball the ground would rise and your ball would move! It was sodden all over and i think everybody that played lost atleast one ball through plugging in the fairways! It is harsh to give a poor review like this but i can only judge on what i have played and im sure it is a fantastic course in the summer as ive been told.

9.6

Middleton, Greater Manchester

14th May, 2018

What a excellent course this was with some fantastic holes to play. This course is in excellent condition and the greens in top condition. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, and a nice little touch with a welcome sign for our society on arrival. If any society has free slots i would advise on booking here, great course + great weather = great golf

8.2

New Alresford, Hampshire

13th May, 2018

So I last played 4 years ago, and have been back to see how some changes have progressed.

The course layout hasn't changed, and some holes do feel a little boring, but well placed bunkers do make you think and little more, and some tricky pins can make quite a difference to the way to play the holes.

Lots of good work on the bunkers has given some great playing conditions. Exact, and precise sand levels means you can have confidence in playing out ... although the grey looking sand is a little uninspiring.

An extensive practise facility exists above the car park, with lots of short game areas and two additional putting and chipping greens.

A great finishing hole (in full view of the clubhouse) can give a good spectacle for visiting groups.

Overall I think my earlier review was harsher than the course merits. I thoroughly enjoyed the course this time and would visit again.

8

Winchester, Hampshire

13th May, 2018

Recently played on the hottest May weekend, and the course was playing stunning. The greens were awesome, super quick and very true. A good layout with plenty of scoring opportunities and variation in holes.
The bunkers were superb, with so many courses the bunkers can be a letdown but Hockley were great, with precise level of sand and well maintained.

Lovely clubhouse and pro shop, with facilities that are just right for a members club with plenty of history.

Happily return again, but would make sure the wind isn't blowing as some of the hill top holes are very exposed!

6.2

Bromborough, Merseyside

11th May, 2018

Decent lay out and must stick to the fairway to score well as the rough is very punishing at times. Greens were very slow and needed cutting, but that could be said for a number of courses at the minute due to the weather. If wearing shorts....make sure you bring white socks!

7.8

Bromborough, Merseyside

9th May, 2018

Played as part of the Bunkers Golf Society.

Never played before but really enjoyed the round. Greens were not the best (but see a lot worse) but I would blame that on the recent weather and time of year. IN NEED OF A GOOD CUT. A number of interesting holes and the majority of bunkers on each hole are strategically placed. Will be playing here again in the summer.

7.6

Bromborough, Merseyside

8th May, 2018

Played as part of Bunkers Golf Society on 6th May 2018.

The course is a favourite of mine and despite being a bit behind its usual condition for this time of year due to the horrendous UK winter, it still presented beautifully. The greens were a bit below the usual high standard but the Pro explained the reasons for this and I accept that everywhere has struggled this year so far.

It offers great value and is a really good test of ability. Its a course I would recommend to others and is good value. Give it a go.

6.8

Bromborough, Merseyside

8th May, 2018

A lovely looking course that is a real test for all players. The holes are beautifully framed by well seasoned trees and the fairways are well tended to. Given the bad conditions we’ve had I’d say the course was in very good condition.

7.8

Bromborough, Merseyside

8th May, 2018

We returned once again with the society to Bromborough Golf Club on a beautiful sunny day on May 6th 2018.

As always the course looked in great condition with the usual emerald green fairways and manicured fairways and greens. By the clubs own self admission [and totally understandably for most courses at the moment] they were about 4 weeks behind where they would expect to be at this time of year due to the horrific winter we have suffered in the UK. Therefore, this review can only be based honestly on how we found the course on this particular visit and not on the basis of previous visits.

The welcome [as ever] was warm and all the staff were very pleasant and courteous. The food and drink in the clubhouse was good and offered sound value and the days play for golf only was £30 per person for a Sunday mid morning, which offers great value.

The fairways were nice, with well cut grass and nicely mown and they were as easy on the eye as they were to play off. However the rough was super penal as it was quite long and sticky after the wet weather we had experienced and looked to have been cut in the days previous. There were grass cuttings all over the rough which meant a lot of searching when a ball left the fairway and we understand that this is probably because it has been unable to be cut much due to the terrible weather and so it has kind of reached a point where they'd taken advantage during a rare sunny spell and the grass was still wet and this meant it left behind sticky rough that was a real chore to play from.

The bunkers were raked but quite compacted sand and were difficult [at times] to play from - but again, we can understand the reasons for this.

The greens looked beautiful and were well cared for and had clearly been subjected to some hard work following the winter. However, they were a bit bobbly in parts and multi paced - which made them hard to get accustomed to during the round. Again, totally understandable given the shocking winter in this part of the world [sadly we are used to it]

The course itself was in great condition and it was good to see work and development going on to improve this still. Its a beautiful parkland layout and is a true test of golf with various slopes giving differing lies and testing your golfing ability.

In summary, Bromborogh Golf Club is firmly a favourite with our members - despite the condition on this visit being a little below what we have seen in recent years. However, this will not put us off revisiting in future years and plenty of our members will no doubt play again in 2018 with their friends and family. Definitely a club that is worth of your money.