Twitter logo YouTube logo Facebook logo

Discover, book, play, review

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

8.6

Hawarden, Flintshire

19th August, 2017

Got a cheap rate from teeofftimes (£13 with admin fee) and this course was definitely good value for money. Hilly course with some interesting blind shots and tricky holes which makes up for it being fairly short (Par 69). Even though I was having an off-day (+18 on a 6 handicap!) I enjoyed this course and already have a return visit planned in for mid-week. The greens were deceptively fast despite being very receptive. Last hole is a cracker.

8.6

Warrington, Cheshire

19th August, 2017

I love how this course has a real variety of holes. The course is always in good condition and provides a good test.

Staff are always friendly and accommodating. I would have considered a membership here if it was on offer.

7.6

Liverpool, Merseyside

19th August, 2017

I played this course in torrential rain and would like an opportunity to go back in better weather conditions.

I spent the majority of the day in many of the well placed bunkers.

10

Southport, Merseyside

19th August, 2017

I found this course as big a test of my game as anywhere I've ever played but loved it! I really had to think about every shot and deal with a variety of weather conditions.

The course is exceptional and in incredible condition. You'd never have known it was November (I was wearing spikeless shoes)

The clubhouse facilities and food is top class. The staff and members are very welcoming and I'd recommend a round there to anyone.

8.8

Formby, Merseyside

19th August, 2017

I recently played this course for the first time as part of the corporate golf day. I think the weather and winning added to the enjoyment of the course.

It was long but tested my whole bag. I enjoyed the arrangement of water hazards and bunkers and would love to go back and play again.

6.8

Rainford,

19th August, 2017

This course has so much potential to be amazing. In fairness, I'm not huge off the tee and can struggle with the length of the course, especially when playing 18 holes.

I love the elevated tees and there are plenty of holes that punish you if you're not accurate.

It improves every time I play there.

9.2

Warrington, Cheshire

19th August, 2017

I joined Poulton Park in April this year after just 9 holes. The hospitality and warm welcome made a huge difference. The course plays as both a 9 and 18 hole course with different tees and the greens have been immaculate regardless of the weather.

Although not the longest course (but suits those of us who don't want a 4-5 round) you need to be accurate off the tee. It has tested all the clubs in my bag.

The tee time system is easy to use and the staff are fantastic.

I was particularly impressed by the short game and practice facilities for a 'small' club.

8

Birkenhead, Merseyside

18th August, 2017

Played here as part of bunkers golf society on a wednesday afternoon.
It was the societies first visit to this course and it didnt dissapoint one bit, it was in great condition! The green were very good in my opinion and gave great confidence if you put the ball on the right line. Its definitely a course i would like to play again as quite a few times you could hit driver but i chose not too as the tee shot was blind and there was alot of room. Would like to play this again now that i have a better idea of the layout.

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

18th August, 2017

Great course go play

7.6

Embleton, Northumberland

17th August, 2017

Interesting links course some nice par 3s, lots of spectators even Japanese, to watch your good shots. Nice views and good bunkers. The clubhouse is open to the public and offers sensible no frills catering.

7.2

Dornoch, Highland

17th August, 2017

£42. A tidy little golf course full of occasional golfers. Followed a couple and their dog until they missed a few holes out. Not really worth £ 42 but main course is £140.
Club house facilities are excellent, a great meal.

6

Brora, Highland

17th August, 2017

A nice links course but a bit pricey. Pro was very helpful, but clubhouse was disappointing, the catering and bar appear to be run by separate entities and need coordinating.
Course had farm animals on it so you get some sticky lies. Not really worth the money but the price is based around Dornoch.

9.4

Kendal, Cumbria

17th August, 2017

An excellent venue for our golf day which was only partly spoiled by the fairly constant rain during the day. Facilities excellent and we will return next year without a doubt!!

8.4

, Murcia

16th August, 2017

The west course is about a 5 minute drive from the La Manga Clubhouse and because of this its abit forgotten. The facilities out there reflect that but put all that to one side and forget about it because what your getting here is a simply stunning golf course. Its in great condition because its not as busy as the north and south courses. Its a tree lined parkland style course that demands very good play off the tee, in fact driver is only needed on the 18th which is a fantastic hole as its seems like you are up in the clouds hitting down to the fairway below. If your spending a few days in La Manga playing golf, play the west course first and take in all its beauty. An electric trolley will get you around here but there are also buggy available, my choice would be to walk it so that you can take in each hole. Enjoy!

