Twitter logo YouTube logo Facebook logo

Discover, book, play, review

Latest golf course reviews


Here are the most recent reviews by Teeuplo members!

5.8

Whitford, Flintshire

22nd July, 2018

The final day of our society and unfortunately we didnt save the best for last.
The course is a typical parkland course and was fairly green considering the summer weve had. The greens very lush but also very slow.
Unfortunately it was also a 5 hour + round with waiting on every single shot. The course marshall who had been out before we teed off had disappeared and we all finished rather frustrated at the long round.
The food after was decent with friendly service. Facilities arent great with a tiny pro shop and no sky tv. The putting green was also terrible. Fortunately a small driving range gave us something to practise on.
Not sure this will be a future venue of ours

8.4

llandudno, Conwy

22nd July, 2018

Day 2 of our society visit and the weather was a little less kind but still fine for golf.
This is a true test of golf on a fast links course with well places bunkers and a number of blind shots.
Excellent facilities and the best of the 3 courses we played

8.2

Llandudno, Conwy

22nd July, 2018

Day 1 of our 3 day trip and a great course in great weather.
The course was in great condition given the lack of rain. The only slight on the course being many of the bunkers didnt have much sand in them.
Facilities also great and well worth a visit

8.6

Pleasington, Lancashire

20th July, 2018

Played this stunning course yesterday, its in a fabulous condition. Great rolling greens and well cut fairways. Bunkers have plenty of sand, only minor is some have plenty of stones in them. The staff and members where very welcoming, looking forward to playing this course again and enjoy its great layout and stunning views.

8.8

Pleasington, Lancashire

19th July, 2018

What a pleasant surprise this place gave me. Some of the most spectacular views around and with lovely sweeping fairways and true greens you can’t go wrong. It’s a tough but fair challenge and one I will look forward to doing again very soon. Everyone at the club were very welcoming and if I lived closer I wouldn’t hesitate to join.

8

Shevington, Greater Manchester

17th July, 2018

I left my last review on 2nd October 2017 and as mentioned, I think its only fair to return to places when work has been done and then conduct a fresh review.

I visited the course last week and in the middle of a particularly hot and dry spell of UK weather - which has been a struggle for a lot of courses.

Gathurst GC was back to its best and looking superb once again. The issues with the greens in 2017 seems to have been rectified and they were rolling slick and true. No more patches and issues on the putting surfaces and they were a pleasure to play on throughout.

The course looked fabulous and had an almost links appearance to it on this visit due to the dry and scorched fairways - which brought its own challenges in terms of balls 'rolling out'. But it was great to see the course back to where I remember it being historically.

The welcome was warm and friendly [as always] and the value in the clubhouse was great. The food we enjoyed pre and post round was tasty and plentiful [try the ham sandwiches - they're a treat!]

I will be returning and taking people back to show them just what this course is all about.

8.6

Shevington, Greater Manchester

13th July, 2018

Great parkland course

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

13th July, 2018

Played here on the 8th July 18 with Bunker golf society and as with every time I have played here the staff are very friendly and always happy to help. We got announced to the tee by the pro which was a nice touch.
The course as everywhere at the moment was burnt but the course was in exceptional condition the greens in immaculate condition credit has to be said to the greens staff.

The course played tough being so dry the original 9 to me is far better than the new with some memorable holes.

The food was as good as ever and the catering and bar staff were friendly and approachable.

Great course and look forward to going back again soon.

9

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

Bukers Golf Society : Wide Open
Sponser : Barry Taylor : http://www.barrytaylorpga.uk

We had a great day out at this wonderful golf course. The course is in great condition, dry firm fairways and fabulous true running greens. The food we enjoyed pre round and afterwards was excellent and the service and hospitality 1st class. The practice area is not the best,but this is just due to there not being enough space. Our day was sponsored by Barry Taylor PGA PRO based at Clarke's Golf Centre located just off the Rainford Bypass. I look forward to returning next year.

8.6

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

Bukers Golf Society : Wide Open
Sponser : Barry Taylor : http://www.barrytaylorpga.uk

We had a great day out at this wonderful golf course. The course is in great condition, dry firm fairways and fabulous true running greens. The food we enjoyed pre round and afterwards was excellent and the service and hospitality 1st class. The practice area is not the best,but this is just due to there not being enough space. Our day was sponsored by Barry Taylor PGA PRO based at Clarke's Golf Centre located just off the Rainford Bypass. I look forward to returning next year.

8.2

Whitefield, Greater Manchester

9th July, 2018

Played here 7th July 2018. What a great course it was with a few challenging par 3s and great looking holes. The weather has taken its toll on the fairways, but cant complain about that as its the perfect time to play golf the greens were in excellent condition. This is a course that everyone really enjoyed and we will be coming back for sure.