5.6

Conwy, Conwy

16th August, 2017

Played with a small group on a warm but blustery day which I guess is normal in this part of Wales. Course starts with a straight forward par 4 followed by short par 3 and 4 holes. It gets more challenging from 4 to 8 especially when you factor in the wind. On the back 9 holes 17 and 18 are the standout holes.
The greens were somewhat slow for a good links course and a little untidy in their appearance. Most fairways are quite wide and not partcularly well maintained with very little rough of any note it has somewhat of a bland feel to it. I would guess that with the length of some of the holes the wind is the deciding factor as to whether they can be reached in regulation.
The course has a practice ground, chipping and putting areas which are fine and there is a nice looking clubhouse which unfortunately we did not use.
David T

8

Kendal, Cumbria

16th August, 2017

CSGS VISIT

9

Bickerstaffe, Lancashire

15th August, 2017

Played Mossock Hall on Sunday 13th August 2017 with our Society and had a great day. The drive in is a bit scary as you have to cross a couple of fairways. The course is fairly flat and quite an easy walk. The Course was in really good nick with Fairways, Approaches and Rough areas all cut. The Greens were tricky but quick and giving an even roll. All Bunkers had been raked and had plenty of sand, especially the five or six that I visited on the way around. The par 3's are all fairly tough too. The food and service that we were given was excellent. I would recommend this Course to anybody and it is not just a Driver off every tee. There are ditches and Bunkers well placed to catch any wayward drives. Another great day out and we will return.

7.6

Wishaw, Warwickshire

15th August, 2017

CSGS

6.8

Wishaw, Warwickshire

15th August, 2017

CSGS

7.8

Wishaw, Warwickshire

15th August, 2017

CSGS

8

Kendal, Cumbria

15th August, 2017

CSGS

8

Kendal, Cumbria

15th August, 2017

CSGS VISIT

8.2

Kendal, Cumbria

15th August, 2017

Played 27 holes on this course last Friday 11th Aug 2017.
The course held up very well considering the amount of rain that came down on the day. The only negative on the day was all the greens had just been hollow timed which made putting a lottery, this was a shame because they looked as if they would have been a good challenge.
Everything else was good on the day and I look forward to returning again hopefully to better weather and greens.

8.8

Kendal, Cumbria

14th August, 2017

Visited with society that had been booked months in advance but when we got there the greens had been hollow timed with no advance warnings and they were terrible to put on.the golf course looked in good condition but it was hard to appreciate with the amount of rain falling,would like to play the course on a dry day with pure greens.The clubhouse and food were very good.

8

Eastham, Merseyside

14th August, 2017

Some short par 4's and only the one par 5 so leave your driver at home. Tight fairways on some holes and well protected greens on others make up for the lack of distance. Greens were fairly slow compared to my home course but ran true. Chap in the pro shop was very friendly. Booked a four-ball for £60; at £15 each would say this was good value for money and would look to play here again. However, would try not to time it just after a competition, as the pace of play from the final comp group was slow.

8.2

Kendal, Cumbria

14th August, 2017

Visited here on a typical summers day in August...it rained nearly all day!
The clubhouse is new and spectacular so the early signs were good. Bacon butty and coffee nice and a quick hit on the excellent driving range facilities and we were ready to go.
Unfortunately the greens had recently been spiked so were not good to putt on. It would be nice to play on them when pure and true.
The course itself is very flat with plenty of interest challenges and everyone seemed to enjoy the day.
Lunch and tea very good. We will be back hopefully with better weather next time

8.8

Mold, Flintshire

14th August, 2017

The RAM Golf Society were made very welcome by all staff and members on this return to Padeswood and Buckley Golf Club. The golf course was in great condition, challenging on some hilly holes.

9.6

Lancaster, Lancashire

14th August, 2017

This was our first visit to Lancaster Golf Club and it’s fair to say it won’t be our last.

The clubhouse is Ashton Hall, which is an impressive manor house that imposes itself over the course and practice areas. It’s a fabulous greeting to the club and creates an aura from the outset.

The green and lush course sits in the background and from the early views of it, you can tell that it’s going to be a great golf track. A mature parkland that offers a little bit of forgiveness in some areas and punishes you severely in others. The key to scoring well here is to miss in the right areas and not get too greedy if you find yourself out of position.