9.4

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

Great day great weather on a tough course ... considering the weather greens are in great condition and as always the hospitality was fantastic. Look forward to next year visit already.

9.2

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

Bukers Golf Society : Wide Open
Sponser : Barry Taylor : http://www.barrytaylorpga.uk

I hadn't played the course before, however my fellow Bunkers Golf Society members said I was in for a treat. I have to say the course certainly lived up to the hype. It is a superb track...the greens were in fabulous condition. Certainly hope I get to play there again before the summer ends!!

9

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

I visited Wigan GC with Bunkers Golf Society on 8th July 2018 and I play off 9hcp.

Wigan is a superb local course that offers a combination of a well maintained, mature parkland course with supreme value for money and customer service. The welcome is always first class too.

The course was dry for our visit due to the superb UK weather of the last month or 2, but despite the fairways being dry [like everywhere] the greens were slick, smooth and as good as anything Ive putted on this year.

The layout is testing requiring good positions off the tee, but it isn't punishing. Nor is it a hard walk, which would make this an ideal course for all ages and abilities.

The food pre and post round was great with the portions being generous and tasty and the whole day was great value. Its a course Ive always enjoyed playing and it only seems to impress me with each passing round.

It just lacks a bit more in terms fo practice facilities, but they are limited for space due to the layout of the course/clubhouse - but there are nets, a putting green and bunker. It could probably just do with a bit of TLC. However, that is one small issue whereas everything else exceeds expectations. I just hope we can go back as a society again next year.

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

We returned to Wigan Golf Club to host our 3rd Major of 2018 – which was picked to be a medal/strokeplay event. It was sponsored by the societies great friend - Barry Taylor PGA - who has coached a large number of our members to some great lower handicaps [give him a look, well worth it!] www.barrytaylorpga.uk

Wigan has always been a firm favourite of our members due to the friendly welcome we always receive on top of the superb value that we believe the club offers. Not just in terms of the cost of the day, but what you receive for that.

For this visit, we were in the middle of a gorgeous hot spell in the UK, in fact it’s been one of the hottest on record and as a result pretty much every course at the moment has a real links look and feel to it. Scorched yellow fairways and the ball running out for much longer distances than players are used to – and Wigan was no different.

Wigan enjoys a very challenging layout with the tree lined fairways that in parts can lean one direction or the other and feed your ball towards hazards and problems. Given the weather, it was even more imperative that hitting the fairway in the right spot was going to be key.

The course was in lovely condition with the greens still being lush and green and enjoying a lovely slick roll. They were a pleasure to putt on and great credit must go to the green staff who have kept the course [and greens particularly] in such immaculate condition given the conditions.

The tee boxes were flat – but were rock hard and bone dry – which brought its own problems in terms of even getting a tee peg into them. But it would be asking a lot of a regular members club to be watering the tees. The bunkers were well stocked, even and tidy and no issues arose from playing in them [when unfortunate enough]

We enjoyed a full English breakfast before the round which was well cooked and provided the foundations for a great day’s golf. Afterwards we had a two-course meal of steak pie and chips along with either strawberries and cream or apple pie. All of which was demolished by our members who once again were delighted with the value for money and service received at the club. We sat and enjoyed several drinks in the garden outside the clubhouse and it’s a lovely setting to spend a few hours.

In summary, Wigan Golf Club is a place worthy of anyone’s time and money It is a great parkland layout and is always kept in superb condition. The friendliness of the staff – from a booking point of view in the office, through to the catering staff and professional were first class and you will be hard pushed to find a better run local golf club than Wigan. We will undoubtedly be back in 2019 and beyond and hope that the club enjoy the relationship we have built with them over the years of visiting – and long may that continue.

9

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

Played with Bunkers Golf Society.

Received a great welcome by all, especially the bar and catering staff. The course is flat, lots of interesting holes, greens were very good and overall I would highly recommend this course. For what we paid it represents excellent value for money. Will be back again before the end of the season.

8.4

Wigan, Lancashire

9th July, 2018

Another year, another visit to this fabulous track were the hospitality and value for money are right up there with the best! A great 1st tee welcome off the course announcer who introduced each member who stepped up onto the 1st tee adding tension to the already difficult opening hole! Course is in great condition albeit a little dry on the fairways, this is to be expected with the 8 week stretch of pure sunshine we have been blessed with. This did not effect the greens that were lush in colour and ran very true. The event was sponsored by Barry Taylor www.barrytaylorpga.uk who has coached a number of bunkers members to some great event victories. This course is a great test of golf with the welcome always up there with the very best.

9

Wigan, Lancashire

8th July, 2018

This was my third visit to Wigan Golf Club with Bunkers Golf Society. We visited today in order to play our third Major competition of the season, sponsored by our great friend and loyal supporter, PGA Professional, Barry Taylor. (www.barrytaylorpga.uk)
Once again we received a very warm welcome from the club’s staff, catering team and members.
The full breakfast we were served was substantial, tasty and cooked to perfection.
The course was a delight. Due to the recent extended period of hot, dry weather the fairways and many of the tee boxes were understandably parched. However the greens were in excellent condition. The winning score of 72 gross off 10 (nett 62) is testament to how well the course played I think.
The post round two course meal was excellent also. The day offered us tremendous value once again and we will be back again next season for sure.

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

8th July, 2018

Greens superb

8.8

Wigan, Lancashire

8th July, 2018

I played here with Bunkers Golf Society.

We found this course in superb condition after an unprecedented spell of scorching hot weather.

As expected, the course was playing hard and firm but the greens were receptive to a well struck iron shot and rolled beautifully throughout.

There is plenty of variety in the holes to make the round interesting and make you think about club selection.

We enjoyed a full English breakfast prior to our round and a 2 course meal afterwards which, combined with the green fee we paid, provided exceptional value.

If you’re in the vicinity, pay this club a visit.

8.4

Wigan, Lancashire

8th July, 2018

Course playing well considering the 8 to 10 week heatwave we've had, greens holding up really well and running true.

Practice facilities could do with some attention. Club would really benefit from pro shop and more than just vending machine for refreshments.

Value for money superb, staff are great and very friendly. £10 min spend on card at bar a little steep.

Definitely would like to see this course remain on our calendar.

8.6

Whitefield, Greater Manchester

8th July, 2018

We played our latest society outing here on another glorious day. Course has some long par 3s an 4s making for a tricky day. Greens where in excellent condition fairways an tee boxes on the other hand was like hitting off the car park due to the recent hot weather. Lovely lay out to the course though defiantly a course I would revisit again

8.4

Worksop, Nottinghamshire

5th July, 2018

Played the course on 4/7/18. With the hot weather the fairways were dry and the ball ran along way. This course is built on a sandy terrain. The putting green and all the greens were in excellent condition. They were very green and the pace of the greens very good. This course has improved alot since I last played it. All the staff were welcoming and the food was excellent.

7.6

Derbyshire,

5th July, 2018

Played the course on 22/6/18. As usual the course was in good condition with the fairways covered in a thick layer of grass to protect them. The greens were well covered in grass and as usual made them slow. I had a hole in 'ONE' on the 185yd 16th hole. It was a windy day but warm and dry. The hospitailty and food were excellent once again.

9

Shevington, Greater Manchester

28th June, 2018

After major problems with their greens last year it was so good to see this lovely course back to its best when I visited earlier this week.
Fairways, greens, tee boxes and bunkers were all the in first class condition....
As always the club’s officials and catering staff provided a warm welcome. The food we ordered was delicious and was sold at prices which offered great value for money.
The course and clubhouse are certainly ones which I am once again happy to recommend without reservation.

10

Ormskirk, Lancashire

21st June, 2018

Played ormskirk on Monday with a member. I have to say it is in THEE best condition of any course I have played in possibly the last 3 years.

The fairways and 3 cuts of rough along with pristine greens made this a great day out.

It's a really good challenge and I hope to return soon . What a course 5* it's a must play.

7

Brodick, Isle of Arran

19th June, 2018

A group of us played Brodick in June 2018. It was one of those typically Scottish summer days... rain and sun. Course suffered a little from the wet but the greens held up well. Eclectic mix of links and parkland holes create a decent challenge and lots of interest. Couple of interesting par 3s over water where you could be thinking hole in one one second then reaching into the bag for a provisional ball the next!

6.4

Sannox, Isle of Arran

19th June, 2018

Yes it’s only 9 holes but what a nine holes! Changes in elevation and a variety of shots required, great views and the greens... terrific condition when we visited in June. True as you like, if a little slow. Great little course.

7.6

Blackwaterfoot, Ayrshire

19th June, 2018

Friendly staff and starter but you’re here for the course right?! It’s a belter. Cracking turf and greens. Glorious blind shots and both quirky and challenging holes. Then there’s the views... wow. Just wow. 12 holes may be the perfect length for a golf course if Shiskine is anything to go by. NB: the clubhouse is ‘dry’.

4.6

Lochranza, Isle of Arran

19th June, 2018

Lochranza is, basically, a field. There are deer on the course, which is interesting and a couple of stone bridges which are reminiscent of the Swilken Bridge at St Andrews but... it’s a field. Wonderful warm welcome when we played though.