The course is a moderate 6512 yards with a par of 71, and is designed by James Braid and his key characteristics can be seen throughout the 18 holes. Great use of the natural land undulations and contours and elevated tees and greens that slop back towards you.

The course was in wonderful condition and the fairways were a joy to play from with the rough being more punishing as you go through the defined cuts – which is exactly how it should be. The bunkers were mostly well stocked and soft, but with the odd compacted one thrown in [which we put down to some heavy rain the day before].

The greens were phenomenal. It is as simple as that. True, smooth and slick; they were an absolute pleasure to putt on and were as good as anything we have visited in 2017 – which includes some real stand out venues. This kind of surface can be tricky if you don’t get the pace of them quickly, but for those who do it can be confidence inspiring as you know that if you set the ball off on the correct line then it will find the bottom of the cup.

The stand out holes were the blind tee shot leading to a dog-leg and elevated green at the 9th hole. Then the beautiful way the holes are crafted into the land at 17 and 18 – which are two of the best finishing holes out there. Peter Alliss said it is in his Top 10 finishing holes and it’s hard to argue with that. The problem it poses, how best from a high tee, to carry a ravine of rough ground, water and sand to the green below, a green that is guarded on the left by an Oak tree. Sound tough? It is, but it’s wonderful.

The day offered good value. Saturday morning tee times in the summer with a snack before hand and a 2-course meal afterwards cost us £49 per person. The bar prices were fair and reasonable and the club house was as impressive inside as it was out. Staff were friendly, polite and courteous and the experience of dealing with the club before the visit was professional and timely.

In summary, we will be back to Lancaster Golf Club and we would recommend anyone to visit it. A brilliant venue that would well be worth considering for a day of golf or even a 1 or 2-night stay [which also offered tremendous value for money]. Get up there and have a look!

9.4

Lancaster, Lancashire

14th August, 2017

I played here on 12/08/17 with Bunkers Golf Society and I play off a handicap of 11.

The first thing to note about Lancaster GC is the impressiveness of the place on arrival. You are greeted by a grand old manor house/club house and the lush green practice areas and chipping greens. Its a superb greeting for any golfer and gets you in the mood for whats ahead.

The course is a lovely mature parkland layout that is quite tight in parts but also has areas where `you can miss and get away with it`. Playing the course with care can result in good scoring, but as with all courses the temptation to rely on the `big stick` can often bite you on the backside.

The condition of the course was superb, with carpet like fairways that were springy under foot and easy on the eye with their rolled stripes. The rough was cut into two distinct cuts, with the deeper being quite penal and tough - especially after a touch of rain.

The greens were the star of the show. They were slick and smooth, with subtle breaks and undulations. It became quickly apparent that you needed to miss short as going past the pin inevitably left down hill putt that was more slippery than a pocketful of custard. The "stimp" reading on these must`ve been pretty high and they were as quick and true as anything we have played on this season.

The day cost us £49 with Saturday tee times at 11am and included a bacon roll and tea/coffee, 18 holes followed by a 2 course meal. The food was cooked nicely and well presented by attentive staff in a private room and I believe the day offered good value for what we experienced.

In summary, Lancaster GC would be an ideal venue for society or individual golfers alike. It offers everything you would need and its impressive grandeur would be enough to leave any keen golfer wanting more.

9.2

Lancaster, Lancashire

14th August, 2017

I visited this well established traditional parkland lay out with a large group of pals from Bunkers Golf Society.
Expecting the course to be very heavy following some torrential recent rain we were very happily surprised to find it largely dry and firm underfoot with greens that remained slick and smooth throughout the round.
The breakfast roll and coffee beforehand was tasty and set us up nicely for the rigours ahead.
Service before and after our round was friendly and courteous.
We were fortunate that the weather was kind to us and apart from a short shower which lasted no more than ten minutes we remained dry and warm all day.
The castle/Manor House clubhouse was spacious and we were able to relax Ina private dining room to hold our prize presentation ceremony.
All prizes were generously donated by one of our society's main sponsors, Teeuplo.
There were several excellent rounds in amongst the usual rubbish but with prizes going to lads scoring 38, 39 and 41 points there was clearly scoring opportunities out there for everybody!
The day was excellent value and I am confident that we will be back again next year!